Curie Author Showcase (June 23rd, 2018)

in #curation6 years ago

  • In the spirit of Curie's mission to promote undiscovered but exceptional content, we wish to use this twice weekly section to provide an author showcase for some of the outstanding authors who received Curie upvotes in past week. Curie curators and reviewers nominate authors for inclusion in this showcase and author approval is sought and attained.

  • For those new to Curie, please follow @curie, and join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/jQtWbfj

  • Follow @curie's votes to support the authors. Please consider following our trail and voting for curated authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @curie is an available trail to follow.

  • Vote for the @curie witness to support Curie operations (all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations).

  • If you would like to delegate to Curie you can do so by clicking on the following links:
    50 SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
    Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Featured Author: @builtinfire
Steemit Open Mic Week 90 - Original Song ' Are you with me?


Images property of @builtinfire

We start off today's Author Showcase with the amazing and powerful voice of @builtinfire. He always plays and sings with such emotion it is hard to not like it. My favorite part is the guitar break in the middle where he REALLY gets into it.

In reading the comments on this post I saw that @lillywilton offered to do female vocals on anything with @builtinfire . I would just like say if they make that happen it will also be in this Author Showcase because there is no way it doesn't get another Curie vote.

Be sure to check out @builtinfire 's latest post to see a list of scheduled DLive performances, or to add your own performance to the schedule. Submission for Dlive Music Gig Guide ( 27 June - 08 July )

Go watch the video.

Featured Author: @lashotta
4 places in CYPRUS that will STICK TO your memory


Images property of @lashotta

@lashotta has compiled a very detailed list of all the best places to visit while in the island paradise of Cyprus. They take you through a photographic journey of the Royal Tombs, Aphrodite's Rock, Larnaca's Salt Lake, and Ayia Napa home to the beautiful Nissi Beach.


Above left is part of The Royal tombs. Above right is Nessi Beach.

Go read the full post here.

Featured Author: @ianceaz
How I made the Mural painting of the Municipality of Tupi


Images property of @ianceaz

Artist @ianceaz is back with another of his incredible murals. I love how he blends everything that represents the small town into the one large scale mural.

While trying to decide which art piece to use in this Author Showcase I showed three photos to my wife to get her opinion. She said, "Oh, go with the one with the Bushbaby. I like that one!" I replied, "Honey, this is in the Philippines." Without hesitation she said, "Okay, go with the one with the Tarsier. I like that one!" As she proceeded to walk out of the room without another word.

I have to say the Tarsier is my favorite part of the mural as well.

Keep an eye on @ianceaz 's blog page. While he is well-known for his many murals he is also an active member of the art community here on the blockchain. He frequently puts his talents on display for many of the contests on the platform. Whether it be large scale murals or small scale portraits his talent always shines through.

Go see all of the process steps for this one.

Featured Author: @lightenup
Relics of a Bygone Era - Black and Whites of Downtown Tampa


Images property of @lightenup

Author @lightenup takes us on a tour of downtown Tampa, Florida. The tour features many of the cities oldest buildings that have stood the test of time. They capture them in the perfect medium for such historic locales, black and white. Often times when black and white is used on newer buildings it doesn't have quite the same effect, but when you use it on buildings that are over 100 years it really can bring out a lot more in the photos.

I've always been drawn to the past; especially when I see old black and whites of people from a bygone era. Those relics of the not so distant past still survive and bring me into another place. With each shutter click my mind is taken to a surreal space that can't really be described in words. It's the images that speak with a powerful darkness that haunts me from within. Underlying tones of nothing lasts forever reek the images you are about to embark on... - @lightenup

Go see all of the photos from around downtown Tampa.


Featured Author: @nyctoinc
60+ HOUR ART ILLUSTRATION, Fantasy Marketplace,
Took soo long..Steps + GIF


Images property of @nyctoinc

This next art piece has just so much detail in it. It is no wonder it took artist @nyctoinc over 60 hours to get this thing done. Every tiny piece of this artwork pulls you in a bit further. While it wouldn't be 60 hours it would take you a long time of sitting and staring at this one to take in every little detail that is placed so precisely by the artist.

Be sure to check out Nycto's page for her newest post - The Witch And The Reaper, ORIGINAL ART, Mega POST! STEPS + GIF

Go see why this piece took Nycto more than 60 hours.

Featured Author: @honeydue
Dark alleyways (weekend freewrite)


Images property of @honeydue
We wrap up another Author Showcase with some amazing fiction. This one comes to us from a weekend freewrite competition which provided a couple of prompts for the entrants.

The main characters in this dark and a bit twisted tale are Richard (from the prompt), and a nameless little girl. You will not see the places author @honeydue is about to take the story, but once you get there I bet you will love it. I know I did! Another plus for this post and the author is that they used their own photos as well. Most would have just grabbed a Pixabay photo and be done with it, which is fine for most short stories here on the Steem Blockchain, but that added personal touch is always nice.

I loved the comment that @honeydue shared with me about their writing -

The weird thing is that reading back on my stories, I have no clue how I came up with them. Often, I'm just as surprised as someone reading it for the first time... I really think there are some dark corners (or alleys, if you will!) in my mind that only writing can access, especially these freewrites. You just get a prompt, then the next thing you know, bam, you're in the thick of it!

Go read the full story here.

This Curie Author Showcase was written by Curie Curator @randomwanderings (Gene) at times with input from other Curie curators and reviewers. All images and quoted texts are the copyright of their respective authors.

Sort:  

Curie is the best curator

Thank you so, so much @curie! Very much appreciated! Inspires me to do more works! More power!

Hi @curie Thank you so much for the mention here. I am truly honoured to be featured on your post. Appreciate the support.

Thank you for mentioning @curie!

Like always - the best quality content.

Next time - I will reach you on discord to add something from me to the article.

My next entries in the TAG will appear in about 3 weeks - during this time I will travel and collect exclusive material for the Stemit community.

Best wishes and thank you one more time.

Artur aka @lashotta

The work they do is impeccable, keep it up so it is very admirable what they do!

I certainly enjoy reading you my dear friend, thank you for entertaining us in this way.

Thanks for the intro to these great steemians and their posts. I love looking through them and don't have to go searching for great content when you've done it for us :)

you are doing really a very good job i hope you always do your best

I certainly enjoy reading you my dear friend, thank you for entertaining us in this way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64