If you're going to HODL; why not earn more - Part 2

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

A while back I wrote about why I personally like holding Ark, Neo and KuCoin Shares. In amongst the various wins was the key to the value I like added to my portfolio....things that earn me more every day I hodl!

The market being as volatile as ever, I started looking at those investments I could make that were not only winners in their target market, but also good earners outside of price per unit value increases.

Not all turned out to be to my liking, but I've grown very fond of some, so I've provided two lists below.

Disclaimer! I'm not a financial adviser and this is not financial advice. You must do your own independent research on any investment you make and should never invest more than you can afford! I hold many of the cryptocurrencies in both lists below so gain from their success. The point is not to shill or FUD, but purely to give insight into my thoughts about different cryptocurrencies. I'm also not talking about price action on these coins, merely their ability to generate either compound interest or additional coinage.

All of those that have made it into either list are great technologies and projects in their own right. Just because some are in the "no longer lovers" list, that's only because they don't leave enough cash on the pillow the morning after.....

My personal top 4 in are as follows (in no particular order as they all have their own merits):

Ark (ARK)

- offline staking, secured on Ledger Nano S and staking returns Ark itself.....compound interest!

Neo (NEO)

- offline staking secured on Ledger Nano S. Gas returned for staking that has a consistently high value

KuCoin Shares (KCS)

- offline staking. Earning KCS and any coin traded on the exchange daily...compound interest!

Safex (SAFEX)

- Not yet released the (alibaba/amazon style) marketplace this coin relates to, but it will pay shares of fees earned from trading in the marketplace along with an initial airdrop of the currency that will be traded in the market

The ones I loved, but unfortunately....we just drifted apart.... (again no particular order)

Decred (DCR)

- Proof of Stake (POS), but works on a lottery system through pooled groups (might not win a block reward). Wallet must be constantly online to stake/enter lottery

Qtum (QTUM)

- POS but requires wallet constantly open. Works on a lottery system

Neblio (NEBL)

- POS but requires wallet constantly open. Works on a lottery system

Augur (REP)

- great concept where you earn REP for performing verification on prediction markets, but the potential returns for verification dropped dramatically a month or so ago before it even got through Beta....

Do you hold any of the coins mentioned here? Do you disagree or agree with my logic here? Leave a comment below or upvote and resteem if you think others might like to discuss these coins or others.

Register at Kucoin.com Here

Signup here to use the free Bitcoin faucet

Visit Cryptocurrency Pro for news, information on trading and portfolio management

Sort:  

As a newcomer it seems ARK is better than NEO. What I have notice though is NEO rises a lot more than ARK so I assume the interest earned is rising too. Hard to decided either ARK or NEO with a small capital to start.

Hi @mawit07 , I don't think it's always that straight forward between the two as they have very different histories and objectives. Neo (previously AntShares) has been around a lot longer and jumped up significantly in price mainly after a simple rebrand to 'Neo'. It was already getting a lot of attention as many news articles were promoting it as the "Ethereum of China". This then led to many in the west wanting to get in on the "China Crypto Boom". Many things came together at the same time for it and it's remained around it's current price since the rebrand. To my mind, Neo is basically an improved Ethereum and I fancy it over Ethereum. Ark on the other hand is a much more innovative and new. It basically wants to be a connector or 'Bridge' between all different blockchains.

There is a clear price difference between the two but if you look back just 2 months on both, you'll see they've had a fairly equal share of increase in value vs BTC.

Ark has a lot of infrastructure and Neo has a lot of community. I can't tell you which one is better, but Ark and Neo are my top two holdings with Ark being 4x bigger in USD value to my Neo position. Both are long-term for me and I'm not worried about either (even when they take a 20% price dive).

I hope this is helpful.

Yes thanks for your openness. I upvoted your post as gratitude. I like Ark too and have looked into it myself. It was one of my first discoveries with DPOS. I have very little understanding of Ether therefore the same with NEO. I know a lot of crypto investors rave about smart contracts and all, but I still need to get myself up to speed with that. I like investing in things that I can understand or at least understand why they are worth investing.

Thanks! Really appreciate the upvote and kind words! I'm right with you on only investing in things you understand and can really get behind. I haven't a single position in my portfolio there just to follow the crowd.

Good thing is, there's a ton of material available on Neo and Ethereum, so you shouldn't find it hard to catch up. There's a good article HERE that summarises well. It's a little dated now after Ether upgrades, but might be good to see where they stood a few months back before the Neo boom.

Happy hunting!

Nice post. I have found that Ark has the best wallet of any crytpo currency that I have dealt with. Ark is an amazing potential in a coin, and the Distributed Proof of Stake in Ark was inspired by BitShares. I like DPOS as a means of income without having to mine or stake.

Thanks @bon07 !

Couldn't agree with you more! There are so many ancillary products that come with Ark and it's so easy to use that I think it's the most user friendly and most useful crypto of the moment. You can't yet buy things with it, but when you can, I don't see many being able to compete.

The team developing Ark have taken some slack over the months for not committing to dates or doing hardcore marketing, but they are actually doing the smart thing and ensuring all the infrastructure is there for users before they go asking everyone to jump aboard.

Take a look at IOTA - it's a great currency with everything making complete sense, but you need a PHD in Quantum Physics to setup a wallet or even just generate a password for the wallet!

I could go on for days here, but I'll just leave it by saying that a lot of cryptocurrency projects could learn a lot by following the example Ark is setting.

I would completely agree. Comparing and contrasting, I bought some Lisk and installed their wallet and transferred some Lisk back and forth between Bittrex. It was significantly slower, and the DPOS on Lisk needed alot more votes to be confirmed. I like both coins, but I have found Ark to be more solid in terms of performance and speed.

Kind of surprised you havent put NAV coin in here, because in addition to POS it already has its own stakebox image thst can be set up on a Raspberry Pi. They also have a premade stakebox available for sale, but the DIY version works very well on its own and the guides are great. Might be able to also stake another wallet on it as well, altho I havent beem able to set it up yet.

Good point @iwatts79 ! I haven't yet owned NAV, but have been tempted to buy in many times. I believe however that the staking works with an open wallet only and again runs on the lottery system where you have a chance to win a block depending on how many NAV you're staking?

Please correct me if I'm wrong there as I'd genuinely like to understand it more and gave up trying the last time I tried to look into it.

Great price action on NAV if you got in a few months back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cryptomagic to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 0.34 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @cryptomagic.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60412.47
ETH 2375.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62