1K Wednesday Contest : Tell Me About Your Greatest Scar!

in #contest6 years ago

Woot woot! I reached 1k followers to date! I am glad and delighted upon seeing my followers reach this milestone and because of that, I am finally up to my first ever Steemit contest! It's my first time to host a contest so bear with me if ever I miss out something.

I don't want to really stress myself with hosting a contest. I know that it would be hard to read all blogs if I would require one so I am giving that as an option instead.

Thanks to @mermaidvampire, I am using her previous contests as the guideline to create this. So, the contest will have the following criteria:

Tell me about your greatest, most unforgettable scar!

SCAR.jpg

Image by @panoramicview

In 30 days time, I am going to celebrate my first anniversary after being operated for Ectopic Pregnancy. It was a dramatic experience for me and my husband because we prayed for a baby but unfortunately, it was a failed pregnancy.

I never thought I would go through that procedure, two and a half hours in the operating room was a pain, I had been shaking as a side effect of the general anesthesia, I couldn't feel any pain but I felt really really cold. It was almost an hour of shaking and I was delirious, I want to close my eyes and sleep so I won't see any of what was happening although the doctors had placed a piece of cloth in front of me so I won't see what they are doing, still I could see shadows and the other nurses walking back and forth, I could hear them talk in our vernacular and I can sense them slicing through my skin but I can't feel any pain at all.

But I couldn't sleep, as per the doctor who gave me the anesthesia, I am not allowed to sleep but I kept begging her and finally she agreed. I woke up right when they were stitching the wound and the anesthesia was already fading so I felt the pain of the needle piercing through.

I sometimes would find myself laughing whenever I remember that operation. It was my first ever operation and the scar that it left in my tummy is a remembrance of that bad dream but don't get me wrong, I had already accepted all that had happened.

To all the moms, soon to be moms, the single mamas, the women who lost theirs too like me, a snappy salute to you all for being strong!

Tasks:

So, it's time for me to know your own scar. Don't be shy about it. I have a lot of scars too and I laugh and sometimes cry whenever I reminisce about each of them. Most of them I got from childhood when I was carefree and didn't think of the future but nonetheless, my childhood was a joy to remember.

You may create a post if you want but a comment is what I prefer. And yes, you can add a photo if you like.

The most impressive and winsomely presented for me will win. Yes, I am also the sole judge to this so I will do my best to read each comment!

Upvote and Resteem are not mandatory but to help me increase the prize pool, please do so and also that others can join as well!

Prizes:

3 SBD for the Grand Winner
2 SBD for the 2nd placer
1 SBD for the 3rd

50% of the SBD payout of this post will be shared among the participants! So obviously, this will run for 7 days, I will be posting in the coming days a blog featuring the entries as well to encourage others to join too!


Please join and help me make this a success. In the future, I will surely host more contests! This will be my debut and I hope that I will receive entries or else, I will join myself and give the prizes to myself. LOL!




@JUNEBRIDE

"Joy comes when we don't give up on Love." - Tony Meloto







Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box. To make this easy, click HERE instead.

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Sort:  

Later is now na pala haha!

My scars and the reason for them pales in comparison to those who commented above. There is nothing great about them because just like you they are just from childhood days of silliness lol!

I have a scar that runs my entire thorax from just a few centimeters from below the center in between my boobs (hihi) to an inch from my belly button. I was climbing a mango tree one summer vacation in my aunt's hometown. It just rained then and me and my new found friends decided to climb that one particular mango tree. It was slippery and I slipped cutting myself from the head of nails sticking out in that tree. It ripped my shirt and my delicate tender Johnson baby skin. I was crying but more of worry because my shirt is totally torn in half. I was worried my aunt will get mad at me. I was clutching my shirt as I went home accompanied by my friends. How supportive they are but I am sure curious as to what would happen to me and wanted to watch as I get scolded or worst spanked lol!

I was grateful though that my aunt was patient with me. She assured me it will be okay and attended to my wounds tenderly and lovingly. I was awed by the brightness of the blood against my pearly white skin haha! Lucky for me the nail did not go further down for it could have hooked my belly button and pull it out. It was unimaginable what else could have happened.

