Our feral baby - Warning! Many cute kitten photos!

in #cat8 years ago

As some of you may already know, I found a very sick feral kitten behind my shop almost a month ago. I debated with myself for a few minutes if I should pick him up or not, but he was sitting so still I knew he would have no chance to live if I left him there.  When I picked him up he immediately relaxed into my hand. And that was that.

                                        

             

At first I put him in a crate at the shop. I covered a cushion in a garbage bag, as the plastic would help keep him warm. His eyes and nose were completely gummed up with dried mucus. These photos were taken a couple of days after I found him, so he looked even worse when I found him. I had to leave him in the shop for the first two weeks as I was terrified he would infect the three cats we already have at home. He wasn't weaned so I fed him with a syringe. I wasn't prepared for how long I would have to do it. He has only been weaned now for about 5 days, but is growing so fast. He is exceptionally greedy and I wonder if that can be attributed to his feral insticts?

                                                          

                                           

At work I kept him with me when I was at my desk. Please excuse the photos, they were taken with a bad phone camera. For the first weekend I kept him downstairs at home in my parents apartment as the other cats don't go there much. The next weekend I took him home at last. It broke my heart to leave at the shop every evening. He seemed to get better on his own for a while, though it looks like the damage to his eyes is permanent.

                                                                                    

Sitting on my son's curls.

                                       

They other cats were and still are very doubtful of the new arrival. Snuffles, yes the little kitty's name, doesn't seem to identify with other cats, but only with humans. He is quite partial to our dog, though that is also rather one-sided!

He was so filthy, and although he had started to learn to groom himself, he need a bath to get rid of the matted fur and dirt. He really didn't mind the bath at all.

                                                                                   

                              

One morning I went to the kitchen, when I returned, I found Snuffles sitting in my tea cup with his bum in the still warm left over tea. As you can see, he really wasn't peturbed. Around this time his health started deteriorating after the initial improvement. I took him to the vet and the medicine soon worked its magic. I asked the vet how old he was and the vet estimated around 4 weeks, but I'd already had him for almost 3 weeks, so he is stunted. We will have to see how this affects his future growth, but he is growing fast now.

I had to leave him at home while I went to work, so my daughter and husband took care of him.

                                                                    

                                 

                                 

                                 

                                 

                                 

                                 

                             

He developed the disturbing habit of lying outside in the sun as if he was dead. The first time my husband saw it, he nearly had a heart attack!

                      

                 

                 

And then it was Christmas, and all the animals joined in the fun! Snuffles has been the best Christmas present I ever had! People tell me I was kind, I don't see it that way at all, I was given a gift of love by the universe, I am the fortunate one!!!

Thank you for reading! Please follow me @onetree

Sort:  

Eye can still be cured? If there is infection, it must be processed. We have restored even with the pouty eyes. Hold on. Good luck!

I hope so, I'm putting cream in everyday. One eyevis improving, but not the other.

Wow....that is one small kitty....well done on saving his life @onetree

I have been exponentially rewarded with love!

I loved your post congratulations for the gesture and attitude, to take care of the cat with love and affection

Thank you! It is not a difficult thing to do since I love cats!

Aww, we so often need them just as much as they need us! Love this post and look forward to seeing updates on Snuffles!

For sure! And I will keep you updated. :)

You can see the improvement, not only in his appearance, but his personality emerging. You're doing an excellent job socializing him! Best of the New Year to your whole crew!

Oh thank you! He is very affectionate.


Hi @onetree, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Awesome! Got to love cats! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61963.30
ETH 2416.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67