15 Top Tips to Start Living Rather than Existing

in #life7 years ago (edited)

We all fall victim to the mundane lifestyles that we think are 'normal'. But what if I told you that you don't have to live that way? What if you were in charge of your own life and could change whatever you wished, whenever you wished?

Here are a few tips on how to get started living your life rather than just existing...

happy.jpg

1 Stop working in an environment that you hate
There is nothing worse than wishing your life away to the weekend, or the holidays or even to retirement! Why should we wait until we are allowed to have time to our self by the companies that employ us to live our lives?!

2 Do something that you love every day and make it pay
If you are reading this on Steemit, you may have already realised this one. You don’t have to do the standard 9 – 5 job to earn an income. There are so many ways to make your passions pay!

3 Spend time with family and friends
Make time for family and friends. Life gets busy, but you can’t get back time once it has passed.

fist bump.jpg

4 Make time for being alone
It is important to be able to reflect upon one’s self. We have to learn to love ourselves and be happy in our own company. This way, we will never be alone.

5 Find a new passion
If you are stuck in a rut, go out and find something new to inspire you! Life is for living, mix it up a bit!

6 Write a bucket list and start to work through it
This is a great task; you can put the craziest things on your bucket list. The most important thing here is to have fun with your list and make things obtainable of course. There’s no point putting down that you want to visit mars anytime soon!

7 Go and visit that place you have always wanted to see
Is there a destination that you have always dreamed of visiting? Make it a reality! Start putting money aside every month to make it happen. If you have to open a new bank account specifically for this money, do it! You will definitely get there if you dedicate a small amount each month without fail.

happy5.jpg

8 Write a ‘grateful’ diary
When something good happens to me or I receive something I am grateful for, I write it in a diary. When I feel low, I read my diary and it uplifts me and makes me realise all of the things I have to be grateful for.

9 Be with like-minded people
There is nothing better than being around people who inspire you and bring out the best in you. Immerse yourself in groups that have the same outlook and interests as yourself. This way, you can develop your skill set as well as be inspired to try out new ways of crafting your skill.

10 Cut ties with negative people
Ah the old leeches! We all have them, people who try to drain our energy to make them feel better. Unfortunately, when you try to be a better person, your light shines brighter and ‘soul suckers’ are drawn towards you. You will find these people are very needy and always want you to make them feel better about themselves, but never seem to ask ‘how are you today?’

happy2.jpg

11 Eat the cake!
Stop worrying about counting calories. I mean yes, eat healthy foods that enrich your body, but if you fancy a piece of cake now and then, eat the cake! Life is too short to worry about not eating that 1 piece of double choc chip...

cake.jpg

12 Stop worrying about what other people think
I always try to live my life without upsetting anyone. I would rather be kind to someone than make them cry. Unfortunately this has lead me down a path whereby I put other people’s feelings in front of my own, always considering how other’s will be affected by my actions. This is a great way to be in moderation. I have learned that you cannot please everybody, so the best thing to do is stop worrying about what other people think and go with your gut instinct. ‘Is it the right thing to do?’ is a better question to ask yourself rather than ‘will xxxx be upset with me if I do this?’

13 Perform an act of kindness every day
Going out of your way to do something kind for another will perhaps change that whole person’s outlook for the day and in turn they could change somebody else’s day for the better, paying it forward! Eventually these things always come back to us and you will feel good for doing something kind.

14 Spend time outdoors in nature
Getting in touch with nature is one of the best ways to reenergize. Sunlight can rejuvenate your body, your mind an your mood. I personally love to be in woodland areas, but lots of people love to be by the sea. Find your ‘Naural State’ and go spend some quality time there

15 Live! Live! Live!
Don’t wait for the weekend to go and do something, go do it now! You never know when that lorry load of chickens is going to get you crossing the road, so make sure you live every day like it is your last!

happy3.jpg

Enjoy life, you only get one chance at it, make it something special! :)

If you enjoy my work, I would really appreciate an Upvote, Resteem and a Follow :)

Thank you to unsplash.com for the images and thank you guys for reading! Much love, @beautifulbullies xx

bella laughing small.JPG

Sort:  

These are tips that I live by, and I'd like to add another one:

16 Surrender, and trust that whatever decisions you make in life have a meaning and purpose. In due time it will all unfold and reveal itself.

upvoted & resteemed by @edward.maesen

Oh yes, I agree! great addition to the list! thank you :)

great advice, nice to read such a cheerful person like you) in my opinion you should always think about good and fight bad thoughts ... by changing ourselves we change the world around us ... travel allows us to escape from the hustle and feel like another person) therefore think about the good and all the luck!

Absolutely agree! We all need to start by changing the way we think about life, then life will change for the better :)

Awesome! Philosophy to make life worth living.
I hope to practice this tips in my daily live.
Very educative

glad you like it! I can wholeheartedly recommend these tips, I have done them myself and they truly do lead to happiness! :)

Hi @beautifulbullies, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Oh wow! Thank you so much! :D Glad you enjoyed it :)

Looking very good.You look like a beauty queen of earth.Your smiling is wonderful.

ooooookay.... thank you?

thanks to reply upvote and follow.

do you have some original content that I can read?

That is a really great intro post! I have upvoted it :) Your son does look like a little hero :) I also have a son

Thanks for your precious comment and upvote. love to your son .keep in touch dear.

Yes you are right my dear . Your advice to enjoy life is really beautiful .I will try to apply your advice in my life
@ beautifulbullies

:) glad to hear it, i hope it make you happy!

Very good advice! I am going to take your tips to start living rather than existing. By the way, the lady in the first photo looks so happy, and it's so contagious. I can't help but feel more joyful ;-)

thank you x 15! :D

good post @beautifulbullies. I have read it and love it very much

Number 12 is my favourite. Stop caring what people think. Luckily, I've been doing this for a long time.

Yes it's a tough one, but once you do it, it is very enlightening :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59370.83
ETH 2591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46