Monomad Guess The Ship for SBI

in #contest6 years ago (edited)


Famous Rigging


If I was posting for a specific theme for @brumest's daily monomad photography contest this one would have gone in abstract.

But since we can post whatever we like on any day we like I thought I would upload this photograph of a ship's rigging to see who's been paying attention.

Who Can Guess The Ship?

I will buy a Steem basic Income share for the first person who guesses correctly and tells me why I was in the vicinity.

monomad rigging.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

I took the photograph during the last few months so, if you've been paying attention and you know where I've been, you might be able to work out which ship this is.

Look for the little man to give you an idea of scale. 😁

What ship is this?
and
Why was I in the vicinity?

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

Amersterdam VOC ship. Sussex. Tour of Sussex. Whats SBI?

Very good guess @steven-patrick but not correct.

Click on the 'Steem Basic Income' link to find out more about SBI. 😁

It looks like the Cutty Sark in Greenwich, London. But it could easily be a ship down in Portsmouth harbour or Bristol LOL.

If it's the Cutty Sark then you were up in London for a Steemit Meet-up? We know there was a bootcamp the other weekend or maybe it was another. This is all just a guess.

One of your answers is correct @travelling-two. You're almost there! 😁

Hmmm, can we improve our second part of the guess? The second part - we believe you went to the London CryptoCurrency Show back in April and since that was nearby, you came to see the Cutty Sark OR actually you did go up to London a few weeks' ago for the meet-up at that whole foods market/cafe place. Was it that? Sorry two guesses there.

Ooooo. You are so close @travelling-two. It wasn't the cryptocurrency show. It wasn't a meet-up in London. It was more recent than both of those. But if you think location and skim down my feed you should get it!

I'll give you the prize anyway for effort. 😁

Ah thanks! 😊

Ok, third one's a charm - last guess: checking out Greenwich Market with your daughter.

Close enough @travelling-two. You got the right day but the main reason for the trip was to see Bryan Adams at the O2. 😁

Well done and thank you for being such a good sport!

I'll sort out your SBI share later today. 😍

Ah, Bryan Adams! Bet the concert was great. Thanks for organising the giveaway! Anything for a SBI share 😊

It was a wonderful day @travelling-two, not least because I got my daughter all to myself. Bryan Adams was great too. 😁

I've bought you SBI share so you should see something about it soon. I can't remember if it shows in your wallet or not. It's been a long time since I bought one! 😁

Let me know if it doesn't turn up but it should be OK.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

That's excellent news @pixresteemer. Thank you for the resteem and feel free to visit anytime! 😁

oh my gosh look at the size of that thing! and look at that little guy up there, holy smokes! hey this ain't a fair contest I just starting on your blog last week, can you give some hints? besides in Texas we don't have ships like this sitting around so what in the world is this thing? lol
God bless England!

Ha, ha, ha @janton. You'll have to do some back reading then and when was Steemit every fair? 😂

I might be persuaded to give some hints it no-one guesses it.

ok, lol. thank you, that ship looks magnificent though, I'd love to see more of it!

I've got more photographs although they're not brilliant. I'll get around to writing about it someday @janton.

@travelling-two guessed it correctly in the end and, after a few false, starts worked out what I was doing when I took the photograph too.

Thanks for taking part. It was fun! 😍

oh I recognize the name of Cutty Sark, it's a famous ship but I'm not sure why. thank you gillianpearce!

Do you know what @janton? I don't know why it's famous either 😂 which is probably why I haven't a post about it yet. I will have to research it.

We didn't actually go on board. We just walked around it at ground level.

Like you, I've heard of it but I'm not sure why it's famous. If you've heard of it too maybe there is an American connection. 😊

History was never one of my strong points!

so that ship is docked there all the time and you can tour it and so forth? Man I'd love that, I think that would be so interesting. Plus think of the post you could do! lol.

It's not docked @janton. It's too old to be in water. It's on land and the area below deck is in a sort of glass building. It's a bit difficult to explain.

And I just looked, I'm not sure I have enough good pictures to write a post about it. I may need to go back and get some better shots, with a post in mind.

Amazing shot! Very good shot! I don't remember this ship in your stories, but forgive me for my inattention. I like this picture. Good luck in the contest, @gillianpearce :)

This ship hasn't been in my stories yet @madlenfox so you didn't miss it. But the trip where I saw the ship, has been.😊

I don’t know. At first I thought it’s the USS Constitution then I checked out some pictures and realized I’m wrong. HMS Victory is also wrong so I guess it’s a newer ship.

HMS Victory was a very good guess @knownobody but, as you say, it is not correct. 😊

Thank you for having a guess. 😊

As a cat, I am not much of a sailor, but I'm going to take a wild guess that it's one of the "Sea Cloud" cruise ships, and since some of those cruises originate from Portsmouth, maybe you were there on one of your trips to the beach?

Just a guess, though...

=^..^=

A very good guess if I may say so @curatorcat but not correct. 😢

Amazing photography...

Thank you @halim08. Glad you like my photograph. Thank you for visiting. 😊


Awesome Work!

I've verified that your photography is original, and that means it's so good that I had to check.

Your post has just been upvoted and resteemed by @yourluckyphotos - The nonprofit service that verifies and promotes original photographers on Steem.


Your photography will be featured in Today's Lucky Photos showcase, alongside numerous other photographs. Tag your posts with yourluckyphotos to increase your odds of being featured.


Amazing photo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87