Childhood Cancer and Me (Part 1 The Diagnosis)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Daffodil.jpg

Greetings Steemians,

I thought I'd write about a time in my life, which shaped who I am.

Well this a hard subject to approach. As I come to think about it, this will be my first ever writing of this life experience.
Do I start with the diagnosis, should I start at the end and work back, maybe a Quentin Tarantino approach and start in the middle? All of these would be a good starting point, but the beginning as a 7 year old kid is probably the best.

Every time I think back, I realize how lucky I was. I was 7 turning 8, no real care in the world, why would I? As long as the sun came up in the morning and Mum and Dad were there at night, life was good.

Beginning March 1993 - It started with temperatures and pain under my jaw, not to much at first but enough to create the need to visit the sickbay. Also enough to create a divide in the school staff, as to whether I was chucking a sicky or not. After a week or so of this, the school principal and teachers were moving from suspicious to concerned. The temperatures were steadily rising 37 degrees C, 38 and so on.

Early March 1993 - The time had arrived for the first doctor visit. With temps rising well towards 38-39 degrees C, and myself feeling like a slow cooked stew, we see a doc. After a what should've been a thorough assessment by a skilled and well educated individual, we're suddenly back out the door with a box of antibiotics and tonsillitis diagnosis.

Mid-Late March 1993 - Well back in the saddle again, and back in class. You'd think that the pale child with temps nearing 39 to 40 degrees, might have sparked some curiosity amongst the adults. Eventually the principal could not ignore the near death child in one of her class rooms and went and bought a thermometer to check my temp. At a surprising 40.1 they believed it was in their best interests to call mum.

End of March 1993 - As we approach the doctors for the 2nd round, I still have no idea whats going on, all i know is something feels terribly wrong. I still remember the doctors waiting room, the color of the walls, the smell of the antiseptic in the air. After being ushered in, and quite promptly being turned around and sent back out with a script for some painkillers, and a "It's just his 8 year old molars coming through, and he has an infection."

At this point, I'd bet you're impressed with the skills these doctors displayed and wondering what of my parents? Where were they, surely they were aware? Due to the unhealthy working life most people have to lead these days. They worked full time from 7am to approx 7pm at night. With the time I would finish school, I was so doped up on pain killers, that the symptoms were not as severe at night,

Good Friday 1993 - Doctor #3 by this point was passed concerned to frantic as I had a top temperature 41.4 and 42 degrees celsius is brain dead. Mum went straight past the waiting stage, and right into "You need to blood test my son now!" After a quick needle in the arm, and a urgent phone call to the pathology lab, off home we go.
Later that night, the eerie ring of a 90's model telecom phone rang across the house (Aussie reference). Some instructions were given, Mum, with which I can only imagine must've been the heaviest of hearts, came into my room and packed a bag for me. TBC.Daffodil.jpg

Sort:  

It always amazes me how cancer can go undetected for so long, even when doctors are in the picture.

I've written a little more, sorry it's not massive, but I've never been much of a writer

One of the worst parts was, my Mum was an oncology nurse and she had sort of guessed what was going on, but none of the doctors had really listened to her, until she lost her temper the 3rd time.

Yeah, I had similar things happen when my late husband was battling cancer. He was just 32 when diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer. I had to lose my temper a few times before things got done. :( On the bright side, we were blessed to meet some amazing doctors and nurses along the way.

That's so young, I'm very sorry to hear,. I also had the opportunity to meet some wonderful nurses and doctors, and a lot more great people whom I'm still in contact with today through Camp Quality.

Yes, way too young. On his death bed he was begging to stay with the kids and I. What made it all that more unfair was that he'd never smoked a day in his life. Five years later...I'm doing pretty good. I still grieve the loss on a daily basis, but it's not nearly as sharp and the nightmares are gone and the PTSD type anxiety in the night is gone. It was a rocky road for that first year after his death because a man that had been stalking me in my early 20's came back and was threatening to kill my kids. I almost think that's where the night time anxiety came from the most because I was living on my own while the death threats were happening so I would wake up to any little noise prepared to go to war to protect my kids. Anyway, God has been so incredibly good to me through it all and now I am remarried to an incredible man who loves me so much and loves my kids as his own!

We had a very similar story with one of our friends he was 27 just gotten married and was diagnosed with advanced lung cancer, and past away. He'd never smoked either. I still have the nightmares 20+ years later. I'm sorry to hear it was such a rough time for you, but also glad to hear that you've found a wonderful man and life is back on track. Much love for sharing with me thank you.

Does anyone know what is causing that cancer? The oncologist here in the states said it has hit mostly 20-30 something males...sure seems like there should be a link since it's not connected to smoking.

My mum's an Oncology nurse, and they still have no idea how/what/why causes them. There is ideas that High Voltage powerlines are one cause, then processed foods, or the other big suspicion is it's hereditary.

Incredible so far, look forward to reading more, musn't be easy to write about something so difficult.

Thank you. I was scared of writing about it, as I wasn't sure how the STEEM world would respond, but with such kind words from everyone I'm looking forward to writing part 2.

@gio6 I've written a bit more if want to read it.

Great thank you, it really is something we can relate to the "sickbay", Doctors not listening etc, and Mum always knowing best

nice post @danjo1984 thanks for sharing with us....

Thank you, I'll try and write part 2 in next day or so.

Part 2 is up if you would like to have a read.

what a great information source. i hope every other user starts to generate posts like you do......

Thank you so much for your kind words.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Danjo1984 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66436.09
ETH 3439.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65