CURATION FRIDAY DIY Day

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

FRIDAY DIY DAY- CURATION 1

diy day.jpg

Image Source- Pixabay


As I stated in my post earlier this week, I am starting to do some major curating on my page. (See list below with link to original post with schedule). Today is the first Friday DIY Day.

This is going to be a fun category for me to promote, curate and read.
Topics will include:

  • Crafts
  • Woodworking
  • Home repair
  • Homemade health and beauty products
  • AND so much more!


Curation Schedule & Days


  • Monday- Prepping & Preppers
  • Tuesday- Holler Out Homesteading
  • Friday- DIY Day
  • Saturday- Cooking & Recipes

See my full post here


DIY- FOOD

Death By Lemons: Cake and Curd by @creationofcare

@creationofcare had been given more lemons than she knew what to do with. See her first EVER made from scratch cake as well as some AWESOME looking lemon curd. I absolutely LOVE lemon curd but have never made my own and her recipe (with pictures and a step-by-step process) looks so easy!

NOTE- This was a well written and quality post and has 51 views, 17 UPvotes and 17 comments- HEAD over and let @creationofcare know how GREAT her post and lemon cake and lemon curd look!



DIY HOME DECOR

DIY This 5 Mason Jar Planter Box, Just $6.50 by @diyhometalk


These planter boxes are a versatile home decor All-Star. You can use it as a dining table centerpiece, vanity organizer, window planter, mantle decor, veggie or fruit storage, picnic caddy, craft supply box, and much much more. They also make great gifts your friends and family will find a dozen uses for too.

NOTE: This post has 6 views, 8 UPvotes and 2 comments. It's well written and some great images showing the process to make this simple home decor item. Let's show some support!!


DIY- CRAFTS

HOW TO make a double-sided sunhat from secondhand fabrics by @lil-mich


I have a friend who’s nutty about hats. So when she asked me if I’d want to learn how to sew my very own, double-sided sun hat, of course I took her up on the offer.
My friend makes her hats from any secondhand fabrics she can find: curtains, table cloths, clothes - as long as they look good and are good quality, they become a hat. My hat is also made of secondhand fabrics: a cotton curtain on the one side, and a linen tablecloth on the other.

See the sewing and creativity magic @lil-mich works in this post! Step-by-step instructions and she makes the sunhat look so easy to make!

NOTE: This quality post has 45 views, 13UPvotes and 17 comments. HEAD over and show her and her GREAT sunhat some steemit support!


COME BACK TOMORROW FOR THE FIRST SATURDAY CURATION DAY WITH THE KITCHEN TABLE! FOOD, RECIPES AND MORE

signature.gif

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Thank you very much for including me in this fine collection of posts. I am excited to visit and upvote all of them!

You're welcome! And thank you for supporting the other members!

EVERYONE loves your lemon curd jars!!!

How fun! The lemon curd looks wonderful! Great post @goldendawne, looking forward to the next ones!

I know- as soon as I saw the picture i displayed here I had to share it!

That lemon curd looks like sunshine in a jar! Yum. These are all inspiring posts!

I know! I fell in love with the pictures alone!

I need to get my hands on a slew (or basket full) of lemons! My aunt used to make lemon curd and it was heavenly! I love the tartness!

it's like $1.30 a lemon here for organic so I am so envious of those that can grow them. Lemon curd tarts ...sigh. So good! Great curation list. You really have a talent for finding interesting posts! I am looking forward to what you find next!

Yeah.. I was just at the store and lemons were 99/cents a pound... I live in apple country not lemon country. Wish I did.

Tomorrow is recipes and food curation day. I HAVE SOME great ones already scoped out!

We are in apple country too :) There's one thing I have a lot of in the fall is apples.

I appreciate my lemon hyperabundance so much more after reading this thread! Thanks!

I am quite envious of your "lemon hyperabundance"! That lemon curd looks beautiful!

Thanks! The combination of lemon with the deep colored freerange egg yolks is magical. I am going to make a shelf stable batch so they can ship to colder climes 😁

@creationofcare had been given more lemons than she knew what to do with. See her first EVER made from scratch cake as well as some AWESOME looking lemon curd.

Now that's a great way to stockpile Vitamin C. ;)

LOL I am terrible at crafts, but I sure have a DYI watertower!

DIY water tower???? Now I'm curious!
Did you make a post about it?

no, ill take pics and maybe do a post about it. But I use it for the animals and the garden. Groundwater or rainwater is far better for the plants than the well or treated water. I do not use a filter for the animals or the garden. Straight from the stream or rain to the animals and garden. All the local minerals. Good and bad. Builds healthy plants and animals from what i find.

planter boxes are looking wonderful

It looks so easy to make and all the possibilities to use it for! A table centerpiece... you can jazz it up for any holiday!

What a fabulous idea! I already gather posts, but I LOVE your idea of doing categories... and I definitely want to check these out. I LOVE DIY stuff!

Your formatting looks great, too!

Awesome post!

THANK YOU!!! I spent quite a bit of time finding these posts and making sure every detail was perfect- yeah.. OCD came through today!

Hey @goldendawne can you suggest 3 new/young Steemians for me to choose from....I am going to delegate some of my SP for 1-3 weeks as I take a break from Steemit. If you can make some suggestions that would be awesome!! Preferably someone that does as much or more with family/garden than homesteading.... Good history of community involvment. Could use some short term SP boost.

If any come to mind that is awesome!
Thank you!!

I sure can. I'll go through my notebook and message you on Discord.

That is very kind of you to pay it forward too!

Thank you!!!
Hope all is well with you! I haven't seen you around lately- sending you blessings and positive vibes!

I'm hereabouts. Been busy with appointments and working on graphic arts again. Thanks for the positive whatnots! I ebb and flow most times. O.O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32