Punday 30! Join this free contest and have some fun and maybe win some funds!

in #contest6 years ago

Why this video? You'll find out.

The first award today goes to the winner of the POCKET punday challenge! You owe @paul.atreides for this win, @miniature-tiger! He nearly won it himself, but in an unexpected twist of the gift economy, he made it so that you won! Huzzah! You win an upvote and a @tipu tip on a link of your choice! Send me the link you want upvoted (feel free to put it in the comments below).
You can see the results here:
https://steemit.com/pocket/@improv/pocket-for-the-best-punsters-it-s-pocket-friday

The winner of best video pun is no one. Unfortunately, we had no video entries this week, but you should all know that there is a prize waiting for whomever makes the best video pun in any given week! If we get some entries this week, we'll all celebrate with upvotes and glory, I'm sure!

And the winner of best pun, as chosen by me is...
... Oh my goodness, there are so many excellent ones.

Let's do a few honorable mentions. You know that all puns on this thread get a 100% upvote, these honorable mentions will also get my upvote on a link of their choice.

@jacobts for "My Angel-ou cake"
and
@amos-robinson for "luthier's kin"

And winning the grand prize of upvote AND tip is...
punmlkliverehab.JPG
@liverehab, who is also an activist themselves!

Congrats!

If you want to participate this week, and win fabulous cryptocurrency prizes,

learn how here: https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/puns-and-prizes-learn-to-pun-easy-fun-anybody-can-be-a-hit-at-parties

Today's topic is...
exchange.JPG
EXCHANGE!

I'm sure you all have stories about Poloniex and Bittrex to tell!
When asked where she put all her millions, Kristen Bell thought for a second before responding, "Gee...Dax!"

Sort:  

Buy, buy! Sell, sell! Hodl, hodl! Anybody selling "E"? I'm looking to trade an "O" for an "E". This is a groat "U" – any takors? Alright, seld, "A" fer "U". Und ne rotarns noither.

Just a normal day at the Vowel Exchange.

Explanation: during the Great Vowel Shift, English pronunciation changed dramatically. Vowels went from the Latin vowel sounds to the modern sounds we use today. Think of the "a" sound in "lathe", or Mr Fonzie's iconic "ayy". In Classical Latin and Middle English, this same sound would be written as a long "e", but in Modern English we now use the long "a". Other vowels exchanged sounds similarly.

In this joke, I am imagining what the Great Vowel Shift would have been like if, instead of happening in the mouths of peasants in the fifteenth century, it had occurred inside a stock exchange on Wall Street.

Inside the stock exchange, the narrator is selling vowels, and trading them for other vowels. The really fun part is that when the narrator sells one vowel, his own speech changes to reflect the trade that has taken place. After trading an "O" for an "E", the narrator wishes to say "great", but it instead comes out as "groat". This vowel transliteration produces rather amusing results if you read it phonetically: I think it takes on a kind of Yorkshire accent, but of course I know nothing of phonology.

So so clever!

Seunds like yeu knew plenty ubeut phenelegy! Love the bit and the presentation of it sew much!

Oh, I would like my ex change a Bit (coin), but I could change myself Ether, it was only a matter of self Steem ;)

Kristen rang the bell which sheparded newbie traders in. Unfortunately, there were no more coins to be bought because seasoned veterans have been burning the midnight oil trading. Crypto exchanges never sleep.

Yayyyyyyy! Good to have you back on this!

I'm not that happy with my entry, but I hope I made it to the POCKET considerations. Though I doubt I would get any votes. I felt like I was rowing without a paddle, and I felt like I was frozen. But, when in Rome...

So idiomatic!

I do hope folks continue to stop by the pocket post, though often it's just @paul.atreides and he's already made his vote. @paul.atreides, you around? We have a contender!

With Faris/Pratt already split, Bell/Shepard's the only couple I'm rooting for these days. I just had to make an entry to this. I even dug deep into their filmography just for that last comment haha!

Kristen Bell went to hell.
Thought it was "The Good Place".
Found her match made in heav'n
Tried to learn his ways.

No such luck, they broke up
He got someone new
Havoc wreaked, heaven tweaked,
He couldn't make his EX change.

What a pleasant exchange between you two as well. 😉

My wife kicked me out because she found out I had stolen a bunch of rare, valuable coins from a previous lover. It was pretty much my only savings, so now I'm locked out of my exchange account.


btw, I'm doing a #dailylimerick now. I figured you may enjoy limericks. :)

There once was a man from Kilkenny,
That upvoted a pun for a penny,
Increasing his Steem power he could not arrange,
Ashamed he offered a poor pun in exchange,
Then was showered in upvotes by many.

You got my vote, in exchange for a round of applause.

Come Friday, will you be sending some POCKET his way, perhaps?

I'll gladly accept a pun as legal tender!

You are punbelievably generous.

Yes, I LOVED your batman ones. So clever indeed.

Things got really weird at my place when my husband thought I was rushing him to make this exchange. He couldn't understand how, after all these years as a traditional couple, I would be so insistent on him providing me with a little transaction.

You should write to Savage Love about this particular tete-a-tete.

https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/punday-monday-31-come-join-the-fun-prizes-and-jokes-for-all

I would steal his job ;)

Do!

I am here, and it is now. People, give me an audience, and I will captivate you.

Words!

There once was a man from Nantucket
He tried to put coins in his bucket
He dropped in some STEEM
With some Ether between
And exchanged it for Ripple with @tuck!

Awesome!
Although I'm concerned for this man from Nantucket; ending up with Ripple instead of Steem? He'll be sorry. I've heard of some other men from Nantucket who were considerably luckier.
:)

Have you, now?

I think they both have their uses. :P

Might be time to consider a new category...Punnericks!!???? And along with our invention of the Punnerick word, a new category for collective nouns has also been born!
The Plethora of Punnericks! 😊
Love it!
Yeah, littlescribe, you're right it HAS to have 2 Ns.

Loading...

It was worth it serving in the army, leaking classified data, committing treason and getting my sentence commuted for the free ex change.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.77
ETH 3368.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47