Homemade Wet Wipes

in #howto6 years ago

IMG_20180628_235550.jpg

Are you concerned about the ingredients in wet wipes, or that so many of the cloths contain plastic? Yeah, me too. But I live in America, the land that doesn't believe in bidets or sprayers at the toilet. Sometimes you need something wet, and as crunchy granola as I am, I'm not sure I'm ready to go all family cloth. Washing sanitary napkins and snot filled handkerchiefs is enough bodily fluids in my wash, methinks.

https://www.treehugger.com/health/why-you-should-avoid-buying-wet-wipes.html

https://ireadlabelsforyou.com/hidden-ingredients-in-baby-wipes/

But really, store-bought wipes are a problem. Just use my handy-dandy referral link below to sign up for Presearch (wink, wink, nudge, nudge), and earn some crypto while you Google "fatberg." If you have the stomach for it. Or you might need some wet wipes to clean up your barf. Tl;dsearch, don't flush the wipes, even if they claim to be "flushable." That is a load of sewer sludge sanitation workers would thank you not to believe.

https://www.trutv.com/shows/adam-ruins-everything/blog/adams-sources/adam-ruins-hygiene.html ...You could also watch the Adam Ruins Everything episode, "Adam Ruins Hygiene." Link to the sources list from that episode.

So, what's a tree hugger to do? Make your own!

IMG_20180628_234719.jpg

What you need:

~a container to hold them in (I'm using an old baby wipes container; in the past I've used an old Clorox wipes container)
~about two cups of water
~about 2 Tablespoons of coconut oil (olive would probably also work)
~about 1/2-1 Tablespoon of mild liquid body soap (I use Dr. Bronner's)
~about ten drops of tea tree essential oil (for antiseptic-ness!)
~maybe five drops of another EO of your choice for smells (but my Dr. B's was already lavender scented so I didn't bother)

...and of course, half a roll of paper towels! Though, I imagine you could use the soap mixture with cloth, if you were so inclined.

Step One:

Cut your roll of paper towels in half with a serrated knife. Take the core out.

IMG_20180628_234833.jpg

Step two:

Pour everything in there over the paper towels. If your coconut oil isn't liquid, melt it first. Slosh it around.

IMG_20180628_235020.jpg

All done!

I wouldn't flush these either; they're probably more sewer friendly than the ones with plastic in them, but paper towel could still bork your plumbing I think. But you're not adding to the plastic problem or wiping your derriere with who-knows-what!

I love it when DIY is so easy!

That Red Fish your momma always warned you about

Referral links:

Get free Manna, crypto UBI: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=6e4b50d35e

Join Simbi, the barter economy website: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome

Earn rebates from your everyday shopping with ibotta. Join with my referral code: ptonkkp. You’ll get a $10 welcome bonus and I’ll get $5. https://ibotta.com/rebates

Use Presearch for all your internet searching, including on specific websites, choose your search engine, earn free crypto: https://presearch.org/signup?rid=480866

Buy a Druid a Coffee (or the kittehs some noms, more likely): http://ko-fi.com/phoenixwren

photostudio_1518154776752.jpg

Sort:  

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post is featured in my FRIDAY DIY DAY- CURATION - EDITION 17 post!!

ALL PROCEEDS from this post are EQUALLY divided between the three featured authors' posts.

Awesome, thanks very much! 😃

That looks fun.
We used to have a children's programme called Blue Peter where, every week, one of the presenters would show you how to make something out of recycled cardboard tubes, old washing up liquid bottles and something they called "sticky-backed plastic" (no brand names or product placement on the BBC in those days). Sometimes a toy, sometimes something like a trinket box for your mum. This would have been an ideal project for them, I can hear the presenter now saying, in a very clipped British accent, the BBC version of "slosh it around".😂

Posh posh, now we slosh! 😂

This should be easy to make :) I buy the box of unscented ones and yep, you're right. You don't really know what's in it.

We do have Dr Bronners soap so that's a check and check on all the other ingredients. Wonderful. When we run out of wipes, I just use cloth but at least I have another option if I don't want to use cloth.

Wet wipes are far more sanitary, eco friendly and eco-nomical! Although I'm one of those who do the whole cloth diaper, kitchen towel, sanitary cloth etc as well! It's really not so complicated, disgusting or difficult to clean

I do cloth for all the other things, but keep paper towels around for rear end business - both mine and the cats, haha. I use them for cleaning up their business as well when messes happen or I'm cleaning a litterbox. Otherwise I use old towels and wash them. It's a line my recovering germaphobic brain won't cross yet. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33