Apr. 16 -- Steemit Ramble #95 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

So, it’s Easter Sunday. Christians on this day greet each other with the “He is Risen!” and the response is “He is risen indeed!”. Easter really seems to be the time when we really start to see the new growth emerging from its winter cocoons and the world seems to come into new life.

I notice this morning that my grass is suddenly green, it seemed like yesterday it was still looking dead from the winter. That also means I need to get out and pick up the scrub that has fallen from my trees over the winter so my neighbour will be able to cut it when it’s time.

Onward to today’s rambling

The Cat Who Stole My World

@kyriacos writes about the kitten he rescued and then tried to release. He didn’t know it at the time but the pet he didn’t want, was already attaching itself to his heart.

Happy Easter Steemit!: a short animation!

In the short and cute department, @meesterboom brings us a Steemian Easter greeting. In the spirit of the price of STEEM going up, maybe a screen with STEEM has RISEN!? :)

My spring walk ... ~ Own work

@leylar shares some beautiful spring photos taken during a walk. Sometimes, nature’s grandeur just has to be appreciated.

Watching grass grow

For those of us living in climates where snow covers the ground a good part of the year, the idea of having a tradition of starting some grass growing inside just before Christmas is kind of neat. @tarazkp talks about Easter in Finland.

[WHISKY TASTING] Stronachie 18 Y.O. Small Batch – Lost in Time, Not in Spirit

@steemswede writes about the Scotch whiskey Stronachie which is not only named after a long ago closed distiller in Scotland but is a recreation of their whiskey. An interesting review of the product. Almost makes me feel like pouring a scotch and sipping along.

Fifty Word Story Contest "Freedom" This Episode: Easter Sunday

@henry-gant’s entry into the fiftywords contest is cute and very appropriate to Easter Sunday. Nicely done.

Believe in your inner strength

@kshitija writes an interesting post about dealing with inner conflict. It’s important that we believe in our own inner strength when dealing with issues. Most of the time, if you listen to your inner thoughts, the solution you seek will present itself.

SEED: A STEEM-Based Fund Management Platform

If you paid attention to the marketing updates that Mitchell has done, you’ll notice that the future vision is for many types of apps to be connected to the STEEM blockchain. @kevinwong has given some thought to a potential app. Interesting reading.

Cringe-Worthy Joke of the Week (Easter Edition)

@ericvancewalton shares the Easter edition of the cringe worthy joke of the week. It’s a good one, I think.

Steemit VP of marketing Mitchell Loureiro gives us an update and talks about Bitcoin & Altcoins!

@bitcoinmeister shares 48 minute video of his chat with Mitchell (@zurvanic), the VP of Marketing for Steemit Inc. It’s well worth the listen to, you’ll learn more about the vision for STEEM and Steemit as well as getting to know Mitchell a bit better.

Wrap-up on Day #95

There was an exchange in Steemspeak this morning about the pros and cons of ‘shitposts’ on Steemit. I didn’t get involved but I did pay attention to the discussion. It seemed that ‘shitposts’ was being loosely defined as shortform posts rather than the longform posts that many feel the platform was built for.

I tend to disagree on that. I look at all lengths of posts when I’m working on the Ramble. Trust me, shitposts, as I define them, comes in all lengths. If you throw stuff up and see if something sticks.. You are likely posting crap.

If you put a picture up and a title and expect I’m going to upvote it, not happening. A picture and some concept of why that picture matters to you, then I may upvote it. It doesn’t have to be a lot, but it needs to communicate to me.

Longform posts that don’t keep me motivated to read one sentence after another will lose out on an upvote just the same.

So, to put it simply, there is room on Steemit for all lengths of posts BUT they need to communicate with the reader and motivate the reader to upvote. IF all you’re after is bot votes, well, keep in mind, the people running the bots need a reason to add you to the bot. So, best foot forward.

Still Pending Posts

I hope you enjoyed reading my post. Below are the posts still pending payout as of the time of the writing. I invite you to visit the posts and upvote them if you like them:

Steemit Ramble #91 — payout Apr. 18th
Steemit Ramble #92 — payout Apr. 18th
Steemit Ramble #93 — payout Apr. 20th
Steemit Ramble #94 — payout Apr. 22th

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting.

Please Join the Curation Trail

If you’d like to support the posts I find and upvote while searching for the Ramble shares, please join my Curation Trail on Streemian

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.

If you’d like to join my curation trail on Streemian, please click here

Mine STEEM on Eobot Click Here


Sort:  

Another fine list @shadowspub
My definition of shit posts seem to be very in line with yours. Frankly, I'm sick of them in the feeds so finding decent posts has been more like a scavenger hunt!

Seems to be the nature of the beast. As frustrating as it is, it will take a lot to see them stop. It's going to be interesting to see how communities are setup and if that helps to reduce and/or eliminate the shitposting.

Indeed, anytime i spend a good day finding stuff, chances are a good portion of them will be in @shadowpub's list..

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.85 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

So true , love your picks , I all ready read some of them !👍

Thank you @karenmckersie. Hope there were some new ones for you to find too :)

Yes im looking forward to listening to @bitcoinmeister post ! Hopefully i can find time later tonight ! Thanks for shareing !👍😊

Thanks so much for the mention! I had a blast conducting the interview.

Yeah, I was pretty pleased to hear Mitchell is Canadian. Some interesting ideas there and I think it is going to be an interesting future for STEEM and Steemit

Great list and thank you for including mine!

My pleasure, it was a cute animation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36