Greatest Lies of the Millennial Generation

in #culture7 years ago

hansikhouse_millenials.jpg

We live in a world where each generation (nay, each half generation) is progressing so quickly that we can so keenly pinpoint the failings of the previous generation. Every aspect of lifestyle is constantly being challenged and reinvented in a way that must keep us vigilant as we all strive into the future. One of the most contentious topics today is the status of the newest millennial generation - those born in the early 90s and 2000s, well into the information age and mired in all the technological offerings this world has in store. Some think that this generation is the one that will bring about the most innovation and actualization in the world and are thus nurtured with a certain cultural attitude. I, to the contrary of many younger parents out there, think many of these presumptions are incorrect.

In fact, I quite adamantly believe that these mindsets have actively hurt the current youth population.

So in the spirit of tough-love, looking to a new productive year, and admittedly inspired by a recent post by @guyfawkes4-20, I give you my beloved Top 3 Lies of the Millennial Generation.

1. You’re Special


Nope, not at all. The universe will be just fine without you. In fact, you’re less important than 1/1-billionth of the living population and you’re probably towards the lower spectrum of importance relative to all humans who have ever lived. Your special stance in this world doesn’t exist just because you popped out as a bundle of flesh with a unique birth certificate and social-security number. Your potential special status in the world will only come if you do or make something worthy of that specialness.

Of course, I’m sure you’re special to your parents, family members, friends, and even some children here and there. But that’s a truly “relative” specialness, artificially produced amongst those who have to spend time with you. Once you step out of those circles, you’re just someone with an ego.

If the baby boomers wanted anything for their children, its for them to live a life unfettered by the historical anxieties and challenges they themselves faced. Most committed themselves to careers and built up pools of wealth which they used to buy homes, cars, better educations, and overall earn better situations for their offspring. This has generated some falsehood that the children are a product of so much effort and that they “deserve it all.”

Just like you’re innocent until proven guilt, you’re (supposed to be) unremarkable until proven noteworthy.

2. The World is (Supposed to be) Fair


This is probably the biggest source of complaint, that things are stacked up against us / that some system is purposefully structured to ensure our failure / that my failings are not my own but the consequence of another.

I don’t care if you’re a minority, a woman, a member of the LGBTQAA+ community, an immigrant, a member of the domestic poor, a person ‘underrepresented’ in a respective discipline or interest group, a straight white male, a straight white male with blond hair, a straight white male with blond hair and blue eyes over 6’ height with broad shoulders and an executive level position who inadvertently feeds into the modern “patriarchy” - you don’t have it worse than anyone else in this world and in my opinion, to believe so is the utmost arrogance I have ever seen.

If you perceive there to be an unfair aspect of this world, work to fix that targeted issue. Maybe its education in inner cities. Maybe its lack of particular representation in a workforce. Real discrepancies do exist but the assumption that things are supposed to be or will be at some point absolutely fair is fantasy and in fact an incursion on others’ liberties.

The world is just not fair, and it’s your responsibility to operate within those conditions. In particular, a fairness of outcome is the most ridiculous expectation out of any social environment. Some people win the lottery, some fall in love on the first date, some build fulfilling careers and make an impact on the world, and many millennials assume that unfairness = unjustness.

As a side note, you are responsible for and responsible to no one beyond your own choices. There is no argument of “fairness” that should compel you to do anything according to another’s ideology and moral compass.

3. Do What You Love


This might be the most tremendous and nefarious lie of them all, one that even rots the minds of those who tell you this. It’s understandable that this is a main parenting strategy of the 90s and well into the new millennium. Boomers had a lot more to worry about than what they ‘loved’ to do - buying a house, starting businesses, providing for families at a young age, (many) integrating in a foreign society for a better future, and the list goes on. That core bit of elusive self-actualization was swept to the wayside and our parents put it at our forefront.

But this a faulty adage by any metric.

First, you’re compelling people to act upon their immature impulses. Some people love eating chocolate cake. Some people love biting their nails or scratching their butts (I’m a personal fan of the 2nd one). Creating some hollow motto of doing what heartfelt whim compels you to do is a waste of human talent and potential. If people actually listened to this advice, we’d be living in shacks smoking joints to no end. The supposed comprehension of what we love is an absolute farce and leads to the same reason why we divorce at such high rates or outgrow our favorite pop teenage singer. If you chase only what you love, you’ll be stranded when it comes to a profession or end up cutting off an ear.

