Homestead Orange Cleaner - CIY To Shine

in #homesteading6 years ago

From Food to Cleaner

We buy bags of oranges and usually, the orange peel goes to the compost bin.

I know lemons and oranges have some cleansing power so I had to go look up how to use the orange peels and have the beautiful scent lingering in the house instead of the hospital-scent bleach.

orange.png

I made my own orange cleaner! Yay!

I based the recipe from this blog talking about the truth about homemade orange cleaner.

You can use it on tile floor and glass but you can't use it on the following because citrus is an acid.

  • granite/marble countertops
  • stone/hardwood floor
  • stainless steel
  • painted surfaces

Concoct It Yourself

  1. Fill a jar with orange peel
  2. Fill the jar with white vinegar covering the orange peel
  3. Wait 4 weeks and strain the orange concentrate into another jar. If you want a more potent concentrate, you can let it steep longer. If you can remember to shake it a bit every week, that would be great.

The liquid strained is a concentrate so you have to dilute it with water when using. I use a 1:1 ratio and it's about right for cleaning.

I used it for mopping our tile floors, cleaning the bathtub, cleaning and disinfecting the toilet and from my picture, cleaning our coffee pot!

I didn't throw the orange peel, I covered it with vinegar again and got another quart full of orange cleaner.

Quick Note

The first batch I made was more vinegary smelling than orange smelling so I left it for another week - total of 5 weeks soaking in vinegar.

If you make your own cleaner and have a few tweaks, I'd love to hear from you. If not, I still love to hear from you :)

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Good use of oranges... Throw in the odd lemon too?
Great natural cleaning solution and smells great too no doubt.

Yes it does. If I had lemons I would throw some in there too :) But we're waiting for the lemon tree to get us some fruits going.

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post is featured in my FRIDAY DIY DAY- CURATION - EDITION 17 post!!

ALL PROCEEDS from this post are EQUALLY divided between the three featured authors' posts.

Thanks Golden D! I think I missed the alternative show, I'll just have to go find pennsif's recording.

This is fabulous! I love that zesty smell in household cleaning. I'm going to try this with all our lemon peels. I posted this a couple weeks ago (unless you saw it?) I use orange and lemon essential oils in my laundry recipe

Oh yes, I'd prefer this smell over bleach. I haven't tried making our own laundry soap, especially tallow! I'll have to bookmark it. Thanks sister!

I would do this because I love citrus smells but I really don't eat enough oranges/lemons/limes/etc. If I had a citrus juicer, I could potentially do it with lemons/limes though since I'm always buying big bottles of the juice!

@lovenfreedom i will definitely try this out and give you feedbacl

That'd be great, hopefully lemons grow in your area so you can just take advantage of that. And if white vinegar is cheap there, then you'll be in good shape.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62750.78
ETH 2444.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66