I have another scar but that will be for another day, another post :D

haha, your story made me laugh not because you were hurt but with the way you described your delicate skin... I guess kids before in our generation were really silly and carefree.

Your story reminded me of my neighbor friend who just got circumcised. All children were jumping off this concrete spot nearby the beach as it was high tide. He was really eager to jump too despite his situation. Then while he was climbing up, he slipped and his p***s got hit by the concrete steps. It was bloody after!

I hope it was still attached? lol!

i guess so.haha

My greatest Scar.
In 2011, I got selected in prelimnary medical test after my one year extreme hard work. I have burned tons of midnight oil to achieve it. It was do or die situation for me because my mom once told me the day you will be selected will be the happiest day of my life.

To make my parents proud and to secure my future i left no stone unturned to reach the goal.When I joined medical college life was going smooth and happy when I noticed that my vision was deteriorating. I was already putting on glasses but vision deterioratiom was a new mishap.

When I told my parents they took me out of state in our country's advanced eye hospital and there I was diagnosed to have an uncurable progressive degenerating terminally blinding disease of retina and doctors there told me ** We are sorry as there is no treatment available for this disease**.

Chill run down my spine and I was shattered by roots and branches. I started crying my eyes out. But nothing helped me. Finally I decided to quit my studies but finally I realised, that is not the solution. I was seveely depressed and dumb for about year. I later consulted psychologist for councelling to alleviate my depressive amd suicidal thoughts. I came out of depressive state keeping one thing in mind--let me enjoy the life as long as I can see.Why should I spoil this life for something dark to come.Let me sum up by saying

Age wrinkles skin but worries wrinkle soul.

plz pray for me.

wow thanks for the story dr! Its good to know you had survived that depression. indeed, we should enjoy life. thanks for joining!

Ay gusto ko ung contest. Haha. Pwede bang scar sa puso? Charrr. Hahaha. Pero wala naman katuturan mga scar ko...

My greatest scar/s would be my chicken pox scars. Got them when I was in my early 20s and so some of them became keloids on my neck and some became pock marks on my face and others are just scars or white and dark spots on my body. Oh my poor pretty face... Hahaha. Kidding.

Anyway all of these are my greatest scars and I live with them everyday.

Am not really vain to go and have a dermatologist do something about it. I mean, I'd rather spend money on food. :P Most are not really noticeable or bothersome anyway and I think only less than 10 is noticeable so I just let them be.

Congrats on the 1k followers!

thanks for joining sis! I got a few chicken pox scars too! But I felt like they are my birthmarks..haha so I live with them and no one had really asked me as well about it. I guess they are already aware that I got them from chicken pox.haha

20180523_093417.jpg

Oh, wait. Is this not the "Show your extra bellybuttons" contest? Oops! My bad. 😜

I know you're wondering what in the heck is that? Well I shall tell you.

First let me say I had a plethora of scars to choose from. I have been a lifetime chronic kidney disease patient and that adds up to a lot of surgeries resulting in scars. My abdomen looks like a road map with lines and squiggles going this way and that way.

Anyway, about these two funny little crater-like scars. This is where I had a catheter placed for a type of dialysis called peritoneal dialysis, or for short PD. I have two holes because after about a year one just fell out! Imagine my horror! So another was placed in.

This type of dialysis, this PD allowed me to do my own treatment at home. This was so important to me. Autonomy in your own healthcare equals longevity and more importantly adds to your quality of life.

I was on PD for 16 years, but because I was doing my own treatment at home it still allowed me to work full-time, to travel various places, and spend time with the people that are most near and dear to me.

I appreciate you holding this contest and I must say your own scar story tugged at my heartstrings.

wow! thanks for joining! I can't believe I am getting a lot of entries in just a few hours after posting this.

by the way, I must say that you are just a good writer! I am in awe of the words you used.

I have known some cool kidney patients here on this platform and I really pray that each of you will be given long and quality life.

