Crypto Lingo 101

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians ❣️

You might not believe this, but just a few months ago I had a 'normal life'. Between work and the daily routine I managed to spends countless of wasted hours on social media. The norm came to a rough stop when I was introduced to Cryptos then Steemit; I have never been the same since.

The best way I can describe this to family and friends who still find a bit of patience to hear my chatter of this new world, is that is an emotional roller coaster. With all of that aside the most fun part of this was learning the crypto lingo. At first is was a bit perplex. It all makes perfect sense now.

The spike of newbies into the cryptocurrency world spark the idea to put this 101 crypto lingo/term together.
I hope it helps. Feel free to share it.

-ICO : Inial coin offering. A way by which funds are raised for a new cryptocurrency venture. An Initial Coin Offering (ICO)
is used by startups.

-HODL: Hold on for dear life. Don't sell, trade. Love it like your child.

-FUD: Fear, uncertainty, doubt. A free emotional ride that comes with cryptocurrency.

-ATH: All time high. Exactly that.

-WHALE: Wealthy player and also a market mover.

  • PUMP and DUMP: The action that cause ALT to pike in price followed by a huge crash.

-FOMO: Fear of missing out. This can trigger irrational actions.

-ASHDRAKED: A situation where you lost all your money. Worst case scenario.

-BAGHOLDER: Holding for the long term, in hopes to make a great profit.

-BEAR: Negative price movement.

-BTFD: Buy The Fucking Dip (an indication to buy a coin when it has dumped so hard). Something to look forward to like
black Friday.

-BULL: Positive price movement

-DILDO: Long green or red candles, on the a graph.

-DYOR: Do your own research.

-FA: Fundamental Analysis

-MCAP: Market Capitalization. Market value of the company’s outstanding shares.

-MOON: Continuous upward movement of price. What everyone loves to see :)

-RSI: Relative Strength Index.

-REKT :When you have a bad loss. Think of wrecking your car=bad loss.

-SWING: Zig zag price movement or Upwards and downwards.

-SHORT: Margin bear position

-SHITCOIN: A coin with no potential value or use. You don't want this coin to begin with.

-OTC: Over The Counter

Hope you guys found this helpful. If I happened to missed one, feel free to drop a line below❣️

Let all you do be done in love, ❣️

If you haven't seen any of my previous post, click on the links below :)
https://steemit.com/contest/@splendorhub/29rbxc-win-5-steem-contest-holiday-fun

https://steemit.com/travel/@splendorhub/what-i-learned-about-dolphins

https://steemit.com/travel/@splendorhub/what-s-there-to-celebrate

https://steemit.com/travel/@splendorhub/new-seven-wonders-of-the-world

https://steemit.com/animal/@splendorhub/20171220t055010939z-post

https://steemit.com/travel/@splendorhub/1-4-million-go-to-joshua-tree

https://steemit.com/photography/@splendorhub/the-stongest-of-species


Sort:  

Very good. Thank you.

I've stopped going on Facebook. Reading news. Watching TV. I press the refresh button on steemit especially on Haejin's blog repeatedly.
HODL has become my favourite mobile app.

@pmiskeen You've been transform lol Best wishes :)

It's true isn't it... I used to spend so much time on Instagram and now I haven't looked at it for ages...

The formatting is slightly off on P&D, but this is great. I'm still very new to Crypto so this is very cool. It is funny that there are so many immature/young terms for what is essentially investing.

Thank your for your comment. Best wishes :) also make sure to check out the...
https://steemit.com/contest/@splendorhub/29rbxc-win-5-steem-contest-holiday-fun
I appreciate the feedback :)

Aw... this is super cute.
Thanks for the contest details... I'd totally enter but we don't have a tree this year, we'll be away for Christmas... but next contest you hold, I AM IN!

lol this will be my Christmas Steemit tradition :)

Love this! Cryptos changed everything!

Yes it has :) The future is looking amazing. Best wishes to you always! :)

My worldview also changed, its inevitable...

This is just the beginning :) HODL all the way :)

Had a good laugh at some of those... REKT.

I am also a newbie in the crypto shennanigans.. hope for the best!

Thanks for a good laugh.

Good enough :)

Thank you! Cryptos are here to stay and liberate humanity. I hope we can all see it happening.

This post has received a 0.08 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Extremly helpful for a steem/cryptoNoob like me.
Thanks so much!
Best wishes and a small upvote from a tiny fish in Paraguay ;)

@peppermint24 I'm glad this was helpful :) Saludos

Yes it was!
My favorit is ASHDRAKED - when I saw that word for the first time, I thought it was a study subject at Hogwarts or a name of a unknown owl from Dumbledore. Rofl

hehe, yes, some of them are a bit funny.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47