One Day in 2040

in #futurechronicles7 years ago (edited)

June 25th 2040
Today it all went to hell. I am so glad I still have you from the days the world was analog. I could never afford to buy a full book of blank paper at today’s prices. In fact it’s going to be hard to afford anything after today. It happened, the company finally started to use the AI robots I built on the EOS network and the damn machine took my job. He finished 19 more units just today and it took me almost a year to build just his mainframe not alone the rest of him. That’s twice I lost everything to an AI. First it was my wife to that super sexbot that @mobbs released publicly after many years of private rentals. He got super rich then ruined my life as he got richer.

I’m not sure what to do, I keep trying to drop the toaster in the tub but the built in safety features using Ethereum have made overriding the safety cutoff impossible. Even jumping off of the building doesn’t work anymore as the automated safety nets just spring up out of the street. I really hate that we have went full digital and all of our personal choices have been taken away. Everything is coded and unchangeable.

I guess I will go to the service center tomorrow and just ask to be reset or apply for the bionic implant program. There isn’t really much left to do with my life since I missed all the early crypto buys and there is no way to make money now unless you sell to science what is left of your human features. I guess life will be easier if I just get programed to repeat the same functions every day.

Goodbye Journal
Sort:  

You destroyed my life, stole my wife and you have such a sexy eye.

It's not my problem that my bot creations are irresistible, get over it! Move on. Julia says hi.

Thank you for your entry to the One Day in 2040 writing contest :

Unfortunately this is too short to qualify at present. The minimum word count for the contest is 600 words. Will you be able to extend your entry?

Hmmmm. I will have to unkill myself and extend it........

Congratulations @ifartrainbows! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36