STACH Short Story Contest #15: 199 words.|Christmas Special, everyone wins.

in #contest6 years ago


Hello Everyone, @kingst here with the announcement for the STACH Short Story Contest #15, Christmas edition where every participant will win.


What is a Short Story.

A short story is a story with a fully developed theme but significantly shorter and less elaborate than a novel. It makes use of plot, resonance, and other dynamic components to a far greater degree than is typical of an anecdote. You can read it in less than 90 seconds.

Contest Rules:
•Write a Short Story based on the topic that will be given every week.
•Write an Original Short Story (Plagiarism will be flagged and reported).
•The Story must contain no more than 199 words.
•One entry per user.
•Contestants are permitted to post their stories in an article on their blog, so they also get upvotes.


Winners Selection.

Winners will be selected based on the topic, story plot, number of words and delivery as determined by the selected Judge. One word above 199, disqualifies the entry.


Contest Topic.

Write a 199 words story based on the title, When Christmas comes calling.


PRIZE.

For this contest which is the Christmas Special, every participant will win once their story meets the requirements as stated in the contest rules.
Good luck guys!


Sharpen your writing skills and throw in some inspiring short stories. XO!


STACH is a physical Accelerator Hub dedicated to decentralizing the offline by breaking the barriers to accessing the internet like light, internet and conducive working space.

Steem Accelerator Hub... decentralizing the offline!
follow_STACH.gif
STACH is supported by @Sndbox as a Sndcastle project.Stc.JPG

Sort:  

When Christmas comes calling

The harmattan breeze blew angrily, leaving chills in its trail, Chidinma knew what it brought, there was no doubting the fact that Christmas was around the corner; she could smell it in the air. This used to be her favorite part of the year. The extended family always come together for the holidays and mama played host. She made Christmas come alive; she had a way of making things happen, it was a gift. Papa used to say she was the very life of Christmas itself. From the delectable cuisines to the colourful Christmas decor, from the fun filled competitions to the carols she held, Christmas with her was an exciting experience. Because of her, when Christmas came calling, everyone responded. As Chidinma stood by her window observing, she could feel the emptiness; mama was nowhere to be found. Everything looked empty without her; the decor, the laughter, the food, the carols and the competitions. They tried to continue the tradition, but it was nothing like her's. It was like the life of the celebration was snuffed out. Since her demise, Christmas has never been the same.

Mhen, you always do this. I just love your story

Your story is lovely

If you win this time, don't forget me o, lovely story sha

@vwovwe, your story line started happy but ended sad, why did the mother have to die...

Guy, it's fresh, I like it

Cool write-up, hope it's fictitious @vwovwe, Christmas shouldn't be a season of sadness

cool story bro. hope you win

@vwovwe i like your story

@vwovwe the writer, I thought you wouldn't enter for this competition

@vwovwe, your story is awesome

Well @vwovwe, your stories are nice.

OK, I like it, cook write up

She didn't have to die, your story ended on a sad note

@vwovwe, you just dey pack comments, you na celeb o, anyways your stories are always nice

You always win @vwovwe, I like your story line

Fresh @vwovwe, good writeup. Happy new year

When Christmas Comes Calling

The morning air was brisk and chill with the memory of the night before as Suzie strode down the crisp empty street. The houses were just waking, as she scurried by.

There was already a que outside the little building tucked behind the church. Gloved hands pulled worn, oversized coats close against the bitterness. Feet shuffled in the frost, stamping out the creeping cold. It was December 27th, and the small army of volunteers who had surprised her the two mornings ago, were nowhere in sight.

Suzie sighed to herself, she couldn’t resent them for it, turning up one day a year was much better than not at all, although she also couldn’t help but wish that they didn’t all have to turn up on the same few days. In the run up to christmas, donations has been flying in, tins stacked high, small mountains of coats and scarves, and the voluteneers! They came in such numbers the whole week before Christmas, arms laded with donations, hearts brimming with good will.

Christmas had come calling, and it had been so generous, but just as it came, it had also gone, and Suzie once again, manned the soup kitchen alone.

When Christmas Comes Calling
Morning. Christmas.
I was in the end. All these years and now, there was no road ahead. I had arrived final destination of the internet. Here where light doesn't shine on me anymore. What was I again? Just an empty bag in front of my screen.
Is now the moment when death angel comes and put his hand on my shoulder, saying that my time has come? Nothing. Only bright sunray shines through the curtains, dividing my room into two. Same time giving hope to me, that just maybe, there is something more behind the screens. Because however, it had to be living on the other side of windows. You could hear the voices down the streets. There can't be just me and screen and this room, that thrives me sometimes so despair.
But sometimes, particularly on that day, was darkness darker than himself. Moments like these were a screen, my savior. Matrix what saved me from the ancient evil. Only one click with the mouse and you're gone again. I was saved. God himself awaits me in front of gates of paradise and I had to choose just YES or NO.
Angellious sounds. Internal life. Nude bodies.
Of course, there was this tree and these luscious fruits in the garden what was forbidden to us. Only place. But I was following just this idea. Little worm. I wanted to take a look. Peek on the distant, that garden of forbidden. Wasn't the gate half-open then? What a tree. So big, so mighty. Branches projecting to the blue skies.
Serpent. Slithering in the branches. Idea. Sin. Take this fruit. Put it in your pocket. Red apple. I was feeling blood roar in my ears. Ancestors flickering. Paradise started to fall apart. Wind surged through a hurricane and I hit my teeth on the apple.
And here I was, sitting in front of my screen again. My computer was crashed, demanding restart...

