Puns. They are so great. They are the best. You cannot believe how important puns are to humanity. This is Punday Monday 29. Rejoice.

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

First, a video of my adorable child getting a knuckle sandwich.

Second

Happy Punday, everybody!

I hope you all made and are keeping resolutions that will change the world for the better.

Here's the entries from last week:

https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/start-2018-with-a-laugh-and-an-opportunity-to-win-punday-monday-28-and-prize-announcements-for-the-last-punday-of-2017

As you all know by now, I recommend my own post on punning for learning how to make them. If you're new here, check it out, and become the most popular one at family gatherings. (their groans are groans of love)

It's time.

Let's see how the popular vote (as decided by POCKET sending) shook out:
https://steemit.com/pocket/@improv/pocket-friday-and-puns-plus-ocean-mammals
Looks like @doctorcrypto wins, thanks to a POCKET vote by @paul.atreides! Our POCKET choice winner's circle currently holds @chrisroberts, @stinawog, @doctorcrypto, @heroic15397, @littlescribe and @paul.atreides.

Also, the good doctor wins an upvote from me and a @tipu tip! My upvotes are worth more than a quarter, folks! You can play an 80s arcade game easy!

And the Best Video Pun Submission goes to...
No one! Recent players may not have realized, but there's a category for best pun submitted in the form of a video of you, telling the joke. Seeing as there's not a lot of competition, it's a good way to get on the board!

And the Best Pun Overall goes to....

@fishyculture!

She's killing it! punresolutionfishy.JPG

And a special commendation to @amos-robinson for support!

While we're all paying attention to her, head on over and check out... wait... Well, @fishyculture was running a contest that was punishingly hard. But it looks like there was, at long last, a winner. Maybe she'll do another. Here was the first: https://steemit.com/contest/@fishyculture/new-prize-on-my-quick-challenge-now-5-sd-only-3-days-left

She also wins an upvote and @tipu tip! Send me a link!

Time for another holiday themed one!

This one is for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, which we celebrate in the U.S.A. to remind us that we must be active and vigilant in opposing oppression, and we should remember the battles fought of yesteryear and not allow the gains of the civil rights movement to be eroded. Indeed, Viva la Resolution! ;) I see you, @doctorcrypto.

For example,
What did Mr. and Mrs. Little's son say after Myrlie Williams was named in an alphabetical list of civil rights leaders?
Answer in video...


"mmm I'll come next. "

YOUR TURN!

(and oh yeah, everybody wins! An upvote for every single pun. And if you want to publish your pun and just send me a link, that works, too!)

Shoutout of pride! Our good doctor won another joke contest! Practice makes perfect! https://steemit.com/blackluxparty/@haphazard-hstead/the-blacklux-party-prizes-and-surprises-for-days-1-7-thanks-to-all-the-party-goers

Sort:  

Sure people know about what MLK did for human rights but few know how he inspired the simple sweet potato with the famous Million Yam March

I remember that! At the speech at the end of the March he said, “Judge a yam not by the color of its skin but by the character of its content!”

Damn I was a day late, my wife just told me she was waitlisted when she tried to sign up for her exercise class, I asked "Well how much did you weigh?"

Well, you'll just have to try this week's!

when is it announced?

...this post. Scroll up from your own comment here. You commented this on the post that announced this week's topic. :P

a pun about MLK? that's racist! ;) I'll see what I can do, do I post it here?

You do.

And I definitely would like your pun not to be racist. :)

My pun example is, I hope, one that could inspire you to learn more about Malcolm X and/or Myrlie Evers!

185 Civil Rights Activists walk into a bar.
Bar tender says, what can I get you?
185 Civil Rights Activists say, Just some Coffee and Pie.
Bartenders says, I can get you the coffee but instead of pie may I interst you in My Angel-ou Cake?!

#sadtrombone #rustyredcaptain

What did MLK tell his doctor after his insomnia was cured? I have a dream!

We can bring his dream to life! It was about flying bathrobes.

At @liverehab we work tirelessly to post great content about addiction, recovery and sobriety. It can be tough though because the subject matter is often so dark and hard to work with.

People are dealing with real struggles and often need serious help. When people come to us with battery struggles though we often diagnose them with an alkaline problem and so we recommend AA meetings.

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wooohooo! Thank YOU so much.

My pleasure!

oh my goodness lol

The Sergeant shouted cadence: Left! - Left! - Left, right, left!
The private seemed barely unable to transport his own body, flopped, bobbed, hobbled then seemed to gain his footing, then nearly fell over.
The Sergeant called "HALT!" and turned to the klutz. "Can't you run your own damned FEET?"
The private begins to tear up, says "You should be nice to me. I have civil rights..."

Ba-da-bing, ya' been punned.

Lord help me, now I shall explain... It is funny because the private trips every time the Sergeant yells "Left" but when he calls "right" the private walks OK. His lefts are chaotic but his rights are civil as in courteous, well bred. OK it is a stretch but that is what a pun is about and if you can stretch it really hard and make it fit... that is EXTRA funny. But then there is even MORE funny because the private is acting like a snowflake about his actual civil rights, too.
:)

Snowflakes don't have feet. They're made of water. Frozen water. ... so... unless the private has six lines of symmetry, I don't think he can act like one. I'd be interested to see that performance, though.

I have a steem
that my fore children
will one day live in a block chain
where they will not be judged by the power of their steem
but by character of their content.

Not Free at last, Not Free at last
Great content is not free at last
22jj8g.jpg

I hear Bernie Madoff (who was a big Martin Luther King fan) only got caught because he was trying to recite MLK's words at a charity event and had a Freudian slip "I have a SCHEME".

Love the idea, and that's my first (and probably my last) pun ever lol ... I wanted to support the awesome thing you're doing and @danielsaori is doing as well. You guys are making steemit fun!

Definitely wouldn't have expected that, lol!

I'm not even sure it was a pun, but that's how my mind rolls lol... It was fun and its great to meet you @improv... Cheers!!!

I was thinking, if MLK was to go on a date in halloween, would he peek-a-boo?

...I think this one needs an explanation.

You know like, pick a boo!
(Boo) modern slang for a girlfriend

Not that I'm complaining, but just to clarify, you're just shoehorning a halloween joke into a MLK topic, yeah? Like, the fact that it's MLK has nothing to do with the joke, right?

Again, I have no problem with that, I just want to be sure I'm not missing something. :P

Yes sure, absolutely

Then HA! and EEK!

What did Martin Luther King say after visiting his urologist? "Pee at last... pee at last... thank God almighty I can pee at last!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99