Review my short speculative fiction novelette and win 20 STD.

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

I have been posting some of my fiction on steemit and the payout for a few of my chapters was really good. As a self published indie author though, however much I like appreciation of my work in a monitary way, what I really like is honest feedback on my work. As after two novelettes, I am now working on my first full sized novel that I want to make as good as possible, I could realy use honest but constructive feedback on my last novelette Ethereal Pixie Rings Of Mercy. So after some contemplation, I decided to try for this little SteemIt lotery. Review my story, honestly and constructively, and you could win 20 STD. I am currently powering down to fund this lotery, I hope I can now get some people to participate.

Ethereal Pixie Rings Of Mercy is a 8000 word speculative fiction story about an angry atheist finding himself in an unexpected afterlife. I've posted the story in different installment on steemit, starting here with Chapter One. To enter the lotery, you should do the following:

  • Read Ethereal Pixie Rings Of Mercy
  • Write an honest review of the story as a comment to this post.
  • Include an artistic depiction of my story and increase your chances.
  • To double your chances of winning, also post your review on Goodreads, Smashwords, Barnes & Noble, Kobo or iBooks, and add a link to that review to your comment.

As for the nitty gritty details of the lotery rules:

  • A review should be at least 20 words long. It should be honest, constructive and refrain from insults.
  • Posting a review will get you three lotery tickets, one entry per steemit account.
  • Adding an artistic depiction of my story with your review will get you an other four lotery tickets. They also reduce the 20 word wordcount requirement down to 5 word.
  • Upvotes on your review will get you one additional lotery ticket per upvote.
  • A link to a review on Goodreads, Kobo, B&N, Smashwords or iBooks will double the amount of lotery tickets you receive.
  • The lotery will comence at whatever comes first:
    • The total number of participants reaches 20.
    • If on juli 9th the number of participants has reached at least 10, or when it reaches 10 after that data.
    • If on August 1st the number of participants is 3 or more.
  • The winner will be determined by a fair draw and will receive 20 STD.
  • If by August 1st there are only two contestants, then 13.333 STD will be distributed between them according to the ratio of their respective lotery ticket counts.
  • If by August 1st there is only one contestant, then that contestant shall receive half the price money, 10 STD
Sort:  

Now closed for new entries. The winning lotery number will be determined by using the modulus 16 of the witness signature for steem blockchain block 14180000 that should be up in a few hours. That is, if the last character of the witness signature is 0,1,2 or 3, the $30 SBD will go to @alokkoshal, if its 4,5,6 or 7, the price will go to @doughtaker, if it's a 8, a 9 or a letter, @mcdevlin182 will win the $30 SBD.

Very interesting story @pibara. I actually wrote the first review for your story on Barnes and Noble.

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/reviews/ethereal-pixie-rings-of-mercy-rob-meijer/1122410134?ean=2940152056693

"Ethereal Pixie rings of Mercy" is a thought-provoking story that takes us on a journey through the questions of life, and then to the outreaches of the unknown. David is a very engaging character that struggles with what he has been taught in life, and he ultimately feels the need to question what he can't see. He soon discovers that life's answers aren't so easily defined or theorized.

Assigning your entry the numbers 008,009,010,011,012,013,014 and 015. Tuesday winning number will be determined by the witness signature of the first Steem blockchain block with a block number devideable by 10000: https://steemit.com/steemit/@pibara/using-steemd-com-to-run-a-lottery-type-competition-on-steemit

Good luck.

Hi @mcdevlin, I'm currently running a (monthly) beta reading lottery on some of my own writing. This month is off to a slow start. If you enjoy beta reading, maybe you would like to compete. The total prize money for this month is $23.5 SBD

https://steemit.com/contest/@pibara/beta-reading-contest-ragnarok-conspiracy-part-three-usd23-5-sbd-in-price-money

Ethereal Pixie Rings of Mercy is a fascinating story about mathematician David's life-long work to prove specific concepts about life and afterlife, and what becomes of that work. As the disease that took the lives of many of his family members comes to take David as well, he seeks out his former protege Naila to continue his research after he departs from the realm of the living. But after David dies, he finds himself in an afterlife that he thought didn't exist; everything he knew and believed in while living is contradicted in his new existence, known as the grid. Earth and the grid are apparently linked, and David struggles to understand and adapt to this new reality. What he learns is eye-opening, and leads him to question other things from his time on Earth. What will become of his daughter Angelique, who must face down the same disease that took David's life? And what further progress will Naila be able to make on the work that David started?
The twists and turns on David's new path of discovery will keep readers in anticipation of what happens next in this novelette.

Assigning your entry the numbers 004,005,006 and 007

First of all I have rated the book on goodreads, didn't knew how to post a review though....

My review :
I found this story very amazing as with so much sufferings David continued his tremendous work but was unable to complete it... Though naila played a vital role at last. There is everything in this story that makes me continue reading and it connects with the reader very well. The End was brilliant and all its credit goes to the author. :) the connection between David, naila and Sarah is explained really well... Thanks for sharing this amazing story

Assigning your entry the numbers: 000, 001, 002 and 003.

Entry cannot be edited as it is 16 days old.... After payout entries cannot be changed

Hi @alokkoshal, I'm currently running a (monthly) beta reading lottery on some of my own writing. This month is off to a slow start. If you enjoy beta reading, maybe you would like to compete. The total prize money for this month is $23.5 SBD

https://steemit.com/contest/@pibara/beta-reading-contest-ragnarok-conspiracy-part-three-usd23-5-sbd-in-price-money

Hi @gdreyer, I'm currently running a (monthly) beta reading lottery on some of my own writing. This month is off to a slow start. If you enjoy beta reading, maybe you would like to compete. The total prize money for this month is $23.5 SBD

https://steemit.com/contest/@pibara/beta-reading-contest-ragnarok-conspiracy-part-three-usd23-5-sbd-in-price-money

This is not really a review; it is mostly just some thoughts the story provoked.

As the author warns, this is not a story for anyone, of any religion, whose mind is closed to exploring and playing with ideas - even those that may seem to encroach upon beliefs. After all, if a belief fears being challenged by ideas, then surely it would not be correct to name them "beliefs"?

I enjoyed the complexity of the characters, for they are what is required by their life and world. The skeleton of the story is complex and some parts of it do not have a sharp end to them, they fade off so that I get the feeling that if I explore them, I'll find myself being led into new realms where fantasy teases at reality, so that it is impossible to know which is which.

I have lived beyond my first, second and, in some cases, my tenth impression of how and what life is, so I can empathise and identify with the three main characters. It is how life is for all people who do not easily accept their own conclusions, always hoping for a deeper insight.

To end off; I had a thought after sitting back to consider the story. I imagined myself in Amsterdam (the Amsterdam of those years when I used to visit) and I am sitting in one of those coffee shops where they offer, with the coffee, a 'cigarette' or 'cookie', with both of marijuana. I go from table to table and offer all of them a printed copy of this story and soon many are immersed - and probably chain-smoking as they grow excited. As some laugh, I know why, for the story has those parts that catch the reader by surprise - as in the part where he talks about the failed second coming.

By the time I leave the coffee shop, I know I have left behind me a number of people who love the author, Rob J Meijer, for bringing to life some of their smoke-induced dreams.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48