Friday Favorites: Posts that Caught My Eye This Week!

in #curation6 years ago

FF5-cover.png

It's here... another Friday? Already?

I guess I feel like it's here already because spent at least three days this week barely able to look at the screen and at least 4 days were spent in bed for the majority of the time. I was sick as a dog and the light of the computer just aggravated my headache. I am finally on the mend and feeling MUCH better. Yay! (Bad news? @serapium seems to have picked up my crud!)

At any rate, I’ve gathered a few of the posts I read the rest of the week for your perusal!

Also… keep an eye out for my “500 Contest” Coming SOOOOON

Celebrating gaining 500 followers. There will be 10SBD in prizes with fun and unique writing prompts!

thankful-contest-400.png

These are the posts that caught my eye this week:

Click on the photos to go directly to the featured posts!

@ikaraboutyou

This first steemian is VERY new to the platform, but someone I've known for a long time, first as her teacher and mentor and then as a friend. She is like one of the family and I consider her one of the kids! I encourage you to go give her some upvotes and comment encouragement. If you have any good newbie tips that aren't too overwhleming, please share those with her, too!

FF5-ikaraboutyou.png

To the cemetery I went down a well beaten road to a small graveyard where some dirt still lay fresh among the sunken headstones, the ones pushed askew by some unearthly force. After a couple decades, no one brushes the dirt off the names. Their names grow shallow and worn, like a pebble doing battle at the coast, quiet but incredibly strong.

The emotionally evocative writing that accompanies her photo is just wonderful. I love how her emotions pour onto the page, raw and honest. Something I very much admire is when a person can bare their life, their feelings, their soul with their writing.

This particular post Graveyard is my favorite, but is a little past the voting time limit because I didn’t see it until after I’d posted my Friday Faves last week. I encourage you to give it a read and maybe follow @ikaraboutyou and upvote some of her other posts… and leave an encouraging comment if you have some time!

@cryptosharon

FF-5-rulers.png

This is the awesome post by @cryptosharon where she offers these AMAZING horizontal rulers that you see in this post. Go get the links and leave her some upvotes and comments!

@kweenbrand

FF5-kween.png

I did some thinking and I realised that Pride is rightly called a disease because it has the capacity to ruin whom ever it is found in .

This is a great post with a fantastic reminder to all of us to keep our pride from guiding us.

@sharoonyasir

FF5-sharoon.png

The way we are designed says a lot about how we should be and live, only if we pay attention to that. We are born with ears that do not close and always stay open, but mouths that have the option of closing so only if we get that clue and start listening more, our lives would become so much easier.

An amazingly concise and well written piece about listening, more fully experiencing our relationships and becoming more aware. Listen More, Feel More and Experience More This really spoke to me, more of a reminder, I suppose. It pointed out one of my flaws in that I tend to have a hard time just sitting still (in any situation) and listening. I always want to help, advise or even just lose patience because I get so easily distracted. This was a fantastic post on being still and the importance of hearing what is being said.

@abyni

FF5-abyni.png

An edgy thriller of a story that will keep you on your toes. @abyni is new to creative writing and has a style all her own. She pours this story onto the page and will leave you reading in anticipation until the very end.

@spellmaker

FF5-spellmaker.png

A great short and sweet post on the power of our thoughts that was a great reminder for me!

Favorite Freewrites:

FF5-storytellingrocks.png

FF5-wondersofnature.png

FF5-simgirl.png

FF5-mikesthoughts.png


Horizontal rulers thanks to @cryptosharon

Photos are linked to the source of the post they appeared in OR are my own photo/creation

byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Hi @byn! It's an honor for me to be featured in your post. I would say that it's a great achievement. Thank you for appreciating my writings, it inspires me more. God Bless you.

Those are awesome picks! I can't wait to read them all. I'm honored my gardening freewrite made the list. Thank you!

Thanks for the shout out! I'm looking forward to contributing more and seeing what people create online.

Great stuff here! Thanks and glad you are feeling better!

Thanks a lot @byn. Am glad I made it to your Friday favorites. To all Steemians that made it here with me. I celebrate you!
Much love! @byn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60950.37
ETH 3387.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49