FRIDAY DIY DAY- CURATION - EDITION 17- Fizzling Seltzers & Homemade Cleaning Products

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

FRIDAY DIY DAY- CURATION

diy100.png

Badge Made by @facelessmyth


This is going to be a fun category for me to promote, curate and read.
Topics will include:

  • Crafts
  • Woodworking
  • Home repair
  • Homemade health and beauty products
  • AND so much more!


Curation Schedule & Days


See my full post here


DIY- SELTZER DRINKS


Fermented Friday: Ginger Bugs! by @bpangie

One of the reasons behind homesteading for us is the cutting down of stuff; a limiting of trash. Unfortunately – or not - a lot of this garbage comes from food packaging. Not only can we (most probably) all agree that refined foods are bad for you, but they also generate some of the most garbage – plastic bags inside of boxes, wrapped in cellophane? This means that the sleeve of saltines is one of the first things to go, which is not a huge effort for us, but a little tougher than kicking the saltines to the curb is our seltzer habit. Aside from milk, seltzer is the only beverage we buy from the store.

Embarking on a seltzer-less journey, I really wanted to find some sort of substitute for the whole family that could still give us that mouth cleansing effervescence found in a can of seltzer. Of course (mediocre) beer is easy enough to make, but even with a low ABV, it could easily result in trouble, especially if we start giving it to the kids, so that's out. Then there is kombucha, which my daughter will devour, but my son is repulsed by. So I turned my eye toward soda

NOTE- This post has 8 UPvotes and 3 comments-



DIY- HOMEMADE CLEANERS

Homemade Wet Wipes by @phoenixwren



Are you concerned about the ingredients in wet wipes, or that so many of the cloths contain plastic? Yeah, me too. But I live in America, the land that doesn't believe in bidets or sprayers at the toilet. Sometimes you need something wet, and as crunchy granola as I am, I'm not sure I'm ready to go all family cloth. Washing sanitary napkins and snot filled handkerchiefs is enough bodily fluids in my wash, methinks.

NOTE: This post has 21 UPvotes and 2 comments.


DIY- HOMEMADE CLEANERS

Homestead Orange Cleaner - CIY To Shine by @lovenfreedom

From Food to Cleaner
We buy bags of oranges and usually, the orange peel goes to the compost bin.

I know lemons and oranges have some cleansing power so I had to go look up how to use the orange peels and have the beautiful scent lingering in the house instead of the hospital-scent bleach


NOTE: This quality post has 92 UPvotes and 1 comments.

ALL earnings from this post will be divided up among the authors. Curating is for the people featured and it is my privilege to share some new steemians, their work and creativity with my following. The earnings will be divided up equally at the time/day of payout. Thank you for being a part of my curation post(s).


Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

COME BACK TOMORROW FOR MY SATURDAY CURATION DAY WITH THE KITCHEN TABLE! FOOD, RECIPES AND MORE

signature.gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

howdy @goldendawne! this is another great job of finding excellent posts
thank you so much! are you staying cool up there?

lol- I wish!! Just after noon and already 88-degrees here. Supposed to be 95-99 tomorrow, Sunday and Monday. Wouldn't be half bad, but when you factor in the humidity it feels anywhere from 90-105 degrees any given day. It's almost an oppressive air quality (we're under an air quality warning or advisory too). My dad has a heart condition and he can't even go outside - just called my parents a few hours ago to make sure they are inside with the AC on. Last summer they had a power outage during a heat warning and they came to stay with us for two days so they could be in central air.

oh my! thank God for air conditioning, a few decades ago what would they have done? that's scary.
well but summer's are kinda short up there so you gotta enjoy it while you can right?

Thank you for including me! Will go check out the others!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33