Call to everyone who wants to reward quality, undervalued content to join my trail

in #curation7 years ago

As I'm browsing through new posts in the last couple of days, I can see just how many of them go by unrewarded. With the significantly increased number of posts it's easy for a quality one to get lost in the crowd. Especially when it comes to new authors without established following.

The number of curators, even though increasing, is still not enough compared to the number of posts. Some six months or so back I was able to go through all content and practically check every single article.

Right now, I can only reach to a small fraction of it. Some of it that follows Curie's guidelines I would recommend over there, or vote on it myself, that way helping them reach hot or trending pages. The rest I vote with my still limited influence and a trail worth of 30-50c.

I found that even that small reward means a lot to people who are just starting out.

I have also started resteeming quality posts that need more attention so that some of my followers may pick up on that.

Hopefully, with the implementation of communities, it will be much easier for curators to look for topics they are interested in and we'll see less quality posts with $0 payout and just as many comments. I'm also looking forward to see what the new hardfork and linear curve will bring and what will be the best strategy to adjust vote power to be able to reach as many users as possible.


But until then, you can follow me here https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/254 and help in rewarding those hidden gems. If you don't have time to regularly curate and search for good articles, this is one way to contribute.

As for the type of content I encourage - basically anything that real, normal people write about, that drives engagement and is informative or entertaining. Whether it be short, engaging or long and informative posts, musings and bits of daily wisdom. Gaming, sports, food, science, travel adventures, photography, fiction, music, tech, crypto or general ramblings about life.

You can always find me digging through the feed in search for the good stuff we missed.

How is your experience with curation? What kind of content do you usually look for?


Images 1, 2


You are welcome to upvote, comment and resteem this if you like it. Also make sure to follow @alcibiades to stay updated about future posts.

Sort:  

I have a question about views: (I'm really new so go easy on me...) ;)
How is it that one post - of a piece of artwork, say - will get lots of views and votes, and another one a few days later with the same tags and similar piece of art gets next to no views? Are these things just kinda hit and miss?

And is that what curating does - puts a post in front of a bigger audience?

Metallica, huh? Old school - I dig it. :)

Don't worry about view counts. They are irrelevant to your success or spreading the word. View counts only count people logged into Steemit looking at your post.

Second, many of the more powerful steem curators use software and apps to keep their viewing habits secret, so even logged in they won't appear in the view count.

Third, bots can open post thus faking a view. You may see some post with over 3,000 views. Maybe so but maybe people clicked that post or maybe a bot did. The truth is near impossible o figure out.

Don't worry about view counts. Focus on the activity in your comment section, this where and how you will gain followers and after the next hardfork you will see a change in your rewards.

Thanks for the help! I've been meeting some really awesome people on Steemit through comments and chatting. So much fun!

How many views your article will have can depend on many different things including

  • time of the post (do your followers and other users happen to be here at that hot time of first hour or so),
  • how interesting your title, first paragraph and thumbnail image are (pay attention to those)
  • if it gets in the hot and trending pages, it will attract more people to check it out
    etc.

One of your posts was probably picked up by a curation guild aimed at discovering new promising authors and helping them stand on their feet. :) My advise is just continue producing great content (I love your stories!) and engage with other users and form bonds. It will pay out eventually. :)

Right now, it's more new school... but Metallica never gets old. :)

Okay, gotcha. Thanks for the info. I didn't even think about the time of day I was posting. And I'm so glad you like my country life adventures! :D It makes me feel awesome to know that someone out there is laughing at/with me. heehee
I really appreciate your help!

You can't really predict when is the best time to post cause it probably varies (you can experiment though).
You can also use steemit.chat to promote your posts.

Steem on! And beware of those crazy turkeys. :D

Heehee thanks!

This is all very true. Us newbies are writing up a storm and it seems like not that many people see it. I think my posts are entertaining and my story educational at times, and certainly just sharing beautiful pics like yesterday is fun too. I do hope people will find me and support since all the steemit money is going to go to plant more trees with our association in Costa Rica!

It is a lot more fun than I expected!

Followed 😊 You have nice content! I'm looking forward to seeing more CR media

I'm a big supporter of these initiatives, good content should be rewarded. I'll sign up for your curation tonight.

I'm happy to hear that! This community, unlike some others, really values good content.

That's great to hear. I'm definitely a bit wary of curation trails since they most often seem like blind theme-based support but I really like starting the conversation on "undervalued" content.

I think it´s so funny. I´ve never been a blogger or a forum kind-of guy. Never write comments on youtube. Only use facebook for business. But this place looks like my kinda place. Seems to be very high quality of content. Lots of people with great thoughts on life, alternative lifestyles, money, psychology etc. I have written two blog posts, and it seems to me like I´ve made something like 5$ on it. I´m not quite sure how it works yet, but if I actually made 5 bucks 24 hours after joining this community by sharing some thoughts..that´s amazing to me. Great post! upvote and follow.

