You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1K Wednesday Contest : Tell Me About Your Greatest Scar!

in #contest6 years ago

20180523_093417.jpg

Oh, wait. Is this not the "Show your extra bellybuttons" contest? Oops! My bad. 😜

I know you're wondering what in the heck is that? Well I shall tell you.

First let me say I had a plethora of scars to choose from. I have been a lifetime chronic kidney disease patient and that adds up to a lot of surgeries resulting in scars. My abdomen looks like a road map with lines and squiggles going this way and that way.

Anyway, about these two funny little crater-like scars. This is where I had a catheter placed for a type of dialysis called peritoneal dialysis, or for short PD. I have two holes because after about a year one just fell out! Imagine my horror! So another was placed in.

This type of dialysis, this PD allowed me to do my own treatment at home. This was so important to me. Autonomy in your own healthcare equals longevity and more importantly adds to your quality of life.

I was on PD for 16 years, but because I was doing my own treatment at home it still allowed me to work full-time, to travel various places, and spend time with the people that are most near and dear to me.

I appreciate you holding this contest and I must say your own scar story tugged at my heartstrings.

Sort:  

wow! thanks for joining! I can't believe I am getting a lot of entries in just a few hours after posting this.

by the way, I must say that you are just a good writer! I am in awe of the words you used.

I have known some cool kidney patients here on this platform and I really pray that each of you will be given long and quality life.

Honestly, before reading your comment, I already thought those were bellybuttons! Good to know that you are able to perform treatment at home. It lessens the stress of going to the centers every now and then.

Thank you again for your entry, first entry with a photo! Thanks a lot I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72