Music Challenge: What was your first Bonding Song? 10 SBD Contest.

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

contest.jpg

Source: Pixabay (https://pixabay.com/en/medal-award-reward-business-3176450/)

During my extremely boring 2.5 hour drive to work this morning, the audiobook I was listening to finished and the car audio system reverted to playing music from my rather large USB repository.

A song played that I associate with the first song that I ever bonded with, and that got me thinking.

For most, your first song may be something embarrassing or cheesy. Let’s face it, you may have been 5-6 years old and hardly a music pundit. ‘Shaddap You Face’, ‘Star Trekkin across the Universe’ or ‘Agadoo’ could be yours.

However mine is quite a respectable being, ‘That Same old Feeling – Pickettywitch’.

My Story:

I begged my parents to buy this record for me and they did. Maybe it was the name of the band that attracted me; it’s a little quirky. As I grew older and lost interest, the record found its way back into father’s collection. I didn’t want to be associated with ‘that’! However, I remember reaching my late teens and started to take an interest in this ‘older music’ and grabbed it back! It wasn’t so bad after all, after another listen.

Do I still like the song? Yes I do, it’s old and a little cheesy but I could have chosen a lot worse.

I have been away for a long weekend and a few author rewards have been added to my account so I thought I would give a little back. I am giving away 10 SBD, but instead of having 3 or 5 tiered prizes I am going to give away 20 smaller prizes of 0.5 SBD.

I know this is not a lot but I feel everyone has a chance of winning a little something just for writing a small article regarding their first love of music.

writing.jpg

Source: Pixabay (https://pixabay.com/en/filler-fountain-pen-pen-leave-3363661/)

If you have a single musical bone in your body, then tell us all which song was your first? What is your earliest music memory?

Here are the rules:

1) Ensure one of your hashtags is slobberchallenge. It doesn’t have to be the primary tag. This ensures I can find all the competition entries.
2) You must up-vote this post and leave a comment with the link to your article about your first bonding song.
3) I’m not asking you to resteem my post, but I would appreciate it (this is optional).
4) If you can source one, add a YouTube reference to your song (in your article, not here) like I have above. We all want to check out your ‘first song’, don’t we?
5) Write a short paragraph or two about the earliest memories of the first song you ever loved, and let us know if you still like it, or not! Use the template above or something similar.
6) Your article must be English Language.

7) Put a link in your article that refers to this article. Eg... the main challenge is here! https://steemit.com/contest/@slobberchops/music-challenge-what-was-your-first-bonding-song-10-sbd-contest

If you are not a native English speaker, I welcome your challenge to enter this contest. This is not just for English speakers. I want to give back something to everyone. If you make the effort, then I will add you to the potential winners list.

Just for clarity, this is for ANYONE to join.

Winners will be chosen from anyone conforming to the rules (1-7 above) and using the ‘random number generator’ that @thedarkhorse has been using for this recent contests.

I will deliver the prizes in the form of 20 x 0.5 SBD rewards to your Steem account, and post them publically to the bottom of this article on Sunday 6th May at 20:00 GMT.

If this proves successful I will host another music contest with hopefully yield bigger prizes in the near future.

CONTEST IS NOW CLOSED, WINNERS WILL BE ANYONE WHO ENTERED AS THE 20 PRIZES OF 0.5SBD WERE NOT ALL CLAIMED.

Winners as shown above.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Heeey what a nice ideaaa!! Can I participate?? I totally love music and I have been thinking for my perfec song and have a few in mind.

Good luck everyone with this :)

Of course!, anyone can enter.. just leave your link and add the slobberchallenge #hashtag.

Oh, man, I am going to write you a post. It won't be in time for your contest -- which is just fine. But this brought up such memories!! So look for it. A stand-alone among the crowd. Kind of like me.

The-STEEM-Engine

Forget the music angle, why on earth do you have a 2.5 hour drive to work?

P.S. The sweaty guy still scares me.

I work away during the week and have to stay away for 3 nights, so Monday is my travel day. It sucks but it does pay well. As for mr sweaty, I feel he is now an embodiment of myself, and we have merged somewhat.. :)

Star Trekking... I haven't heard that song in forever! Good stuff!

Dont get me started with another Earworm :)

You started it! There's Klingons on the starboard bow... :)

My first musical memory was Jeff Wayne's War of the Worlds.

https://steemit.com/slobberchops/@steddyman/jeff-wayne-was-the-first-music-to-really-get-into-my-head

I was only about 10 years old and I found it completely enchanting. It transported me into a vivid world and epic storyline and I can remember how it made me feel even now .

@slobberchops your bond music stick to you, not sure why. But I think it some how meant alot to you. Or affected your life so how.

This is my entry
https://steemit.com/music/@dannytroniz/luky-dubeback-to-my-root-or-music-of-my-soul

Great, Ill have a listen later when I'm able to!

Never heard of the one you chose pal (showing your age lol). Anyway here's my attempt :)
https://steemit.com/music/@steemonkey/my-first-musical-memory

I know, Im positively ancient... dont forget to add the hastag, #slobberchallenge. You can append it after your initial post.

I put it in the body of the post. Is it supposed to go where the tags go? Not used a hashtag on here before :)

Your current tags are:

Ok I'm getting confused between tags and hashtags. As there's no hash on those I didn't know where to put a hashtag or indeed if there is a difference. Thanks.

Just edit your tags and remove life, funny, blog or competition and replace with slobberchallenge

I love the classics 😍
I need to read more from you @slobberchops
Followed>Resteemed 😀
Btw I’m entering your contest 😀

Great idea for a contest!! My first is a little embarrassing, because it was Super Super Man of Miguel Bosè! I was just 11/12 years old and my mom thought it as my first crush for a singer and maybe it was ^_^ I prefer to think about the second: Blue Jean of David Bowie ;)

Go ahead and do a post, the more the better, otherwise Ill not have enough applicants!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11