How I make Kimchi! Fermented cabbage never tasted so good!

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

I LOVE KIMCHI!!

I saw this little jar of red cabbage in the grocery store one day, and being an adventurous taster, I bought it and my life has never been the same!
P1050126.jpg

I could eat this stuff ALL DAY LONG.

BUT
At $5 for each small jar, I would go broke!
I have no self control; if I try real hard, I can make it last me 3 days...

I decided I need to learn to make it myself.

So here you go, without further ado, here is how I make kimchi.

Start off with a head of Napa Cabbage.
Slice it lengthwise into quarters. Remove the core. Chop each quarter into 2 inch sections.
Place the chopped cabbage into a large bowl. Sprinkle with about 1/4 cup salt. Work the salt into the cabbage with your hands until it starts to soften.

P1050107.jpg

Cover the salted cabbage with water.
Place something heavy on it to hold it underwater. I use a plate with a heavy measuring cup of water on top and it works great!

P1050109.jpg

Leave it there for an hour or so.

While you are dying of impatience for the cabbage to finish soaking, you can mix up the next part.

You need a tablespoon of grated garlic and a teaspoon of grated ginger.
I like to use my husband's small blender to make grating easier. I'm lazy like that...
P1050113.jpg

Put it into a bowl or cup:
P1050115.jpg
Pay no attention to the amount; I was making a very big batch. Also, I love garlic!

Mix in a teaspoon of sugar, and 2-3 tablespoons of fish sauce, (weird, I know, but the flavor in the end is great!).
Mix in 1-5 tablespoons of Korean red pepper, and make a paste.
P1050118.jpg

This is the magic ingredient. I have used regular red pepper flakes in the past and it was NOT THE SAME.
It was okay, but not the magic kimchi that I love.
P1050123.jpg
By the way, if anyone knows what kind of pepper this is, please tell me! I want to grow it!

Once your cabbage is done soaking, you need to rinse it 3 times, and then set it in a colander to drain.
You are supposed to let it drain for 20 min, but I can never wait that long...

When you cant take it anymore, put the cabbage back into the salting bowl, (now wiped dry from the salt water).

Get that glorious red paste out and dump it onto the cabbage and start mixing it in with your hands.
Keep mixing until it is very well spread throughout the cabbage.
P1050127.jpg

Now it's time to pack that mixture into jars!
I just use random jars I have saved...
Pack it in and press it down well. Juices should start coming up. Leave an inch of headspace.

P1050129.jpg

P1050131.jpg

Now comes the excruciating part.

YOU HAVE TO WAIT 5-7 DAYS BEFORE IT WILL BE READY!!

Check on it every day. Open the jars to release the gasses and press the cabbage down into the brine.
You can taste it each day and when it tastes right to you, pop it in the fridge!
They say it tastes best if you let it sit in the fridge for a couple weeks, but lets be real here, you know darn well it won't last that long!
At least, in my house it doesn't.

Some notes:

  • This is a simple kimchi, just cabbage. There are versions with diakon radishes, scallions, etc, added.
    I tried regular onions once, but I didn't like how they came out. One day I will try the radishes and scallions!
  • Do not use iodized salt! It will inhibit fermentation.
  • Do not use chlorinated water! It will also inhibit fermentation.
  • Some people like to use things other than fish sauce for flavor, such as kelp powder, shrimp paste, or oysters.
    I started off with the fish sauce, and liked it, so I have not tried the other things.
  • Like I said above, the korean peppers are key to the neat kimchi flavor! You can use red pepper flakes, but use less than the recipe says, (they are hotter). It is good, but not nearly as good as the korean pepper.
  • You can use gloves when mixing the cabbage by hand. I don't but sometimes I end up wishing I did...

The batch pictured is not quite done yet! I have been fermenting it on the counter three days so far.
I cannot wait to eat it though!
You can see how the brine has risen and little fermenty bubbles are everywhere...
P1050152.jpg

Well, there you have it! This is how I make kimchi at home, saving me tons of money! No more $5 small jars for me!
Although, I have to admit, I did buy one jar to hold me over until this is done fermenting! The wait is killing me!

This is a result of looking at many kimchi recipes online and doing what works for me. I highly encourage looking up multiple recipes and seeing if you want to add, take away, or change anything. It seems to be a pretty forgiving thing to make. As long as you have the basics, the end result will be fine.

