My First Musical Memory

in #music6 years ago (edited)

This is a response to my friend's #slobberchallenge in which he wishes people to write a short piece about their first musical memory. I have also resteemed his post so you too can enter if you wish.

It's 1975..I'm almost 4 years old and a band called Typically Tropical (I think) release a song called 'Barbados' or 'Whoa, I'm going to Barbados.' I'm standing in the living room in my pyjamas listening to this song on the radio dancing like crazy; wearing a smile that feels like it will stay there forever. My dummy (soother to my US friends) falls out of my mouth and rolls behind the TV set. I crouch and slide my head beneath the TV to retrieve it. I grab it...plug it in again...and when I try to remove myself from under the TV my head is jammed underneath. My sister who would have been 11 or 12 at the time tells me that the fire brigade are going to have to come and cut off my head and sew it back on again. This doesn't go down well with me at all. I begin to freak out and after a couple of minutes realise that I only need turn my head sideways to extracate myself from the position.

Maybe it's the combination of the joy of the song being quickly juxtaposed with the horror of being beheaded that makes this very early memory stand out for me. I smile broadly when I hear the song today but do then check my neck for scars lol.

Here's a link to the song from that youtube site

Enjoy your day friends,

STEEMONKEY

Sort:  

intro unique,, but the music so relaxing

Weird the things we do and don't remember. You've planted an image I know will return next time I'm unfortunate enough to find myself in the presence of this track, which remains as irritatingly catchy as ever. Btw: Coconut Airways, what happened to them? :o)

Hehe..there's probably gonna be a few more tracks like that in this competition. Maybe best to stay at arms length lest your mind be cluttered with annoying tunes for the next week or two :)

I can resist anything except temptation, as Oscar once said.

Then prepare yourself for the inevitable spasmodic nostalgic befuddlement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64187.97
ETH 3476.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49