You guys are doing wonderful job in bring more people to steemit n giving them a source of income

My Memories

When Christmas comes calling my heart is filled with the joy of sharing the holidays with my loved ones, as relatives who live in other cities visit us for these dates. The house is filled with the bustle of children and my mother prepares delicious meals for everyone.

But also when Christmas arrives I feel the nostalgia of sharing the holidays with relatives who are no longer physically with us, I especially miss my dad, who was a wonderful father and would have been a very loving grandfather. On christmas eve I pray for him to be in a good place and I thank for all the blessings received during the year, I also pray for the homeless so that they have something to eat and for their children to receive a gift from Santa Claus.

When Christmas arrives, the family is the most important thing for me, the most beautiful time of the year.

Life is Short

Fernando is a businessman, for him money is the most important thing and he spent it without measure. He bought his wife and children a huge house and everything that money could buy, but he did not have time to spend with his family; his multiple meetings and constant trips would not allow it.

For Christmas Eve he had planned a meeting with some investors and was going to spend christmas eve out of his home as it used to happen every year. The scheduled day he took the plane to Spain, the flight was fine but when the plane was arriving, there was a failure in the landing gear and the plane almost crashed into the track, there were shouts and Fernando thought he was going to die. On his mind he saw his family and for a moment he reflected on how short life is and how much he wanted to spend it with his family.

In his heart he felt the call of Christmas and immediately took the first plane home to spend the holidays with his family.

Erick's hope

It was very cold, and the streets were full of snow. Erick spent another night sleeping among cardboard for warmth, behind a dumpster in an alley in the city.

Erick went from being a guy with a lot of potential to be a great engineer, to living in the streets, because of drugs and bad decisions. Erick in less than a year became an indigent more.

His disheveled appearance, dirty and smelly, away from anyone who approached. Erick what little he got was spent on drugs, and he usually ate what he got in the garbage cans.

One day Sister Anne, saw Erick and was moved by his situation. For weeks he was in charge of talking with Erick and advising him to ask for help to detoxify from drugs.

When Christmas was coming, Erick was cleansed of drugs and little by little with the help of the church, and the sisters went back to school.

Upon graduating and getting a job, Erick every year at Christmas helps people who were like him to get their lives back. Love, kindness and generosity are the spirit of Christmas.

When Christmas Comes Calling
It is a new day where I awake with life and I give thanks for that, I go out and can only see people doing last minute shopping, food, clothing and toys are the protagonists on these December dates. I have the feeling that my family is united, I feel peace and a lot of tranquility to see my children happy. It is a moment where I want good things, good vibes, prosperity and love go with me.

The atmosphere is cheerful, children run, jump, play and live like never before. I breathe without stress, I feel the freedom and the time to enjoy every second, reflect and create new life projects. Beautiful memories come, sad, happy, of the years lived and the experiences gained.

My mind automatically shines with habits that are sometimes obscured by the bustle of day to day, habits that only the arrival of something magical nourishes them and brings them afloat. I ran and opened the door of my room immediately, and yes, it was her….. So cute, fresh and beautiful as always, Christmas!!!

tren humeante.jpg

Dream on Christmas Eve

Sitting in an old train carriage, I see through the window the enormous mountains and I see as the road shortens towards the arrival of my destiny, I leave behind my burdens and sorrows to find happiness; the desire to be with the most valuable of my life makes all the effort have sense.

Suddenly I hear in my head toc toc, - I am Morpheus, I come to take you the kingdom of dreams; in a magical act my eyes close and I fly to a world of fantasy where I find myself at a large table surrounded by banquets and candles, I see my children waiting the time for open your gifts, my wife invites me to the table, and whit tenderness tells me: - Welcome!

The clax of the locomotive announces the end of the road, the old iron wheels stop abruptly, I awake I did not have time to say goodbye to my family; I open my eyes and the first thing I see is, the person in charge of announcing the arrival, I take my bags I'm heading towards the exit and ask: - ¿What day is today? one lady replies: - It's December 24th "Merry Christmas"

Image source: http://tusprimerasletras.blogspot.com/2010/11/el-viejo-tren-por-manuel-cubero-urbano.html

They quarreled two days before Christmas, telling to each other a lot of unpleasant, painful words.

The first day Olga was weeping whole day, but on the second day she went out into the street.

The street was full of music, Christmas trees, lights, banners and laughing people.
They were so happy, carrying gifts, looking forward to a joyful holiday.

It hurt her especially to look at the enamored couples. How Olga wanted to be at this Christmas with David! And gifts ... David promised her a big teddy bear, as she had in her childhood ...

But Olga decided to stop suffering and tried to seem happy and behave as if there was no quarrel at all.
She bought some of the Christmas decorations and the most delicious food that David loved.

At home he cooked David's favorite special Christmas meal and made a beautiful hairstyle.

On Christmas Day Olga put on her best dress and set the table.
She was not surprised at all, when she heard the doorbell.
She knew exactly who it was!

She opened the door: David smiled guiltily on the doorstep...

He was holding flowers, bags and a big teddy bear…

happy-2222222222222-3333333333-44-5555.jpg

https://steemit.com/contest/@ir3k/stach-short-story-contest-15-199-words-or-when-christmas-comes-calling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68775.79
ETH 3844.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66