You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Review my short speculative fiction novelette and win 20 STD.

in #contest6 years ago

This is not really a review; it is mostly just some thoughts the story provoked.

As the author warns, this is not a story for anyone, of any religion, whose mind is closed to exploring and playing with ideas - even those that may seem to encroach upon beliefs. After all, if a belief fears being challenged by ideas, then surely it would not be correct to name them "beliefs"?

I enjoyed the complexity of the characters, for they are what is required by their life and world. The skeleton of the story is complex and some parts of it do not have a sharp end to them, they fade off so that I get the feeling that if I explore them, I'll find myself being led into new realms where fantasy teases at reality, so that it is impossible to know which is which.

I have lived beyond my first, second and, in some cases, my tenth impression of how and what life is, so I can empathise and identify with the three main characters. It is how life is for all people who do not easily accept their own conclusions, always hoping for a deeper insight.

To end off; I had a thought after sitting back to consider the story. I imagined myself in Amsterdam (the Amsterdam of those years when I used to visit) and I am sitting in one of those coffee shops where they offer, with the coffee, a 'cigarette' or 'cookie', with both of marijuana. I go from table to table and offer all of them a printed copy of this story and soon many are immersed - and probably chain-smoking as they grow excited. As some laugh, I know why, for the story has those parts that catch the reader by surprise - as in the part where he talks about the failed second coming.

By the time I leave the coffee shop, I know I have left behind me a number of people who love the author, Rob J Meijer, for bringing to life some of their smoke-induced dreams.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54