Second, love doesn’t guarantee anything. People telling you to “follow your passions” are offering half-baked advice, mostly from those who never had the experience or opportunity to do so. Steve Jobs wasn’t passionate about sleek design nor Elon Musk about car batteries. These individuals, often too romanticized, were/are obsessed, had a 100% work ethic, sacrificed and left behind a great deal, identified tremendous market opportunities, and threw their entire beings at their work. They created love out of hard work and commitment, just like meaningful relationships or hobbies or any form of small-to-large scale impact in the world. These are not just simple compulsions of love.

Instead, as more and more professionals are recommending, do what you’re good at. Being ‘good’ or skillful at something most likely entails that you will be compensated for it, that others will depend on and support you in your work, your reputation will go up over time, and you can eventually grind up into a fulfilling career that rewards more than just yourself for all the effort. What you’re ‘good’ at isn’t decided by your own emotions. It’s validated by a population of consumers that acknowledge your skill.

I know I know, many of you might say “well, what I’m good at makes me miserable.” On that note, I would challenge you to pick apart what exactly is making you unhappy doing what you do. I would bet a good amount of Steem that the dissatisfaction stems from your environment, your colleagues, your current responsibilities, and other aspects that are decided for you, not what you decide upon. Making some changes to avoid those negative aspects will leave you with an ability that is less fettered with unnecessary baggage.

Glass Half…


Full. I’m a complete optimist. I know that this post sounds like a long rant or rhetorical scolding. I treat these long monologue diatribes as self-discipline. I just don’t believe that people should be motivated by fibs and fairytales. I believe we should be encouraged to work hard, harder than anyone around us and build lives that are significant and dependable.

I was raised right before the onslaught of circumstances that led to the millennial generation, so I can sympathize with why millennial are raised in a way that was a part of my childhood as well. As the Declaration of Independence states as one of 3 unalienable rights, we are entitle to and only to the “Pursuit of Happiness.” It must be pursued and that pursuit could take more than a lifetime. No one is guaranteed or entitled to happiness without that necessary pursuit.

What do you think? Am I a nutcase? Am I being too hard on the world around me. As always, let me know your thoughts below.

Sort:  

I see that God will not oppress anyone in this life
And each one will give him the opportunity to change for the better
Without discrimination

Great post! Wish I could upvote twice!

Dude, this post is epic, I'm glad I was the one that inspired you to write it. I really am.

It's funny how people think they are so special when all they are doing is to at McDonald's and sit on the couch while whining about how shitty their lives are for the whole day. Here are two clips that I find to be relevant to this whole "You're special" thing.

Guy break.png

My math teacher always used to say that the world is not fair and I tend to agree with both you and him. Some are born in wealth and others in poorness so of course there is no fairness but what matter is what you do after you're born.

Sometimes it's better if you're born with nothing because you are put in the position where you have to improve yourself and become creative to surpass your situation. I am glad because I was born in a middle-class family because if I would've been born in other circumstances, maybe I wouldn't have developed the same and man, I love who I am right now.

Guy break.png

The main problem with doing what you love, practicing your passions is that most of the people have no idea what those are and it's not easy to identify them.

It's essential to do what you love if you're good at it, if not you have to get better but since most are uncertain about their choices they will give it a minimum level of commitment and then they will go back and watch Kim Kardashian's ass thus, they will get minimum if none rewards.

I'm glad you mentioned about Steve Jobs, have you read his biography? The one written by Walter Isaacson, it is epic. Such an insightful book, I got to see into the mind of Steve, it's impressive. I recommend it. ;)

Outstanding post, it was the best I read in a long time. :)

You said.. I leave to all of you by the way this exquisite explanation, subtitles in english are in there! Love Steemians!

Leo, I have no idea what that guy is saying, haha. It's hard to keep up with him even with that subtitle since I don't think is working correctly. ;)

But dat Kardashian ass tho...

I fully agree on varying levels of position. It's more incredible to see someone go from the slums to wealth, more so a trust-fund baby establish 5 unprofitable companies. If you're someone who can make success out of adverse conditions, then more kudos to you.

