Beta reading contest Ragnarok Conspiracy : Part three; $23.5 SBD in prize money

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Last month the second installment of this monthly contest/lottery, once more gave me some great and very usable feedback on part two of Ragnarok Conspiracy. Again, just like the first round, there were only two contestants, @bashadow and @doughtaker.

Against the odds, at a probability of just 3.3%, @doughtaker had a true lucky streak and won each of the seven draws.

This month we move to part three of Ragnarok Conspiracy. In this part of the novel, four years after the events in part two, the copyright wars are over and the post-war world is enjoying a relatively low-tech peace. Robert, Pete's little brother sets off on a bold adventure and in doing so sets of a series of events that ends up tightening the connections between the lives of the people we met in part one.

Like in the previous installments of this lottery, I am looking for beta reading style feedback on my draft chapters.
This month there are ten prizes to be won:

  • A $ 1.5 SBD prize for each of the chapters.
  • A $10.0 SBD prize for part two of Ragnarok Conspiracy as a whole.

In February, after the last of the five parts, there shall be an extra lottery with an extra prize that your entries will automatically compete in:

  • A prize consisting of 500 SP, delegated for six weeks, for the book as a whole. This one won't be a @croupierbot lottery. This prize will go to the suggestion that I would consider hardest to find.

So how does it work? Below are links to each of the six chapters of part three. I need you to beta read them. If you see anything that needs improvement, check the comments first to see if you are the first to notice. If you are, create a comment.

If it is a useful and constructive comment and not a duplicate, I will upvote your comment and my upvote will equal you receiving one lottery ticket. I now know about the quotations issues, so you don't have to point these out again, but all other improvement suggestions are still welcome.

You may enter up to six non-duplicate comments per chapter. More upvoted comments mean a bigger chance of winning. You may also comment on this post. Once for each chapter, you commented on. If I upvoted any of your comments on the chapter I will also do so here.

On the 1st of December, I shall call in @croupierbot on each of the chapters, AND, on this post. The bot will draw the winner.

If a chapter or this post receives comments with less than the minimum of two upvoted contestants, there will be no lottery draw. In that case half the prize money will go to the one and only contender and the half that wasn't paid out will be added to next months draw.

I hope to run a beta reading contest each month for five months in a row. One contest for each of the five main parts of Ragnarok Conspiracy.

Oh, and remember, I am looking for constructive criticism. Not for praise. I want to learn what needs work so I can improve my story and make my first Novell, as high quality as I possibly can.

Have fun reading and good luck in the lottery.


Part Three: Robert

  1. Carnage
  2. Soviets
  3. Debrisphere
  4. Roughnecks
  5. Fiat 500
  6. Lecture
  7. Caverns
  8. Cipher
  9. Confrontation

--

Cover art by Keith Draws.

Sort:  

@croupierbot lottery 12.0 STEEM

OK, I have drawn the winner.

The winner of the draw is @doughtaker .

This winner has been drawn using block 17695100 as anounced in this transaction in block 17694971.

While in no way required, a tip by the winner @doughtaker by means of an upvote of this post would be highly appreciated.

Hi, @pibara

Thank you for inviting me to this page.

I am your friendly incorruptible croupier.
I am here to help with the impartial drawing a winner from the following contestants:\ :

The block number of the current head of the block chain is 17694967.
After block 17695100 is added to the blockchain and becomes irreversable, I will anounce the winner using the witness signature from that block.

Chapter 9 done and commented upon.

Chapter 8 done and commented upon.

Hi,
I'll take a look, but if I like the story, I am more likely to read all the published parts of your novel. There is no way I would be satisfied just reading a part of a good story.

I can make a comment regarding his contest. You keep on using the word 'price' where you mean 'prize'. Price is what it will cost me, prize is what you are offering to the winner(s).

I looked and tried a few paragraphs, as you can see on the page. I ignored your wishes regarding duplicates because I withdrew from the competition and so should not affect the others.

Once this is over and if you wish me to take another look at what will then be the adjusted copy, I will gladly do so, just for the pleasure of doing so. When you publish the final copy, I would love for it to be the best version possible, so please do not hesitate to let me know where to pick up the adjusted copy.

I must add, not only are you going to be a good and successful writer, but your willingness to take risks and try out original ideas for improving yourself and, I presume for the marketing, is going to guarantee you a success.

When you want, let's talk about an idea I have for selling stories without us depending on certain negative aspects of steemit. I am not looking to be in control, I just want it DONE.

Hi Arthur, I'll leave this post upvoted so you still compete with your chapter one input in tomorrow's draw. Good luck.

Rob

I re-read all these parts, a few parts I did not see anything that needed fixing. And really I think all I found was a couple of typo's.

Chapter 5 done and commented upon.

Congratulation on winning pibara's @croupierbot lottery with this comment.

Chapter 1 done and commented upon.

Chapter 7 done and commented upon.

Chapter 6 done and commented upon.

Chapter 2 done and commented upon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57962.42
ETH 3050.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25