You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I make Kimchi! Fermented cabbage never tasted so good!

in #cooking6 years ago

there's someone at the farmer's market that sells this, and i still haven't tried it. i'm such a baby when it comes to heat-spice!! one of these days i want to try this with something milder.

ooh!! a quick wiki-search tells me this:
Baek-kimchi - or white kimchi - is made without the chili pepper powder, has a mild and clean flavor; made with salted napa cabbage, radish, minari, spring onions, Korean pear, chestnuts, jujube, ginger, garlic, salt, sugar.

thank you for the motivation to try something new, @squishysquid!

Sort:  

Haha, give it a try! Maybe you'll like it!
Thanks for the tip, Ill look up the Baek-kimchi and maybe make it sometime too! Sounds good!

That's the kind I make! I made 6 qrts mid December. I'm through half of them. It's also called white kimchee. I didn't post how I make it yet but there was a picture of mine on my https://steemit.com/food/@phedizzle/santa-delivered-shrooms-shitake-oyster-scramble-recipe post. It's yummy but does miss that same flavor. However I want to experiment using a paprika paste

Oh neat!!
Well if you ever make a post on how to make it, i would love to see that!!
Sounds good, and i bet paprika would be a good addition that is not too spicy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74