HOW TO make a double-sided sunhat from secondhand fabricssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

I have a friend who’s nutty about hats. So when she asked me if I’d want to learn how to sew my very own, double-sided sun hat, of course I took her up on the offer.
My friend makes her hats from any secondhand fabrics she can find: curtains, table cloths, clothes - as long as they look good and are good quality, they become a hat. My hat is also made of secondhand fabrics: a cotton curtain on the one side, and a linen tablecloth on the other.

First of all, of course we started off with some coffee and a chit chat, setting up our sewing machines. My machine is about 30 years old and I have inherited it from my husband’s late grandmother. We have a love-hate relationship my sewing machine and I, sometimes not seeing eye to eye at all. But having her sent in for a service a while ago has greatly improved on our relationship, and on this particular day I’m happy to say she purred like a cat.

Here's how we made the hat.

One hat is made up from 5 different parts; the top, the crown (the vertical part), two brim pieces (the horizontal part) and a long narrow piece, which will become a decorative band. First off, cut the parts to size (if you're looking for further details, please get in touch). We used an old, dismantled hat as pattern.

Sew the crown piece together in one end to form a circle, and mount it to the top piece

Sew the two brim pieces together in both ends to form a circle, and mount to the crown piece

I'm getting all excited by now - it actually starts looking like a hat!

Sew the forth and final piece onto the hat, creating a band that runs all around the hat, covering the joint of the crown and the brim

Now, repeat the same for hat number two, just made in another fabric

Put hat number two into hat number one, with both their insides facing out. Spend some time making sure they align perfectly

Sew the two hats together along the brim, but remember to leave an opening big enough to allow one of the hats to come through, or you'll have an insideout hat on your hands

Last and final step is to sew an edge around the whole brim in order to close the gap left in your last stage, but also to make a nice finishing touch to brim

That's the hat finished. I love how it can be used in two different styles, and how both fabrics are shown when worn.

Although not quite ready to quit my day job and become a professional hatter, I am really happy with my sunhat, and whenever spring decides to come along, I'll be ready to greet her. This was my first big venture on my sewing machine, and if I can do it, you certainly can!

Thanks for reading!
-lil-mich

Sort:  

Fantastic instructions! Thank you kindly for DIY. I hope to get a chance to try it.

Thank you, glad you enjoyed it. :)

Such a cool tutorial, thanks! I have knit hats but never done real millnery type hats. And double sided - and upcycled - even cooler!

You're welcome - I'm not an experienced seamstress, so this is absolutely an obtainable goal for everyone. :) Give it a go, it was heaps of fun :)

Wow look at you sew!! You should be very proud of yourself for doing such a great job! I love the hat and I love that you’ve upcycled and that it is a double sided piece of fashion!
Thank you so much for including picture instructions as you went along. I see you made a crochet flower too!!! I can’t leave that little cutie out!! 😃

thank you! you know, I am pretty proud. :) I didn't think I was going to make it, but my friend insisted it wouldn't be that hard. I still had my doubts based on my past run-ins with my sewing machine, but it turned out great. :) Might have to bring her out more often. :)

I’m so glad you listened to your friend and went for it! That was funny when you talked about the relationship with your sewing machine. I have a newer one but I also was given an old one which belonged to our friend’s late mother. It can do quite a bit but it’s so intimidating to me. I’ll have to work my way up into using that one. 😄

That's a wonderful tutorial @lil-mich ! I made a hat in the past before so I may still have the pattern I used.... you've inspired me 🌸

Thanks @cryptocariad :) I don't think anyone's ever told me I've inspired them on Steemit before, so thank you for that! :) It made my day :)

You worked hard on your tutorial, @lil-mich ! I wish I had more power to upvote you higher !💖

This is awesome, right up my street!

Fun! Great to see creative projects like this! I love sewing, but feel like there's not enough time... It's awesome to see reuse of vintage fabrics. :)

That is pretty awesometastic!! I love that it was the first project on your sewing machine!! Wow, that's really impressive to take on something like that first. I once made a tote bag that was lined and it was my first and last. :) Thanks for sharing how you did it. Good idea to take apart a hat you already have to use as a pattern.

Glad you enjoyed it @apanamamama :) I had my doubts before starting, but I had a firm hand in my friend guiding me along. :)

I love your sun hats, @lil-mich! Too adorable and you make it look simple even though I know it isn't. LOL. Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

thank you @crystalize. That's lovely of you :) I have to admit, it was a lot easier than I thought it would be. But I had my friend guiding me along all the way, and that of course helped a great deal. :) So glad you liked it. :)

How fun! I love the hat, its very cute! I think you did a great job at making your first hat!

Thanks @smylie2005 😁 it was great fun making it, I’m surprised at how managible it was.

You post is being feature in today's Friday DIY Day Curation Post.

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

Wow, that’s really good of you @goldendawne thanks! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00