Hopefully you enjoyed!!
Thanks for reading!

Homesteaders Online

Sort:  

Very Nice! We make sauerkraut. Momma will want to try this. Thanks!

I tried to make sauerkraut once, but it molded!
I really need to quit being a wimp and try it again...

I love kimchee, too! I just can't handle the hotness of the peppers anymore. Boooo. yours looks delicious. It IS a really expensive product to buy, isn't it?

Oh no!! I dont know what I would do without my spicy foods! 😱
Thanks! I havent tried this batch yet, but I sure am hoping it tastes as good as it looks!
Its so expensive! Im not sure why... Maybe the fermentation process makes it more difficult to mass produce?
Thanks for the kind comment!!

Sometimes I brave it, but unfortunately I'm mildly allergic which means my inside cheeks and tongue begin swelling. I'm absolutely heartbroken over it!! I'm a huge fan of most Asian food which uses a lot of heat. I wish there were a mild pepper that tasted like the Chili's used. I think they probably make it small batches and the consumer market for it is not huge in some areas. Yet it is a Korean staple, but there aren't a lot of Koreans where I live so it's a novelty unless you go to the Asian market. The one I go to has 3 entire glass door fridges full of it!! A one gallon jar is like 30 bucks. A pint 5-6 bucks. Worth it, tho unless we make it ourselves. Plus Napa cabbage isn't cheap here either at 3-4$ a pound. I'm sure there's also stricter regulations on making and selling it since it's a raw fermented foodthats not pasteurized.

Oh man... Yeah, I wouldnt want to eat it either, if I started swelling up!
Nuts!
I was shocked when I saw Walmart carried it, but it is too expensive to buy on a regular basis. Thank goodness it is not too hard to make! Napa cabbage is a little cheaper here, and luckily one head makes quite a bit.
Not to mention, fermented foods are good for you!
That's true, I bet fermented foods do have special rules and hoops to jump through...

there's someone at the farmer's market that sells this, and i still haven't tried it. i'm such a baby when it comes to heat-spice!! one of these days i want to try this with something milder.

ooh!! a quick wiki-search tells me this:
Baek-kimchi - or white kimchi - is made without the chili pepper powder, has a mild and clean flavor; made with salted napa cabbage, radish, minari, spring onions, Korean pear, chestnuts, jujube, ginger, garlic, salt, sugar.

thank you for the motivation to try something new, @squishysquid!

Haha, give it a try! Maybe you'll like it!
Thanks for the tip, Ill look up the Baek-kimchi and maybe make it sometime too! Sounds good!

That's the kind I make! I made 6 qrts mid December. I'm through half of them. It's also called white kimchee. I didn't post how I make it yet but there was a picture of mine on my https://steemit.com/food/@phedizzle/santa-delivered-shrooms-shitake-oyster-scramble-recipe post. It's yummy but does miss that same flavor. However I want to experiment using a paprika paste

Oh neat!!
Well if you ever make a post on how to make it, i would love to see that!!
Sounds good, and i bet paprika would be a good addition that is not too spicy.

I'll have to show my hubby this recipe. He also loves his kimchi.

If memory serves, I believe @hethur240 mentioned she was trying to grow the correct peppers for this. I'll bet she'd know or could find out.

Oh really?! Ill have to ask her, thanks!!

My brother was stationed in Korea in the late 60s/early 70s and his tales of real Korean kimchi and the odor it emitted while it was fermenting rather discouraged me from ever trying it!

Hahaha!
Well I just have my kimchi and Walmart's to go by... so I do not know how authentic mine is, but I get the odor issue!
Last night right after I opened all my jars to push the cabbage down, my husband walked into the room, wrinkled up his face, and said, 'What's that SMELL?!"
LOL

Just a thought, we fry the cabbage hearts. I wonder if we use those along with some other cabbage parts will work as a sub. Will let you know.

In case anyone is curious, I found some seeds for supposed 'korean kimchi peppers' on etsy, thanks to a tip from a Mother Earth News article...
I dont know yet if they are right, but I am going to have to get some and try them!
I bet homemade korean pepper powder is better than what you can buy!

https://www.etsy.com/listing/168840522/kimchi-traditional-korean-variety-chile?ref=shop_home_active_11

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60