Dec 26 -- Steemit Ramble #50 -- Don't You Hate it When You Miss Good Posts?

in #curation8 years ago

Whew! The ultra busy time of my year is starting to wind down. Today, I am actually expecting to spend the day at home. The goal is to spend time writing on Steemit and doing some reading.

I posted a while ago about the Hamper Program and how it runs.

I’m looking forward to 2017. A great time to turn over a new page on our lives.

Onward to today’s rambling

Speed as a Brake, Or Why Are We Living in The Past

I’m not real big on science writing but sometimes one catches my attention. This is an interesting post by @natord on how what we think is in the moment is actually in a past moment as everything we observe actually takes time to reach our senses.

An example you can readily observe of this is during a lightning storm. You wont notice that it takes time for the image of the lightning to reach your eyes but you will notice there is a delay between the lightning and the sound (thunder) reaching your ears. The further it is away from you, the greater the delay.

The BS-Free Guide On How To Consistently Write Quality Content On Steemit

This post by @dragosroua was written two days ago but is an excellent post about how to develop yourself as a writer. I particularly respect that @dragosroua has had to first learn English and then develop his writing skills in English. If he can do so after learning English on his own, a native speaker should definitely be able to do so.

Interview with Ned Scott: Steem - The Blockchain-Based Social Media Platform

A very interesting video of an interview with Ned Scott about Steem and Steemit. Well worth the hour to listen to it.

Forgotten Fairytales – A bean and the Tailor

This is a short and cute fairytale about the bean. Well worth the smile you’ll get for reading it.

ELI5: How is Busy different than Steemit?

This is a short post asking about the difference between busy.org and steemit.com. The answer is in the comments, so read all the way through. It’s the best explanation I’ve seen.

Our feral baby - Warning! Many cute kitten photos!

Okay, I will admit I am a sucker for cats. I have two of my own. @onetree has written a post with lots of pictures about a kitten she rescued when it was about a week old and is nursing it along. Great work @onetree, you are going to have a close buddy for life there and the older two will become buds.

Here's how to make Steemit MATTER in 2017

@razvanelulmarin posts about what he thinks should help to make Steemit matter in 2017. It’s a short post and I encourage you to have a look and add your thoughts to the comments. He’s got a couple of interesting points about how lacklustre many of the talented people on Steemit become when crappy stuff gets more attention and also his suggestion that the founders take a more hands on the rudder approach rather than the laid back style of leadership they have engaged.

While the whales can make a huge difference on talent motivation through their shear vote size, we can each make a difference collectively by not running with the pack unless the pack is encouraging quality.

The Christmas Truce of 1914 and The Power Of One Idea

@danilo-cuellar writes about one of the most endearing stories of WW1. The story of the Christmas truce where the troops on both sides laid down their arms and for one brief day, peace on earth truly did take place. The men in the trenches on both sides understood their humanity. Politicians and generals make war that the men in trenches are sent to fight. I wonder what sort of world we’d have if those men in trenches had a chance to decide the fate of the world.

ANNOUNCEMENT!!!!Betting, Is it hurting or Helping The Steemit Community? Special Edition Preview. No.0

Considerable discussion has taken place in the Steemspeak channel on discord about this topic. While Steemsports is the most successful of the ‘betting’ schemes on Steemit, they are not the only one. When they started out with one or two posts a day, they were an interesting, even fun diversion. As their popularity has grown, they have taken a place of dominance on the Trending page which also means they are drawing a fairly large amount of rewards from the daily rewards pool.

I find it disturbing to hear that the response to the concerns expressed by the community is met not with any effort to find common ground but to attempt to silence those who speak up. That included when @dantheman attempted to rebalance the rewards through downvoting, Steemsports released a press release claiming Steemit didn’t support businesses on the platform.

I wasn’t impressed with the recent posts written by @walden and @steempowertwins called the Steemy Games. To me, it was moving from posts about legitimate sports to making stuff up for voting to gain rewards from the system. I decided that I would not support them with any votes or participation.

I’ve decided that all things considered, I will no longer support Steemsports activity on the platform.

My Introduction to Steemit! Me, Myself, and I..

Last but not least, @brandybb introduces herself as a new member of Steemit and includes some beautiful nature pictures from her area in Oregon. Welcome to Steemit @brandybb, hope to see more of your posts.

Wrap-up on Day 50

We’re still experiencing some quiet time with posts. I hope that has more to do with people still busy with holiday stuff than a trend. We’ll know after New Years.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.62 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 27 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you kindly for the mention my friend. :-)

Thanks for the digest of links:)

you do read a lot on steemit. respect!

yes I do read a lot ... thank you

Thank you @shadowspub , for the mention, as I am new to the community this was very informative. Spreading the Love. I look forward to seeing you around :)

You did a good post, keep up the good work :)

Nice, I follow you.
This reply is for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58948.02
ETH 2507.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47