Indeed, this community is quite unique and has so many diverse, quality content. I've never been a blogging type either, but I fell in love with this platform. Not necessarily for the rewards, though it is nice bonus. :)

Yup, you made almost $5 (some small percent goes to the people who voted). Good luck and enjoy your time here!

Very cool, Alcibiades! Thanks for that post! I just received a welcome post from you so I came to see what you write. I felt you were talking about me! Being new to all this stuff, people like you are the beacons that light the way through the intimidating path of this giant platform!! So thank you for your post and what you are doing within the Steemit community!!

You got me following now!! :)

This community is very supporting and new users generally feel welcomed. Still, these type of initiatives are necessary to ensure quality posts and promising authors get the exposure they need. :)

Thanks for the comment and enjoy your time on Steemit!

Always happy to see other spreading the love. We will always need this as an initiative as the community grows bigger.

I posted consistently for months seeing single digit votes and maybe a payout of pennies, wanted to give up like many others did that started when I did.

Eleven month later I'm finally making some headway, and its really just been in the past month or so.

Giving newbies that are putting in quality work a little boost last a lot longer in morale than people realize!

Exactly! It's so easy to get demoralized and quit after seeing most of your posts earn pennies. You must have had a real faith in this platform to stay through the tough times.

That's why I'm doing so much curation, to give as much people a feeling they are welcomed here.

Not gonna lie, there were some very frustrating moments. Hopefully we can save some people from a few of those.

yeah thats encouraging. I am a newbie and i love posting but seem to be hidden as you say. Its ok i know its jsut a fun thing but yes, id love to get out there because i have a mission i want to share plus musings and zen tree love!

You sir are a legend, this is a great idea and very thoughtful of you, my vote is only worth 0.01c at the moment but I would gladly give to undervalued posts. This type of kindness you express goes a long way in this day and age.
Hats of to you @alcibiades

No voting power is too small, especially when combined with votes of others. :)
And thanks for the nice words, sir! I've been committed to doing this for more than a half year now. It's one of the ways I try to give back to the community.

This is great and I want to be involved,
Can't seem to register to steemian, keeps saying my email is invalid? Will try again tomorrow

you are sweet too. I love this community and how people seem to be genuinely ready to read again and support each other. I have been reading and enjoying the content as well. And the sweetness of steemers. Thanks for participating and maybe you'll go check out some of my posts. I been on here like 2 weeks so its all new to me too!

As always, there is a polarity of posting evaluation. Great, thoughtful, difficult to research and produce posts get ignored while simple clickbait and games get huge rewards. It can be frustrating.

What do we want, thousands of STEEM worth a penny each, or hundreds of STEEM worth $10?

I have always thought that anyone who wants STEEM rewards to be worth something should only vote for articles that require work to produce. I think of posting as bitcoin mining, and if the Proof of Work is random or too easy, the value of the coin is low.

Do you really feel this way? You think that mass-posted clickbait is getting most of the rewards?

I feel like with my own posting, I can tell that my best posts tend to get the best rewards. Maybe I'm crazy

Well, obviously not always, but when you see a great post go by with nothing and there's a photo of a naked girl or a sports bet that get hundreds, it can seem like a trend.

I can partially agree with you. Thoughtful, well-researched articles pass unnoticed and unrewarded. But again, putting a lot of work in a post does not mean it is more valuable.

It is true that with Steem price increase, a lot of people are here for a quick buck with those clickbait posts.

i hear ya. I have tried both approaches. I tend to work over on everything i do and so yes, i like quality content but if it is clickbait as you say and super intelligent or worthwhile, I am all for that too because brevity can be harder than going on and on... either way up for finding great written and pictorial and video fun!

Great post. I definitely want to follow this type of interaction here on Steemit so that those who really are posting quality content will benefit from it! I'm one of those newer people who are still trying to get the hang of this whole Steemit thing, but I'm learning more and more everyday. Thanks for your insights!

Thanks! Actions like these are necessary in order to make more people feel like home here on the platform. Curating, voting and engaging with others is just as important as creating content.
You're still new but I think you'll do just fine here. :) One thing at a time, you'll learn all about how this platform works. And of course, if you have any questions you can find me here or on the steemit.chat.

Lovely Idea. I converted all of my SBD so I can't verify my Streemian account yet, but once I do I will follow your lead.

I resteem great posts which teach me something I didn't know or I feel others need to know. I generally blog about politics and markets b/c that's mah day job. But Steem is also for fun stuff like I haven't talked about in years.

Great! I can see you are engaged by reading your fantastic, thoughtful comments. It's a great platform to just have fun and get to know not just other cool people, but also yourself.

You're doing a good thing! It is tough as more and more content enters the Steem ecosystem - impossible to keep up. Maybe thats a good thing though?

Imagine trying to keep up with reddit's traffic.. never could do it. That's a good goal for steemit too.

More and more content entering must be a good thing! :) But it also demands more people to give back to the community by voting, commenting etc. I see it as a two way street.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97