Honestly, before reading your comment, I already thought those were bellybuttons! Good to know that you are able to perform treatment at home. It lessens the stress of going to the centers every now and then.

Thank you again for your entry, first entry with a photo! Thanks a lot I appreciate it!

I have a scar on the left side of my neck. This is where my intrajugular (IJ) catheter was inserted. The said catheter was needed in the early phase of my dialysis. All hemodialysis patients had experience having a catheter inserted in their necks. It was there for two months. When it was removed, a scar was formed. For your imagination, it looks like a hickey. It makes me look like a womanizer letting anyone suck my neck. I wish lol.

hi abraham! thanks for joining! I am happy to see your comment.

but you made me smile when you said it looks like a hickey...

I wish someone would give me a hickey right now lol

Scars are wonderful things. Having read about this contest I really wanted to join in for the fun of it. Reading about others here and some of the traumatic events they have endured to get their scars, I feel a bit sad in my miniscule scars and their happy memories I have attached to them.

However, in saying that, it reminds me that happiness and laughter can help along the way to healing emotional scarring, so I am doing this.

I have bone scarring from my arm being broken 4 times. Turns out using your arm as a brake on a skateboard doesn't work too well. Multiple skin scars too. All from time with my cousin who is more a brother to me than anyone else. All the times we got up to something silly and I always ended up being on the hurting end. Falling.off roofs, being hit with golf balls, playing tennis with stones, wargames with old lightbulbs as grenades.

I have my appendix scar, from where my appendix burst after caddying a full round of 18 holes with my Dad, even being in pain. Was a horrible experience, but being with my Dad was what I wanted and got to still do.

I have scars on both feet from an operation which was the result of multiple fractures and stress on my feet after 23 years of hockey. Being able to have grown to become a coach, to see knowledge passed down from all those who you learnt from. People and friends I made along that journey made all those years of pain more than worth it.

Ultimately, baring 1 scar, the rest of them are all from being a typical young boy, being stupid and reckless and taking advantage of every moment in whatever way I could. Memories I hope my children get to experience and grow up to tell their stories of.

Hi @nedikix! Wow you got a lot of stories there.

While those might have caused you pain, I can sense that you didn't regret doing what you did because those were the highlights of your life!

Our younger years were really composed of carelessness and recklessness as children who are curious and very playful. I could totally relate to those stories although I had different experiences as a child.

True enough, I would love my future children to be as carefree and not just stay inside the house watching a monitor or a device screen. I want them to explore and be active just like how I did when I was younger.

Thanks for joining my comment contest! I appreciate it a lot!

Hi @junebride thank you for this initiative. While reading your story I got a teary-eyed because I was thinking my very own scars that left a happy and sad memory ;-). Yes, kung pilat lang ang pag uusapan marami ako nyan, lalong lalo na sa aking kabataan but those left me a happy memory and even now I can remember where I got those scars in my body.

Now I am already a mother and I do expect scars in my tummy for bringing my son, yan na ata ang palatandaan bilang isang ina ang magkaroon ng pilat sa tiyan after giving birth, at iisiping napaka minor ng scars na yun compared to yours @junebride.

I got pregnant in January 2009, I could still remember how blessed we are, determined to give the most out of us as a parent. I could still remember the nights when we shared plans on upbringing our child, our life was filled with more happiness with Gyan, his little eyes, cute red lips, small face, black hair.. I could say I am contented with my life. Days easily comes by, and together with my hubby, we nurtured our growing son..and we discover that my son has a syndrome, after knowing my son's condition, probaly that was the darkest time of our life, mas masakit pa sa mga naranasan kung pilat ang naramdaman ko, walang kasing sakit, maraming tanong, bakit sobrang sakit ng binigay sa akin na pagsubok, parang sinaksak ang puso ko ng matalim na bagay at nagiwan ng isang malaking pilat hanggang ngayon , my son is now 8year old, hindi nakakalakad ng magisa, di nakakapagsalita ng tuwid at sinusubuan sa pag kain. . I remember, we said to each other before that regardless of what syndrome it is, it was already there and we need to face it.. we need to deal with it.. our son’s life is at stake and so ACCEPTANCE came in.... andun pa rin ang pelat na iniwan sa puso ko bilang ina pero kahit ano pa ang kalagayan ng anak ko mamahalin ko dahil siya ay galing sa akin.