Thanks for the thorough response @guy-fawkes4-20. I'll likely do a near-future one on 'respect' and why no one deserves it until they earn it either. Also, excellent Birdman reference.

Haha, yeah, she might have a great ass, but still, it comes at the expense of other more meaningful things. Btw, weren't you married? Haha, let it for us, the bachelors. :)))

Looking forward to that post, I hope not to miss it, feel free to ping me on Slack or something like that. :D

wow, "Just like you’re innocent until proven guilt, you’re (supposed to be) unremarkable until proven noteworthy." That's powerful. I'll be using that one in the future, if it's ok?

"Some people love eating chocolate cake." I know some of these people - LOL.

Not every one deserves a trophy, for simply showing up.

HAhahahahaha well, if you're able to transform that cake-induced impulse into a productive hobby and impactful career, then that's a wholly different story ;)

And of course, you can snag anything from my online ramblings...

Love it! And couldnt agree more! I love your straight forward approach to writing and living. Gonna upvote and follow you, feel free to do the same!

Thanks for the comment @smylie2005!

workplace-1245776_1280.jpg

Very nice article. ## upvoted

Well put article. I have a different view on the lie about You are Special.

I am a Gen Xer you know the silent generation that created most of the tech advances Millennials are enjoying today.

Anyway, Millennials are special. They are living in a time of so much rapid change and adaptation. No They are not finding the support they recieved in school and from their parents in the Corporate workspace. So they are adapting and forcing Corporations to adjust to their mindset and when they don't they move on.

There is a major shift happing with millennials where they are becoming entrepreneurs and the businesses they are starting and running are online.

I have written an article about millennials that goes against the normal type of articles that are out there.

Would love to get your thoughts on it.

Millennials as Entrepreneurs

Thanks you rock.

Don't be quick to judge. Take a look here for a counter opinion:
http://highline.huffingtonpost.com/articles/en/poor-millennials/

Thanks for the link @stephie.spicer. I've seen that piece and I'm very aware of the real systemic problems facing younger people today. That's the reason why I purposefully don't judge millennials in this post (which others do, calling them lazy, unmotivated, unfocused, thin-skinned, easily triggered, misguided, over idealistic, unproductive, and the list goes on) and instead focus on the attitude and environment in which these millennials are raised.

Thanks for the comment.

Cold hard truths that I can't agree more with. I'm one of the younger generation entering into adulthood and I'm finding that more and more of what my parents have told are in fact white lies made to shield me from the world. I wouldn't say they did a bad thing, since its not too good to discourage a child from a young age, but you're right, a lot of the stuff parents say are untrue.
What do you think is a better way to motivate younger people rather than through these white lies?

We all do things that maybe shouldn't do for our loved ones. I guess that's why we call them loved ones and reasoned ones...

I think, and I'll be testing this out when I have children within a few years, that parents should treat their children like adults from a young age - nurturing personal responsibility, teaching consequence and reasoning, a showing them that they're not really all that special unless they use their time well and make themselves into special people.

I like the last part of what you wrote " they're not really all that special unless they use their time well and make themselves into special people", perseverance goes a long way these days and nothing is made from nothing.

These are the issues I see with our 2 grandchilden, ages 10 and 13.

Seems like used to you married, had children, made comprimises, adjustments and became a family unit.

More recently the pregnancy takes over from day one and the special treatment just goes from there.

Now it is "we" are pregnant, gender reveal parties, baby showers with dad in attendance and paternity leave. You have multi syndromes and Grandparent rules from baby sitting rules, smoking rules, language censorship, gift lists so specific it is no fun, all the way to 8 year olds with cell phones. Nope, not spoiled at all.

I was raised in Ohio and children were a part of the family, not the star of the show.

Thanks for the comment @nananini, I don't think I've learned so much from a comment. Why on earth would the father be at the baby shower?? That's like me wanting to come to my daughter's bachelorette "party"...

I fully agree. Part of the family, not some delicate thing to be protected from all the elements.

Seems pretty accurate to me. The world is a very harsh place and it's even more unfortunate that many can't actually do what they love. Not because they don't want to or lack effort, but most often fall victim to upbringing or the failings of public education and the modern capitalistic society.

A lot this type of generational teaching has made younger generations (including myself) more thin skinned. Instead of people able to stomach adverse situations, we run away to brighter pastures that inevitably dim over time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43