Curie Author Showcase (April 23rd, 2018)

in #curation6 years ago

  • In spirit of Curie's mission to promote undiscovered but exceptional content, we wish to use this twice weekly section to provide an author showcase for some of the outstanding authors who received Curie upvotes in past week. Curie curators and reviewers nominate authors for inclusion in this showcase and author approval is sought and attained.

  • For those new to Curie, please follow @curie, and join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/jQtWbfj

  • Follow @curie's votes to support the authors. Please consider following our trail and voting for curated authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @curie is an available trail to follow.

  • Vote for the @curie witness to support Curie operations (all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations).

Featured Author: @lynncoyle1
Tonight I Gave the Love of My Life Permission To Die


Image used with the permissions of @lynncoyle1

This week we begin our Author Showcase a bit differently, with a touching and heartbreaking account of the most recent chapter in a couple's fight with Cancer. @briancourteau and @lynncoyle1 have been sharing even the darkest parts of the story and their fight with this dreaded disease. It all started with Brian sharing a poem Poem to My Wife as my Cancer starts to win the battle, Lynn then followed it up with a response post that shared a bit of the couple's history and their battle Response to "poem to my wife as my cancer starts to win the battle". I will leave it to Lynn to explain their relationship a bit more.

We met on a blind date fyi. My friend was out one night and brought his name/number to me the following day. Because she had a few drinks that evening, I didn't completely trust her judgment and threw the slip of paper in a drawer for about 3 weeks, until one weekend, bored silly, I phoned him to set up dinner the next evening. I found out later that he almost cancelled. But over that one fateful dinner, we laughed, talked and fell in love, and haven't been apart since. We spoke or saw each other every day after that for 9 months, then moved in together. During our time together we have traveled extensively, bought and operated a restaurant together, and raised my two teenage boys. We were both unhappily married for years before; me 24 years and Brian 18 years. We have only been together 8 years; 8 beautiful, loving, exciting and wonderful years, but we found out about his cancer in year one together. He tried desperately to push me away, trying to shield me from the pain he knew he was going to cause me; I of course chose to fight. Something in me said that he was worth it...and he has been. - @lynncoyle1

If you haven't followed their story I suggest you go back and review it all to see one terrific love story in the middle of a life altering battle against a dominant foe. The couple currently has a GoFundMe campaign going to help cover some of the costs incurred throughout the battle. Please check out their pages for direct links to that and more information.

Featured Author: @giobardzero
Journey of Learning Liszt's Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2


Image used with the permissions of @giobardzero
I, like many others were first introduced to classical music in an unusual place - cartoons. Whether it was Rossini, Chopin, or Strauss in Looney Toons, Dukas's The Socerer's Apprentice in Fantasia, or Beethoven via a Pink Panther cartoon, many had their first exposure to classical music in cartoons.

In this post author @giobardzero shares his introduction to Franz Liszt's Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 in C# Minor via the classic Tom & Jerry cartoon episode, The Cat Concerto. The cartoon was brilliant, pairing the every day battle between this cat and mouse with Liszt's music in the most perfect way imaginable.

As Gio explains it -

The battle that ensues is so well choreographed with Liszt's masterpiece, one would think he wrote the piece specifically for that Tom & Jerry episode.

It was a performance that inspired Gio to pursue his love for music and start his journey of learning this very song and much more.

This post details the process of learning one of my all time favorite pieces of music. I'm a multi-instrumentalist and a songwriter who also plays guitar and sings folk tunes. I run two open mics in Denver, where I reside, and also teach music.

Cheers!
Gio

Liszt's Number Two has been featured far and wide in cartoons throughout the years. Everything from classics like Mickey Mouse, Woody Woodpecker, and Bugs Bunny to the more modern Tiny Toon Adventures, and Animaniacs. It was even the featured piece of music during the Dueling Ducks piano showdown between Donald Duck and Daffy Duck in Who Framed Roger Rabbit? You can see clips of many of these in this video shared via YouTube.

Be sure to stop by Gio's page and welcome him to Steem.

Featured Author: @ikeror
The Ernest Cline's Holy grail of Pop Culture


Image used with the permissions of @ikeror

This is an ultra in-depth review of the new blockbuster film Ready Player One from aspiring filmmaker @ikeror. He tears the film down to take a close look at the writer, director, soundtrack and of course the film itself. If you were considering seeing the film but were unsure if it is worth it, read this review and you will be convinced.

I loved @ikeror 's description of the film-

An interesting story about a utopia within a dystopia

In my review of this movie review I say it will do exactly what a movie review should - move people to take action and go see the film.

I am a Venezuelan guy who wants to get to do amazing things, I want to be a filmmaker and I'm preparing myself for that. I think to analyze the movies I watch and to talk about them is important to achieve my goal, so I do it here, on Steemit. I also like other kinds of arts, like photography, literature and music. I really love arts, they are an important part of my life. - @ikeror

Featured Author: @buttcoins
MODERN VACATION

Image used with the permissions of @buttcoins

This next video takes a hilarious look at what has become the modern day vacation experience. It is the type of video that you have to let speak for itself, but what else would you expect from someone with a name like @buttcoins ? Hopefully Tom will come to his senses someday, quit his job and his family and go hangout in a tropical paradise with buttcoins.

Buttcoins is familiar with Curie upvotes as his great posts have had two previous votes. We are pleased to announce that he will now be transitioning from Curie vote getter to Curie vote giver as he has joined the ranks of Curie Curators this week. Welcome aboard @buttcoins , we all look forward to the varied and unusual posts you will discover and share with us all.

