On the way to the Temple, Pagoda and Spring

in #culture7 years ago

20170829

We needed to walk for a while to get to the Donghaksa Temple past the portal.
By the road, I could see the pagodas which were made for the monks when they were passed away. The Buddhist funeral is cremation. When monks were dead, their body was burned to ashes. The pagodas were built for the ashes.

There were so many pagodas, new and old, big and small.
The name of owner was carved in front of the pagoda.

But I could not read carved name in the old pagodas due to the wind and the rain.
The names were erased with the flow of time

In the corner of the place where the pagodas were set up, I could find the humble monuments. This monument means that the ashes of monk were scattered in someplace.

These stone pagodas and the monuments made me think about the meaning of life.
Walking around the pagodas, I had a conversation with mom when it comes to what the life is and how to live my life.
I thought I should've enjoyed my picnic in this world until returning back to other world where I was belonged. There is nothing that has no end.

My mom told me her sincere wish in her last moment. She told me that she want to leave this world without bothering her children.

You could see the names on the new pagoda, but this will be erased with time being flowed.

We will be dead in some time. There is no exception.
How many lives would've lived before us ?
I know I can't deviate from the fate that people who had lived before me walked through.

Past the pagodas finally mom and I got to the temple.

Before entering the temple, we took a rest for a minute. Mom was somewhat tired.

There was a spring.

We quenched our thirst with water from the spring.
Water was sweet.

Sort:  

You said it right mate, there is nothing that has no end! Wish everyone has a little thought on this and do their best to leave back a better world when they leave this earth. World will be just wonderful.
Thanks for your lovely post again.

Thank you so much

You are most welcome sir! I really appreciate that you came to my post earlier today!
Thanks so much!

Well... what do you know...
Amazing place! Japanese culture...

Haha Korea and Japan look like similar each other

Their face is not so? Because i can determine the japanese and korean. Hehehe... but their culture? No idea, except the japanese... hehehe....

I've never seen such a place in Korea before. I was greatly impressed.
Thank you for the good writing.

Hi @slowwalker. I like your post. I followed and upvoted you, hope you can do the same for me. Looking forward to more of your posts. I am new on steemit and I hope for some guidance and support on my journey.

Check out some my posts, I think you might like it.

https://steemit.com/life/@expatsaloud/uncensored-china-2-intranet-or-internet-do-we-have-a-choice

https://steemit.com/life/@expatsaloud/uncensored-china-1-stolen-children

https://steemit.com/life/@expatsaloud/ghost-cities-and-over-population-chinese-phenomenon

Amazing adventure friend.. I was thinking of going to the isha foundation ashram temple, yoga center these days to volunteer and develop my kundalini transformation but I found out that the plane tickets cost way too much.. You are lucky to have such places nearby friend :)

Namaste

Memento mori, @slowwalker. "Remember you must die." A cautionary proverb that reminds us that all philosophy and religion is about death and dying and the vanity of earthly wishes.

The photos of the weathered urns are a grim reminder that a man's memory can barely outlast his life. And if we knew the names on the urns, what would it profit us? They would be mere names, of no significance to us.

You had a pleasant afternoon, @slowwalker, a conversation with your mother and a cool drink of sweet spring water.

You celebrated being alive, and this was not without significance because communication between mortals is immortal.

When you put these thoughts into your post and put them on the blockchain they will be here as long as our virtual reality endures, and your thoughts will live on in the ether.

So console yourself with this, my friend, that future generations will know your soul

Oh it was urns in English, thank you, I couldn't find exact word.

It's hard to be expert in two languages, @slowwalker. You do very well

Pagoda has 1 meaning. The pagoda has a meaning in the noun or noun class so that the pagoda can declare the name of a person, place, or all objects and all that is required.
Great post @slowwalker

You are welcome.^^
Hi @slowwalker
if there is time, I beg you to see my post I just shared. Thank you 😊

The quality and arrangements of photos is what made this post upvotable. However, adding 20170829 on the top is a whole new level. Loved it. :)

Me too noticed that. Only an artist can write it that way. I haven't seen any other post at Steemit with date added on it. @slowwalker might have been writing diaries, I can tell you for sure. Great post!

Hello @slowwalker
Thanks for this wonderful post.
After reading this i got a bit confused about this pagoda,
I've seen a lot about that in movies . especially chinese😃.
But the custom of burning bodies, is it still practiced?

It is not just a custom, but a religious ceremony.

Hi! I am new to this site and I want to familiarize myself around steemit. This post is the first one to catch my attention. It was worth reading. I love the photographs. Awesome!

Thank you so much for your reading

this beautiful life in this world the existence of a couple before the earth died, extraordinary, a cultivation for me, tentingnya life partner, thanks for the post, greetings from @amre.

Thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51