How to Stop Wasting Time [Be More Productive]

in #creativity6 years ago

What an unbelievable evolving creation is OUR internet!

Source

The other night I spent nearly 2 hours in an argument that only led to insults and hatred. Fair enough, I started it by posting something of sensitive nature on facebook, but it was a simple opinion of vocabulary. I do admit, I did it to get people to bitch a little, and not giving much importance to politically correct speech, I thought it would be fun to see what would happen.

Well it wasn't fun at all, I was insulted and pulled into a ridiculous argument which had nothing to do with the original post.

I will spare you the details, because they are irrelevant to what I want to share with you today. While I have already spent more energy than I've wanted to on this matter, the argument did bring up an extremely important and positive lesson.

steem line.png

Stop wasting precious time online:

I have created a method for managing my time spent in front of a screen that works for me. Use it as you wish, adapt it to what feels natural to you, but make sure it works to your advantage. I try to spend my time online only doing the following.

1. Grow your Intellectual Capital through education.

Source

There is a concept I have recently been introduced to, it is called the 8 forms of capital. Our intellect, our knowledge base and wisdom have more value that we give them credit. Learning is a basic human instinct, perhaps the only one we have left, other than breathing and eating. Don't be afraid to use it!

The internet is full of great information. Just learn to sift through the noise and you will find what you need. Anytime you have a question, it can be answered. How to videos have flooded youtube and other platforms alike. You could literally give yourself a full education without the burden of student loans!

2. Find Inspiration, Give Inspiration.

inspirational-lettering-background_23-2147750298.jpg*Source

Everywhere we look we can see inspiration. If you know what your passions are, it will be easy to find inspiration, so figure out what they are ASAP. Take that inspiration and embody it. Once you've learned to take it all in, you will start creating and inspiring others. Giving is important, one feeds the other.

3. Create from your Passions.

Alex_Grey-Godself.jpgAlex Grey- Godself

If I am not learning something I want to create something. In this digital world, living in New York City, you see most people walking around with their heads bowed, faces glowing a white-ish blue... It seems like the **Zombie Apocalypse ** has arrived! Why not write your thoughts, a poem or a new concept you want to develop further? You can draw or learn to draw and do it on paper. Blogg on Steemit, have constructive conversation in your favorite chat rooms...

Point is, there are a million things you can do to grow your creativity on the web. Time is a precious commodity and we should really start thinking about how it is spent while we're online.

4. Interact Within the Sphere You've Created.

shutterstock_171250028.jpgSource

The idea behind all this is that we need to stop wasting time online, as precious of a technology the internet has become, it can also be a very dark curse. The sphere I have created here I believe will work for me. What I have shared today is merely a collection of ideas and preferences that help me reach a personal of becoming more productive. So please do use it if you find it useful, but feel free to tell me what other tricks you come up with to have more productivity while online.

5. Drop facebook and whatever other social media platform that suck you in for hours on end.

20180216_143149.jpgI just had to take a photo of this piece when I saw it... Damien Mitchell

Sometimes a lesson needs to be drilled into our heads in strange ways... Since October 2017 when I joined the Steemit family, I pretty much dropped out of facebook. Apart from using it to promote the things I am involved with, I haven't interacted very much with the cute puppy videos, the gossiping feed or any of the unpaid high value content that you can find once in a while.

@Papa-pepper has the perfect gif and quote at the bottom of his posts that explains what I'm trying to tell you about these other platforms (I hope he won't get too mad I'm showing it to

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com

How do you manage your time spent online?

steem line.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @stranniksenya
After all, a dream will remain a dream, if you do not start doing anything.

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are very welcome! Don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

The Tree of Life, or Etz haChayim (עץ החיים) has upvoted you with divine emanations of G-ds creation itself ex nihilo. We reveal Light by transforming our Desire to Receive for Ourselves to a Desire to Receive for Others. I am part of the Curators Guild (Sephiroth), through which Ein Sof (The Infinite) reveals Itself!

Thank you very much!

So hard to get out of the scrolling habit on FB. I wish I could leave it for good but I just can't yet, many of my art collectors only follow me on there and only prefer to communicate with me on there. Problem is I DO waste a lot of time on there scrolling, and usually end up feeling worse after, not better. I see so much crap from 3 days ago, posts I've seen 3 times, posts about friendaversaries of friends and people I don;t know that I ALWAYS hide but somehow FB still puts them in my newsfeed...Steemit is so much better I just wish it had an easy to use chat like facebook used to before messenger

It is very hard. I still with using facebook as a promoting tool is amazing but you're right it is easy to get lost in scrolling world...and than an hour has passed by!

Someone told me about algorithms that eould show controversial posts to those who argue the most first.

I totally believe it, and also as I'm scrolling,the few comments that show, are usually people arguing...

yep exactly... I dropped out of the conversation I had started on facebook that made me write this post. But once in a while if I see a good friend or family comment on it, I look but I am able to not get involved in the gossip somehow

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SenorCoconut from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Really inspiring post. Steemit has generally been so productive for me as I've found awesome ways to be creative here. I spend less time on TV and games now, and it feels good to be productive. It's pretty much the only social media platform I use and I do try to incorporate all your points in my usage of it. Nice little reaffirmation that I'm on the right track, thanks for sharing!

Yea Steemit has helped so much as far as being creative...and I'm sure the rewards play their part in the insentive to create great content. I am also doing so many more things I had neen wanting to do in the creative sphere... I'm loving it.

I'm glad I could be inspiring and reaffirming. It feels good to see that! Thank you

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 10.41% upvote!
I was summoned by @senorcoconut. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67