Death By Lemons: Cake and Curd

in #food6 years ago (edited)

20180306_191658.jpg Life keeps giving me sackfuls of these!

I gleaned all the windfall lemons and juiced them with my trusty antique glass reamer, even though I do own a dusty CuisineArt electric citrus juicer. Nothing works better than the good old elbow grease model, though.

20180306_220250.jpg
I also collected a bag of pretty ones off the tree to rob of their zest.

This is the first time I ever ventured to bake a cake from scratch. I used the recipe I found here https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/lemon-cake-recipe-1913110

20180306_221142.jpg How on earth did our great grandmothers cream butter by hand?! This job requires power tools.

The other great thing about making this cake and curd duo is that it uses up 20 eggs!

20180306_224949.jpg

Delight vied with shock when both loaves turned out perfectly! Even though I only buttered the pans and forgot to flour them, they slid out effortlessly and absorbed their sweet and puckery syrup like champion sponges.

Meanwhile, I had whipped up another vat of acidic deliciousness: a 4x batch of lemon curd mixture. I followed my favorite recipe found here http://www.finecooking.com/recipe/classic-lemon-curd

20180306_222550.jpg Stir constantly to preserve the silky texture.

When the curd began to stiffen, I poured it into sanitized mason jars. I didn't do a canning bath, so these are "refrigerator preserves" to enjoy within a month.

20180306_230845.jpg I gave the two small jars to @mattlovell for his IT staff at work.

There was some extra lemon curd, so I spread it like icing over the cakes.

20180306_230855.jpg

Jumpstart your salivary glands.

20180307_095234.jpg

Death By Lemons!

Lemon-know what you think of my maiden voyage of cake baking.

Love,Cat
@creationofcare

Sort:  

AHH! Lemon curd is one of my favorite things ever! Well, pretty much anything lemon, and that you can just pick up lemons off of the ground is freaking amazing! Sorry, I am a bit overwrought, there is still a ton of snow in my yard, so seeing the magic you wrought with the citrus brought me elated joy! Thank you so much for sharing:o)

I wonder if I cound send you a jar. If I do a round of shelf stable canned, I will!

Oh @creationofcare, you are just the most amazing person ever! I was just tickled to see that you picked up lemons and made something delicious with them, both the cake and the curd (Thanks so much for the recipes!). My grandma used to bring me back lemons from her tree in Arizona every spring, I was like a total lemonhead I tell ya!

What really tickled me is yesterday I made these super fancy lemon cupcakes for my coworker's birthday, so the lemon focus of the last two days has really made my week:o)

That is a lot of lemons, and I am definitely salivating now! So yummy!

This looks AMAZING! May I link this article and feature your username in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter? Let me know, thanks!

That would be lovely, thank you so much

I am a lover of all desserts lemon! I've never attempted to make lemon curd before but I do love it.

Thanks for sharing the recipes

My pleasure! When it comes to baking, I am but a test kitchen ;)

I like lemon dishes:)
the colors look great😊👌

that looks amazing! i hope lemon curd is on the menu for after Bear Paw :P

Droool lemon curd was enough to make me click in and cake too!!!!

Looks amazing cake!

Oh that is so cool you have a lemon tree!! Those cakes and curd looks amazing...I need lemon bread now!!

You post is being feature in today's Friday DIY Day Curation Post.

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

Wow, that is wonderful, thank you so much!

The world needs more homegrown cake!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32