Weekly redfish / Newbie mixer and SBD giveaway

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20160816_121647282-1.jpg

Feel like a little fish in a big pond?

Welcome to the weekly mixer just for you.

The purpose of this contest is to meet new people, have exposure for something you created this week, some wonderful conversations, and a chance to win SBD.

Sometimes really cool posts get lost in the flood of posts especially for those of us that are new and don’t have a large following or cannot afford advertising. I would like to give new users a chance to have some of their work viewed by a larger part of the steemit community and also a chance at some SBD both for entering and also commenting. Everyone says comment, comment, comment… So this week I am changing the contest to make 2 different winners, best post and best comment.

Payouts

  1. Best post by a redfish = 40% of SBD payout from this post
  2. Best comment = 25% of SBD payout from this post
  3. Redfish interact prize = 10% of SBD payout split up between all redfish that link and comment but don’t win.

To enter the contest:

  1. Post a link to 1 thing you created this week and a quick description about content… the description is not necessary but helps draw people in.
  2. Read a post by at least 2 other contestants and comment on at least one that you really liked or felt motivated to respond to.
  3. To be eligible to win best post you must be a redfish (less than 1000SP)
  4. Up-vote your favorite comment or comments to help someone win the comment side of this contest. Not a requirement, just a really nice thing to do. Plus it helps if I am stuck on choosing the best.
  5. Single photos and memes don't qualify, looking for written content.

To win the contest:

  1. The best comment will be decided by myself.
  2. The best post will be awarded based on the number of votes a post receives.
    Each comment is worth 1 vote for the post. Each upvote is worth ½ a vote for a post.
    Here is an example

contest photo.png

If we use this example: @Jessandthesea would get 3 votes.
.5 for bryarose23 + .5 lildebbie +.5 royaleagle +.5cygon from upvotes plus 1 from comment

The fine print...
Contest closes a week from today, the sooner you post the more likely you are to get more votes.
An upvote is not required to join this contest but, as the prize is a % of the SBD payout it is encouraged that you upvote and resteem to increase the prize payout.
Payout will be within 24 hours of this posts expiration and will be in a winners post.
PLEASE DO NOT ADD BOTS THAT COMMENT TO THIS POST AS IT DISTRACTS FROM WHAT WE ARE DOING

Sort:  

I am entering with this post and it is an informative way to keep your sanity when you are running too many posts and have to reply ;)

Love the contest and good job!!!

Burn is a free form poem about fire, in more than one sense.

I like all of the descriptors that you use, they really brought the intensity of the fire to life. The motivation for starting the fire was very clear and I can't help but side with your protagonist!

I always have liked that one. You should post more of your poetry.

I agree with @bryarose23 the scene and intent were both clear to me

I'm trying to vote but it won't load or something.

Here's my post about the epic festival I am going to this weekend!

I hope you are having a blast at love burn. I would love an opportunity to go to a burning man festival. I was not aware that they had mini burns, I will have to look into that. I think the flag you are taking to the mini burn is cool. Although I am trying to figure out what those things are under the bagel. Anyone else have a guess?

Instead of crossbones it's knives with schmear (cream cheese)!

Gday Steemians, my content is about the month that lead up to me being diagnosed with Leukemia when I was a kid... Also a big shoutout to @royaleagle for the #minnowsupport.

https://steemit.com/life/@danjo1984/childhood-cancer-and-me-part-1
Daffodil.jpg

I'm so not emotionally prepared for these kinds of posts, I've went and read it it was quite long Hahaha, I wish the next parts would be a good ending 😅 with you fully healed

@jysui I'm 110% :-) thank you for your kind words.

Followed you after reading your story, looking forward to the next part of the story and hoping that it will end great with you having fully healed or have fully overcame that trying stage of your life.

Thank you for the kind words. i wrote part 3 last night (probably the hardest to write so far). and thanks for the follow

Thanks for stopping in an entering our weekly contest. I clicked your link, read the title, took a deep breath and said to myself not sure I am emotionally prepared to read this. I read all 3 chapters and will be back to catch the 4th chapter. I know it's not in part 1 but I laughed when you got to the part about the "dirt not coming off".

Wow really? Thank you for reading them. My mum and I still laugh about the 'dirt' to this day. I left out the part that I was in the bath at the time and she had pretty much taken a kitchen scourer to head... lols :-) ...Thank you again and I'll let you know when I write part4

Part 4 is up if you would like to check it out, I wrote it a day or so ago.

My post is a brief introduction to the mythology of Erebus, the primordial god of darkness.
erebus coment image.jpg

Is that how you see yourself?

No @erebus prefers pink polka dots... but he couldn't find that skin.

I do like pink, not a fan of polka dots though...
dusty.jpg

haha... I didn't know you found that picture of me on the internet.

Dusty? My god man, we all thought you were dead, why didn't you come back in the rumble?

shsss... don't tell anyone but I faked my death... Too many girls were chasing me for my good looks and of course style ;)

That does seem to check out. You been watching Cody?

Vince could really be a shithead.

Could be? I think you mean always is.

Nah, I'm shorter.

I didnt know there were gods that were older than Zues. I thought he was the father of the rest.

Common misconception.

That was a very nice logo you designed very cool choice of colours and top points for simplicity too!
very STEEMIAN of you to mention and feature your friend's work in your post. That's some team spirit!

https://steemit.com/art/@krishnendukj/girl-and-her-puppy-digital-art-an-process

poorva potrait.jpg

Its a post of my artwork and the process that goes into creating it.

Upvoted and resteemed your post. :)

Welcome! I really like art and your picture caught my eye. That is a really cool way of immortalizing your friends.

You never clarified if votes for yourself will count towards the score, or if you did, I missed it.

Also you said,

Up-vote your favorite comment or comments to help someone win the comment side of this contest.

But unless I am again mistaken you meant "to help someone win the post side of this contest," right? Because best comment is chosen by yourself?

Votes for yourself will be subtracted from your total. You will get the system payout for them and more votes makes you more visible. Thanks for asking for clarification, its best to sort this out now. 😊

One more clarification @lildebbie's reply to you counts towads the total count but your sub or any sub-response to hers wouldn't count. As that is interacting with her commment not your post.

Is that how you see yourself?

☝️vote


Nah, I'm shorter

No @erebus prefers pink polka dots... but he couldn't find that skin.

☝️ subs dont count as a vote for best post but, do qualify for best comment.

https://steemit.com/nigeria/@oladayoamusan/no-chair-no-table-having-a-chair-and-table-in-your-school-is-a-great-privilege-i-cant-cry

I discussed the situation of the school i currently serve, the situation there is worse and they need help, can you imagine students sitting on bare floor without chairs or table in class to learn?

An interesting picture of what life is like for those less fortunate.

Often, the more dire the situation, the more rewarding it is for those involved

Those born with a silver spoon in their mouths usually don’t appreciate the value in the simplest of things while those who struggle appreciate every little thing that comes their way

Famous Sayings Their Origins and Their Significance to My Life is about one quote of Oscar Wilde about love and my own interpretation of it.

Great read, I remember reading Dorian Gray as a teenager, and always loved Wilde's work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71