Featured Author: @carrieallen
??Space Carrie's Adventures In Space!??
Pilot Episode - Recording and Script


Image used with the permissions of @carrieallen

I was so excited when I saw this next post get a Curie vote. It is such a great idea with amazing production value. Carrie Allen takes us on an adventure to the Space Dessert of Galog-Kerplathicus where we join her alter-ego SPACCCCCE CARRIE for her adventures in space.

This was the pilot episode in the series which also hopes to pull in other writers and voice talent for segments on her SteemStar Network show Mission Control. This episode focuses on bounty hunter SPACCCCE CARRIE tracking down the infamous space pirate Space Beard. The story culminates in an ultimate light sab...umm I mean laser sword battle.

It is an incredible homage to the classic radio shows of yesteryear with its drama, comedy, and awesome sound effects. My favorite sound effect was the bartender squishing across the floor and leaving his slimy slug trail behind him. That's right, imagine what that sound is in your head as you read that and then go listen to it and realize how much better their actual sound effect is!

Carrie also had a test episode that was a great little horror story titled Quiet which was once again accompanied by great sound effects.

Carrie is actively seeking out collaborators for her show

I'm looking for collaborators!
This episode is to serve as the beginning and as an example of what I envision the "Old Time Radio" segment of my show producing. We will be needing more voice actors, some re-curring, some for single episodes. I'd also like to invite YOU to write a short script for us. They would need be able to be performed in UNDER 10 minutes, or broken up into 5 or 10-minute segments.

Be sure to tune in every Tuesday for Carrie's show

??Mission Control??
LIVE every TUESDAY 12 AM UTC
on the SteemStar Network.
Watch/listen live on SteemStar.net and play with us in Discord

A quick note for myself and anyone else in the U.S., Tuesday 12:00AM UTC is Monday evening in the U.S.

We have decided to add one #mycuriestory post to each Author Showcase.

Featured #mycuriestory Author: @jumpmaster
Why I Just Voted for @curie for Steemit Witness
(And No, I’ve Never Received a Curie Upvote)

This week's Featured #mycuriestory post is a bit different. It comes to us from someone who has never even gotten a Curie vote, but still feels strongly enough about what Curie does for the Steem Blockchain to post about it and call for others to support us. Thanks for the support @jumpmaster ! Keep on working and someday that vote could come in.

This Curie Author Showcase was written by Curie Curator @randomwanderings (Gene) with input from other Curie curators and reviewers. Author permission was sought and obtained from all authors featured in this showcase. All works are the copyright of their respective authors and used with permission.

Sort:  

Thank you so much @randomwanderings for doing this. Your post made me cry...tears of gratitude, not sadness. I am indebted to @curie for choosing my post, for becoming a part of our story, and for helping so many deserving authors get noticed. Thank you again Gene for writing this; it's perfect! Now I need to go check out the others here :)

Cheers!

I am glad you liked it. And nice to be the one to make you cry for once instead of the usual other way around! I do hope you know even though only one curator can submit your posts that have made it through, for the most part there was a line of curators behind them attempting to submit it as well but getting the error because someone had gotten to it first. Lots of love here for you guys.

Thank you for telling me that Gene! Brian and I are still shaking our heads about the whole thing. So much love is right! :)

Welcome to steemit. I hope you have a good day. I give you my vote I hope yours, go through my channel when you can ... may God enlighten you

Welcome to steemit. I hope you have a good day. I give you my vote I hope yours, go through my channel when you can ... may God enlighten you

All these posts are amazing, thank you for the honor of being included here with all them. Since I read your message, I have been really excited!

An honor to have made this short list of great posts for the week. Great postseronies everyone. Thank @randomwanderings for pulling it all together... and big ups to @curie for continuing to support minnows and top notch posting!

Well-deserved for sure. Now get out there and find something for us to vote up the butt! (Hell of a motto/slogan there btw lol)

Thank you for helping my post about the Afghan Girl become a huge success!

I was so happy to see you got the big vote there, you are such a great poster. Much love - Carl

This is not the first time that Curie has rocked my world. I am humbled and proud at the same time. It is a great incentive to keep working hard! Thank you Carl and thank you Steemit!

Welcome to steemit. I hope you have a good day. I give you my vote I hope yours, go through my channel when you can ... may God enlighten you

edouard you deserve that big vote. That post of yours is great.

That is so sweet!

I had a vote 20mins ago from you guys and you have given me the biggest upvote I've ever received on this platform. It's nice to get noticed. Thanks a tonne!

Nice job. I'm really impressed by what you are doing for steemians. Well done

Welcome to steemit. I hope you have a good day. I give you my vote I hope yours, go through my channel when you can ... may God enlighten you

You shared very interesting content the firs one is so impressive and strong story i must follow them, thank you for sharing.

Welcome to steemit. I hope you have a good day. I give you my vote I hope yours, go through my channel when you can ... may God enlighten you

There is a lot of need for you to write about each content or post that I have been looking forward to long ago. I am a big fan of you and I try to read all your content, for me every piece of content seems to be great.
You can write each topic very well and your writing power is really awesome.

Welcome to steemit. I hope you have a good day. I give you my vote I hope yours, go through my channel when you can ... may God enlighten you

Welcome to steemit. I hope you have a good day. I give you my vote I hope yours, go through my channel when you can ... may God enlighten you

happy your friend and good luck always :)
i will follow you curie, thank you

Welcome to steemit. I hope you have a good day. I give you my vote I hope yours, go through my channel when you can ... may God enlighten you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.40
ETH 3085.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31