Pun Day Monday #13 contest announcement! Also winners from Week 12! ALSO! BONUS PRIZES!

in #contest7 years ago

Last week I had you all make puns using the rather abstract suggestion "start"

(you can see the post here:
https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/pun-day-monday-week-12-and-week-11-winners-announced)

You can see there were a few false starts...

Though it would be rude to call them out by name... let's just say that "false start" isn't a pun so much as a phrase with the word "start" in it...

But I am always happy

to see people TRY.
Honestly HONESTLY

honestly

HONESTLY

Trying is the most important part of succeeding. Failing is just succeeding at trying something harder than you know how to do yet.

No, really, I believe this.

But without feedback, how will you get better?
Well, you can review the basics! It's always good to get back to basics! (Or if you're just joining us now, learn them for the first time!)

Here's the basics:

https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/puns-and-prizes-learn-to-pun-easy-fun-anybody-can-be-a-hit-at-parties

Now let's take a look at our competitors!

@antic

punstartantic.JPG!

Welcome @antic, with his first foray into making a pun up according to the very strict rules and regulations of this game!

While I am not familiar with the phrase "it's tarting at the tip of my tongue" I have no doubt that in his native language of crypto, this means "it's on the tip of my tongue". By the way, I love this man dearly, and if you haven't seen his drawings of drones, you are missing out. OH! ooo. Hey @antic! If I wanted to offer a pack of the very very very awesome deck of cards you made to a winner someday (maybe as a year in review sometime in 2018? The best pun of 52 weeks of puns?) would you accept STEEM and/or STEEM BASED DOLLARS to send a pack to the winner? If so, what would be the equivalent in USD to do so?)
Players, I kid you not, these are incredibly beautiful cards and have extra secret fun that's not really a secret if you just ask for the secret.

@doctorcrypto

punstartdrcrypto.JPG

Excellent work, @doctorcrypto!

I think rhyming puns are often the way to go with this abstract words. And you did an excellent job of weaving it into a story where either word makes sense. So good! I'll point out that you aren't the first to attempt the start/heart comparison, so you'll unfortunately be docked 1 point on originality, but you get high marks for technique!

AND

I cannot say enough how much I like your scavenger hunts. PLAYERS: You should absolutely head on over to his page and participate. They are fantastic. It's like a thing that you think should be worth millions of dollars that you get for absolutely free. GO! You will be glad you did.

@marcovanhassel

punstartmarco.JPG

@marcovanhassel has proven himself to be a fearsome competitor

Each week, he provides puns that prove the Dutch have a way with words, and this week is no different. "Beg-in the saddle"?!? I am blown away by his facility with western idiom.
Oh. I just realized the good doctor crypto was punning on freestyle and beat. It went over my head because I was looking for start puns, but you know it deserves an upvote. I'll do that now.
You surely want to check out the photography on @marcovanhassel's page. The Netherlands are colorful.

@paul.atreides

punstartpaul.JPGpunstartpaul2.JPG

A curator!

There are many wonderful content creators on steemit. I value them, but we don't talk much about curators! If you head on over to his page, you'll see a bunch of resteems! Thanks for sharing what you find valuable with us all, Paul!!
@paul.atreides is an excellent audience member, and that's why we do what we do, isn't it? SO! All of this is for you, Paul! And STARTling is an excellent pun!

@stinawog

punstartstina.JPG

By now, you surely know her and love her.

The one, the only, @stinawog is not only my wife, but also the greatest writer that has yet to have her novel published. You absolutely must check out her series of poems based on the @papa-pepper steem-pocalypse game (for a challenge run by @superbuckles, @hopehuggs and @novaatebatman).
I'll also point out that

@stinawog wins!

While I'll confess that "beg-in the saddle" by @marcovanhassel made me chuckle aloud when I read it, the sheer quantity of puns in this otherwise shaggy dog story pushed it over the top. @stinawog, you win a tip. Send me a link to tip. Um, I already upvote all of your posts because I read you voraciously and enjoy you without limit, so

@marcovanhassel also wins

AGAIN. The Dutch win so much! Send me your link to upvote and tip!

The rest of you all won upvotes for your puns! I hope to see your puns for this week in the comments, along with VIDEOS of you telling the puns.
Special prize: the best video of you telling a pun for this week's will win upvote, tip, and be eligible for the best pun contest as well, which would be another upvote and a tip!
So! Videos will be eligible for 2 prizes! Written puns will be eligible for 1!

This week, you must make a pun using the word...

breakfast.JPG
I'm sure you will come up with some eggscellent puns. If my criticism is over-hard, I trust no one will get buttered (butthurt).

Sort:  

I once saw a big pig walk right up to a chicken and bite it's neck.
Boy that chickens neck sure did break fast.

How frightening! Orange juice glad it was the chicken's neck and not yours?

I'm glad it wasn't mine. But omelette you finish.

Nice one! I think I heard about this pig on the news. It has been accused of also snapping the necks of Tony the Tiger, Captain Crunch, and Count Chocula. They are saying that is the work of a cereal killer.

Sad.
If he managed to get out of jail...
It would be a crepe escape.

So true! I heard he hired a good lawyer that really saved his bacon.🥓

That lawyer is waffel ing . I heard he wants to take a plea bargain for egg stortion.

I told you that attorney was good! He really knows how to get his clients out of a jam. If he preserves this pig's freedom the prosecutor is really going to be hot because he wanted to get the death penalty and see this pig fry.

If that pig fries, then the joke is going to be on the prosecutor.
Because Twice cooked pork tastes even more delicious.
(thats all I got) pah!

I must admit that I found this week's word to be eggseptionally difficult. I was thrilled to see that two lucky punsters emerged victorious from last week's contest! I suspect that this week's competition will result in more waffling. 🥞

Oops, I almost forgot to butter up the contest judge, tip!

Thanks again @improv ! And congrats to the co-winner @stinawog! Also: a warm welcome to @antic 👍

So far, comp-eating here has been a wonderful eggsperience 😊. Here's the link to my all new #caturdaycollagecontest :

https://steemit.com/caturday/@marcovanhassel/caturday-collage-contest-win-sbd

I hope that this week I won't get stuck in the sand, which would mean that @drcrypto or @paul.atreides could get the butter of me.

Thank you, thank you!

Don't worry about me Marco, I can't think of anything good this week. Infact, the only reason I am here is because Mom always told me to never skip breakfast. 🍳

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42