Punday Monday 38! St. Patrick's Day Celebration! Limericks and Puns and fun and funds! Prizes galore!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

I'm excited for this Punday, y'all!

Last night I made a pun about teachers alphabetting, so I'm pretty proud of myself right now.
Today's Punday, I know what's coming.

DSC05912.JPG
Here's last week's puns:
https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/punday-monday-37

If you're not sure how to properly pun, here's the how-to :

https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/puns-and-prizes-learn-to-pun-easy-fun-anybody-can-be-a-hit-at-parties
Be a cool PUNk, read that junk!

Last week's POCKET choice award winner was...

Pocket award post: https://steemit.com/pocket/@improv/8tngv-pocket-friday

A tie! @Paul.Atreides and @DoctorCrypto both won! I shan't make a habit of accepting ties, but I will make an exception on this occasion. Thanks for voting, @haphazard-hstead!

The folks in the POCKET Choice winner's circle are @miniature-tiger, @lilygolightly, @chrisroberts, @stinawog, @doctorcrypto, @heroic15397, @littlescribe, @diebitch, @acolucky, @ablaze, and @paul.atreides.

On to the other best puns categories as chosen by me winners!

No video winner, as no videos were submitted (submit a video of yourself telling a pun joke on the topic to qualify!)

Our best overall pun goes to @acolucky for reminding me that some parts of the world have blizzards.
Yay!

The winner winners win an upvote from me on a post of their choice along with a @tipu tip! Include your link with the next pun you post, winners!

This week!

Happy St. Patrick's Day, almost!

It's time for the punnerick format that you all developed!

See the comments:
https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/punday-30-join-this-free-contest-and-have-some-fun-and-maybe-win-some-funds

And feel free to theme it appropriately, as in:

My family's from Skibbereen
Too poor to afford a tureen
Only had moldy gravy
So Gramps joined the navy
Now on St. Paddy's Day we eat green

I have faith that you will do better!

Also, if you have a pun, but can't figure out the punnerick format, no worries. I'll offer separate prizes for best pun and best punnerick

Even with the falling STEEM price, you can't find a better price per pun anywhere!

Sort:  

Thank you but last week was a weak attempt and I am sorry. I feel like I let you down. It reminds me of a time I worked at the leper colony....

A patients thumb had fallen off and a voodoo doctor tricked him into letting him have it!! I turned a blind eye and didn't report it. To this day it haunts me because....

That was the biggest Leper Con I have ever seen.

You can upvote my Coffee Fun Facts Post if I truly do deserve the noble honor. :)

All POCKET Choice wins are glorious,
and my participation is quite notorious,
I did what I could,
and punned as I should,
but I’m stunned that I emerged victorious!

This is worthy of being a promo ad, if only I had promo ads.

A man had a doggie named Rover,
Who played at the White Cliffs of Dover,
But one Patty's Day,
Through drunk careless play,
They both wound up more than hung over.

Fact check: the White Cliffs of Dover are in England, Ireland's frequent nemesis. :P

I'm not aware of any cliffs in Ireland that rhyme with Rover and over. ;)
Plus, I'm sure the Irish would be okay with an Englishman plummeting to certain death over one of their own.

That's true. But not a pup. Never a pup!

I had to wash my Italian flag
but I discolored the poor rag;
Red turned orange,
that's not so strange.
Now I have to pipe in the bag.

As a proud Irishman, I'll have to make a few entries this week... Here is my first.. Jamey = Jameson Irish Whiskey FYI :o)

There once was an irishgirl Amy,
Who loved to mix water with Jamey,
Well in two seconds flat,
My feet stuck to the mat,
She drank all the whiskey you gave me.

I once built a mighty sand castle down by the Irish sea,
many came to marvel at its size and ingenuity,
then waves from the ocean came crashing to shore,
and in the blink of an eye it existed no more,
so sadly I finished my Guinness then took a wee.

I once saw a band play in Laos,
Vacationing there with my spouse.
They lip-synced so well,
We thought "What the hell..."
But really they sham-rocked the house.

I am not Irish. I will not lie.
Though my friends they want me to try.
I am German, I sang.
Or Polish or some thang.
But for half priced beer I'll yell "aye!"

Thank you for the overall pun award:

https://steemit.com/punchline/@acolucky/when-you-see-that-minnow-you-supported

Here is my 2nd one for the week that's in it...

Drink all that you can when your young,
Rum and whiskey - down the gullet are flung,
Until the day you can't take it,
No chance can you fake it,
Kaput! You need a liver and not just a lung...

A limerick and an acrostic! WOW!

An Irishman liked to get hammered;
With whiskey his heart was enamoured.
I argued with him,
But his points were all slim,
Quite simply out-spoke and out-grammared.

I know, that one's not really a punerick, but still amusing to me, and borderline inappropriate... so I had to share. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53