How Cryptocurrency Makes For Great Conversation Starter

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

This week, I've had two separate instances where crypto-talk yielded incredible conversation from strangers.


As any crypto-enthusiast knows, the opportunity to talk shop with someone new is always exciting. I sometimes get the sense that crypto is like the reverse of Fight Club, where the first rule of crypto is to talk about it with whoever is willing to listen.

I certainly don't like being the guy who is always talking about crypto, boring the hell out of anyone who isn't hodling. So when I get the opportunity to talk with someone who is just as enthusiastic as I am...well, I run with the opportunity.

This week, it happened on two separate occasions. The first was with a Lyft passenger I drove to Denver airport early in the morning. Anyone who's been to DIA knows just how far away it is from the city, which gave me a nice ride total as well as a 40 minute window for conversation.

Usually, the conversation with a passenger will fade away within 5 minutes, as we soon realize we don't have a lot in common or the other party isn't that into talking. In this situation, it was the opposite, as we probably could have continued talking long after the ride ended.

Anarchaforko was the topic that got the conversation rolling.


Seeing as my passenger was flying out that morning, I brought up the fact that I was going to Acapulco soon due to winning a contest sponsored by SmartCash. I had a feeling the guy might know a bit about crypto, and sure enough he was heavily invested.

Meeting someone who is also passionate about blockchain and crypto-related topics is like meeting a long-lost friend, someone whom you immediately share a deep connection with because of their involvement in this space.

I've noticed this has happened several times with other people, where the mention of crypto leads to a deep conversation that normally never would have occurred.

This happened again while skiing


A chairlift is always a prime location to spark up a conversation with strangers. You're both stuck on a lift for about 10 minutes so you might as well share some words before you head back onto the slopes.

On Friday, a friend and I were at Keystone, trying to take advantage of some rare fresh powder in what has been a disappointing ski season. We soon struck up a conversation with the other guy on our lift, and what do you know: he is a massive crypto-enthusiast.

Predictably, we spent the rest of the ride discussing our hodlings and what projects we are passionate about. Of course, I mentioned Steemit and SmartCash, and he talked about his favorite projects. We ended up skiing a few runs together before going our separate ways, but not before exchanging contact info.

We intend to meet up in the future to talk shop as well as just have a beer and shoot the shit. Crypto truly has the ability to connect people in ways I never thought possible.


Title Image
All uncredited pictures from pixabay.com or my personal account

If you received value from this post, please upvote and resteem. I reward all intelligent comments with my full upvote :)


My latest Posts

Classic Hits

Sort:  

I go to university and it turns out a lot of other people here are invested in crypto so there are always people you wouldn’t expect who are also invested in crypto! One of the RAs for my building is invested in crypto so I’ll talk about it whenever we have a housing meeting for whatever reason lol

Ha, that's great! Crypto-people are hidden in plain sight, and often from the most unexpected sources.

Usually, you can sense a crypto-vibe...

Exactly! Also I have left little crypto-breadcrumbs around that only people involved with cryptocurrency would pick up (having a binance graph open on my laptop on my desk or something) and the enthusiasts tend to reveal themselves on their own lol

heh, that's what the guy on the ski lift say he does all the time.

I recently bought a SmartCash shirt so I'm definitely just coming out and saying it lol

yeah everyone one is invested in cryptocurrency when market go down so no one say i invest in the cryptocurrency but when market rise so everyone say i invest @colinhoward

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30