I'm Sorry, I Didn't See You There! @OriginalWorks Writing Contest #1

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

I'm Sorry, I Didn't See You There!

@OriginalWorks Writing Contest #1

By: @Lymmerik



Most of the time, I wear flip-flops. Today, though, it was drizzling rain and flip-flops are slick on the sidewalks of Tucson during monsoon season, so I was wearing my tennies. I can never tie the strings tight enough and they always come untied.

image.jpeg

Image Credit

I tripped over the string of my right shoe while walking down 4th Street, almost falling flat on my face. I dropped my phone into my pants pocket. I was only knelt down for three seconds, but it was long enough for this guy to trip over me.
"What the..." He grumbled. "I'm sorry, I didn't see you there!"

"It's these shoes, they come untied all the time." I replied, looking up. "Ummm...is someone there?"

"Hello, I'm right here...on the ground...beside you..." He said sarcastically. "Oh, you're the new guy, aren't you?"

"New guy? No, I've lived here my whole life." I answered.

"You've never been invisible before, have you?" He questioned.

"Wait, what?" I questioned his question.

Really, I wasn't out in the heat that long. It was blazing hot that July day. I guess maybe I had.

"Invisible! You...are...invisible, so am I!" He boasted. "It's really very cool. It takes a little while to realize that you are invisible, sometimes days, until you bump into someone who is also invisible."

"But why would I be invisible?" I asked.

"Well, when was the last time someone spoke to you? I'm sorry, I'm Bob."

"I'm David, oh, I don't know, yesterday?"

"Dave, see, you're new." He instructed. "You are invisible because, like the rest of us invisibles, you've become obsessed with your phone. You're just walking down the street with your head in cyberspace while the world passes you by."

"Guilty! One time I walked into a No Parking sign and knocked my..." I looked up and there he was. "I can see you..."

"See, it just takes a bit to really see who's around you...hey...look at the time, gotta go, nice to see you..." He said, walking off.

As I watched him walk away, he took his phone out of his pocket and slowly faded from sight. I reached into my pants pocket, took out my phone, entered my password and turned and walked away. Poof!

The End

Thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings!
@Lymmerik

Here's a link to @OriginalWorks Fiction Writing Contest #1

image.png

image.gif

@OriginalWorks

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lymmerik to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks writing contest!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

@minnowbooster,
Awww, a selfgoat! Thanks you.
@Lymmerik

Awesome picture! I really like how it fits in with the writing theme!

@gniksivart,
Thank you for the awesome compliment. Much appreciated!
@Lymmerik

This post has received a 2.97 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @lymmerik. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3358.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49