ACCEPTANCE, PRAYERS and our LOVE becomes our greatest armor to HOLD on for our child..

Thanks @gyn for joining.

I really don't know what to say. I am currently tongue tied and I don't know if there's such a word to describe how I am feeling while reading your story sis. I understand what you are dealing with and all I can do is say a prayer for you and your family that God will give you the comfort and the happiness amidst all the trials in life.

There's a reason why God allowed this in your life, we may not know the reason but please trust His ways. Your child is a gift to you and the people around him. Stay strong, God bless you and your baby!

haha sorry sis more on emotional scar naa ko haha, no worry sis kahit ganon kalagayan ng anak ko lumalaki siyang healhty and strong:-)

no worries sis.. salamat kau sa pag join!

Hi sis my son left us already nung May 24 morning.

what? my condolences sis.. this made me cry!

Hi @gyn. We don't know each other but I learned about your son from @junebride's post today. I'm sorry about your son. I know no words will be able to make what you're going thru easier but we are here for you. Praying for you and your son. GOD BLESS.

My worst but at the same time better scar

Surely you will wonder why I say this because it was my worst scar because of the situation in which it happened but it was also my best scar because it made me see life from another angle of view. That happened 6 years ago, I was then 19 years old, I live in a very dangerous country which is Venezuela, I was going up from the subway to my house while I hear a motorcycle approaching and my heart started beating very loudly begging God not to nothing happened to me, they passed by but the one who accompanied him stared at me and they returned, that's when I knew something bad was going to happen, people do not know how we are going to react in these cases we can say that we must deliver everything before a robbery but the truth you never know how you will react, I have always been a person who says that life is worth more than a material object, I do not know why I was blinded that day and did not think only about the cost of my phone that I had It took almost a year of work to get it and I would not let it be removed for it one of the subjects took what looked like a glass stuck in a stick wrapped in a cloth, a very bad knife the truth, when that person decided to take me he or she nailed me the glass, I reacted by pushing it so he ran after me and gave me 3 stabs with that glass two in the leg and one in the gluteus, the truth I thank God for not having touched any bone , vein or some vital organ since the cuts were deep, they know that the blood is very scandalous. It turns out that a neighbor took me to a nearby hospital and the glass scam infected so that it became very ugly I climbed in such a way that I thought I would lose a lose or my gluteus would be eaten by the infection thanks to God for that year 2019 in the country got medicines not like now that in the present year 2018 medicines are not available, after recovery many months, the truth still sometimes bothers me a little sitting for a long time on the side of the gluteus that happened the problem, after that I have seen the totally different life that we are today tomorrow you do not know so we have to enjoy our life to the fullest, value what we have and be grateful to God for having life. This is something that I do not like to talk a lot because sometimes people often laugh that they gave me a glute but since the topic came out I decided to comment, I would like to show you a photo but the truth is a very committed place to place here photos of magnitude.

hi dear. That was really terrible. Determined robbers would do anything to get what they want. Actually, I had a similar incident here in our country, but the robbers were not able to take my phone while I was inside a public vehicle.

I am glad to know that you survived those three stabs. The psychological and physical effects will certainly give the victim some kind of fear but I am also thankful you are positive and is living your life to the fullest.

I appreciate your entry dear.thanks you for opening up! God bless!

First, allow me to congratulate you on your achievement here on Steemit. Congratulations for having so many followers. Lodi!

Also, congrats to this contest your hosting. It is a success!

Being a mom, it gave me a heavy heart when I read about your scar. I do not exactly know how you felt, i have never been through it. But I admire your strength and resilience. And you just gave me the inspiration to be strong in what I am going through right now. May God bless you.

