You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Greatest Lies of the Millennial Generation

in #culture7 years ago

Cold hard truths that I can't agree more with. I'm one of the younger generation entering into adulthood and I'm finding that more and more of what my parents have told are in fact white lies made to shield me from the world. I wouldn't say they did a bad thing, since its not too good to discourage a child from a young age, but you're right, a lot of the stuff parents say are untrue.
What do you think is a better way to motivate younger people rather than through these white lies?

Sort:  

We all do things that maybe shouldn't do for our loved ones. I guess that's why we call them loved ones and reasoned ones...

I think, and I'll be testing this out when I have children within a few years, that parents should treat their children like adults from a young age - nurturing personal responsibility, teaching consequence and reasoning, a showing them that they're not really all that special unless they use their time well and make themselves into special people.

I like the last part of what you wrote " they're not really all that special unless they use their time well and make themselves into special people", perseverance goes a long way these days and nothing is made from nothing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44