Here's how to make Steemit MATTER in 2017.

in #opinion8 years ago

Don't we want 2017 do the year that STEEMIT really took?
OF COURSE! Here;s my 2 cents:

I do have good news: it is very possible.

I was reading this article and I got so excited that I sent it to about 5 of my friends. Now, please be honest and really think about it, WHEN was the last time you did that with a Steemit article?


That's what we need. We need amazing great can't put it down must-share it forever articles. We need a few and we need them on the home page! Yes, we do have them around I'm sure of them but then..would they even make the top?

Unfortunately whales don't really upvote those, they seem to focus on steemsports...TILs...and bullshit TA and other shit. Yes, whales are somewhat at the fault [ still, can't blame a man for upvoting whatever he desires so there's that ]. Yes, whales can make this better. But it takes time, to nurture and encourage talent, to push and motivate.

It's, in my opinion, the job of all the whales who care about Steemit this coming year. Be more mindful with your votes, really consider what you're upvoting and put the faith in the good content creators. Once you have one two three viral articles...it's game over for anything else. If you don't though I worry that we'll perish or be relegated to this bizzaro community. I say this because I have personally noticed how lackluster a lot of talented and amazing people got in time on Steemit. And can we blame them? when they see shit and stupid stuff being rewarded for absolutely no DAMN REASON!?
No, we can't, we have only the whales and also STEEMIT INC to blame. They could do more, meddle more, take positions more! IT's your damn site and company, guys! Mold it into what you want to see or is this gambling/weirdo-anarhist/nepotism thing is what you want?...

I'm looking forward to this type of development after the massive powerdowns. As @dantheman and @ned said, imbalances in power will be less pronounced soon and maybe, just maybe, we'll see good stuff soaring. As it is, the trending page is a slap on any content creator face imho.

Let\s do a great job in 2017.

Sort:  

You bring up great points and the article you linked to was a good read. The trouble with most nerds (I know because I was a huge one...still am) is they don't embrace their nerdiness. Instead so many of them make it their ultimate goal to try to prove to the world how cool they are. I suspect this is what we could be seeing here. The truth is, we're coming into an age where nerds will rule the world so it'd be really smart for people to embrace it. As we attract more and more of the mainstream here I understand we need to embrace popular culture here but I hope there's still room for some things of more substance. When I started here in July I would refer to Steemit as the "thinking person's Facebook". It would be nice to continue to be able to say this. What I'd like to see is the ability to follow/subscribe to tags/catagories like we do people. This way we could totally filter from our feeds the things we aren't interested in. If we change our minds we could "tune in" to other "channels".

Thank you for this great answer. I appreciate your effort but I still think that "tuneing out" means nothing in this environment BECAUSE the money pool is limited and if some channels we don't even see are draining the most money...then what is left for substance and cool?

I don't even thing we need "mainstream" or "to embrace popular culture"...that's all baloney, because we don't know how to manipualte what's gonna be viral [ some can, we, here, can't ]. that's why I think we should focus on quality and nurturing great content.

If a guy from romania can't see the profitability of steemit, then who can? 100$ for the last 2 months of posts is nothing. Sure, it's morethan i'd get on..anything really :) but the idea here is that i see ozcharts making this much on a stupid TA and steemsports and etc etc. This is demotivating to me. Like me, there are others.

Honestly, the only reason i'm here still is for a few people i do like to interact with..and ironically i do it more off-steemit than here. so yeah.

step 1. tell more people about steemit
step 2. repeat step 1

yeah, step 1: have a big reason besides " money!! ' to tell people about steemit.
step 2...

I have personally noticed how lackluster a lot of talented and amazing people got in time on Steemit

Touche!

As for the imbalances in the SP I tend to agree with the interview of one whale on steemmag here
https://steemit.com/steemmag/@infovore/a-chat-with-a-whale-on-the-future-of-steemit-this-week-on-steemit-blockchain-song-giveaway-steemmag-steemit-s-weekend-digest-20

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.35 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.


Hi @razvanelulmarin, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67403.09
ETH 3246.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65