Now, to the contest. This is pretty easy, because boasting aside, I only have two scars from my infancy up until before I was to be a mom. First scar was on my forehead when, because we were playing on the construction supply store, I accidentally tripped and a nail happened to be upside down got on my forehead. I felt blessed it didn't get to my eyes. The second scar was on my lower left leg when, because we were running around, I fell on a cracked floor of my uncle's house. Still felt blessed the crack is only that small, otherwise my whole self fell if it was big. Both scars were visible proofs of my hardheadedness as a child. Lol.

But as memorable as those were of my childhood days, I feel that my third scar changed my life - not only physically but emotionally and mentally. It was the scar I got when I delivered my unica iha through caesarian. Unlike the two other scars, this scar is a visible manifestation that I am a mother. It made me smile in tears when my daughter asked what it was. When I told her of it, she kissed and I know for sure that I do not regret having this scar on my tummy. This scar was a proof of my LOVE.

But as much as I wanted to post a picture of my CS scar, I opted not to. It is simply not very pleasing to look at.

aw.. sis that's so sweet of your daughter! thanks for the entry!

It is true that when we are still young, we are hard headed and carefree. Reminds me of the scar I got on my left foot. My brother and I were riding the bike, he was the driver and I sat infront holding the handlebar grip, as we were traversing the slope, my brother realized we had no brakes so he commanded me to place my slippers to the wheel to slow the bike but to my carelessness, I instead put my foot inside the wheel spokes... i got a big wound because of that but we always laugh about how funny the scenario was.

I love this contest so much. Thanks @junebride for the initiative. This contest makes us appreciate every inch of our body. The good, the bad, both make us beautiful.

I have four scars on my body. The first one due to unexpected operation in my stomach because the doctors thought something was wrong in my abdomen. The second, because of appendicitis. The third, on the back of my head, I forgot the cause because I was still a child when I got operated and the last one which I recently got was on my left foot.

All of these scars I consider beautiful. I embrace each of them. My dad told me that on my operation (second scar), he thought he would lose me. The doctors told him to not put too much hope on the operation because my chance of surviving was minimal. Especially that I was 4 years old when that happened. As what he said, "Ibinigay na kita sa Diyos.". Hence, I consider my life as my second one because it took 6 days before I woke up from the operation. The doctors said I won't last weeks if I don't wake up but here I am 18 years later typing here and telling my story.

Whenever my dad goes home from outside the country, he would narrate this story over and over again and I'll never get tired of hearing it. How he struggled emotionally and financially during that time. Until now, he is very over protective because I was sickly as a child.

In the present, every time I do extreme adventures or go out of my comfort zone, I always think to myself:

This is my second life, I should make the most of it. If I survived 4 stitches, I will survive this.

My four stitches made me a stronger person and made me realize that I am beautiful in my own way.

I am so sorry for not narrating the stories for each of my scars because it will take forever. haha. Anyway, I hope my story inspired the people reading it. Thank you for the opportunity miss. <3 I hope people don't treat their scars ugly because these scars make us who we are now and may it remind us that we are stronger than we think we are. These are not just scars but battle scars. -Ree <3

I appreciate you joining this contest dai.. I am teary eyed reading your story. I could literally feel how much your father loves you. And I am becoming emotional typing my response. There's a lump in my throat as in as I am fighting back my tears. You are God's gift to your parents, I am glad you shared your own story! Indeed our scars tell different amazing stories and they are beautiful battle scars.

Thank you so much miss! When I was young, I was so insecure about my scars especially the first and second. Because of the scars, I may not be able to wear clothes that show parts of my stomach especially the swim wears and crop tops. It made me become very conscious. But as time goes by, I don't see it as something I would be ashamed of but it made me become proud of myself on how I survived the operations.

Me too, I got teary eyed while typing my story. hehe

I totally understand if you felt embarrassed about it when you were younger, I was feeling the same too way back with my leg scars. I guess it is normal for Filipina ladies to feel that way.

Thank you again for sharing your story dai!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98