Falseyedols Cypher Challenge Episode 1 Results (And Curations!)

in #contest6 years ago

Wow!

I seriously cannot express how happy I am with how this competition went. Some extremely talented Steemians entered and gave it their all. I am glad I did not have to judge this, because it would have been so difficult choosing the winner! To express how grateful I am for everyone who participated and judged, I also wanted to treat this post as a sort of curation post, as well. I wish I could've given that fat 15SBD reward to everyone, but I feel like the next best thing is to shed some light on how incredible the Steemians are who participated in this contest!


FCCS1E1cropfit.jpg



But before that, let's get to business!!!



The winner of the first ever Falseyedols Cypher Challenge is..... [long drumroll]



HOSTIOSO!!!!!!!!!! (@hostioso)



yaybitmoji.png





"I Am A Mess" Hostioso Entry



Hailing from Caracas Venezuela, Hostioso!!!!! Bruh! You killed it! The way you came off on this beat was perfect. Your flow, the rhyming, everything. I don't speak Spanish fluently so I really appreciate the extra time you took to create subtitles in English for this, as well as the exceptional work your friend @dalisett did for the graphic. I absolutely loved the fact that you got another Steemian involved, and this type of collaboration between artists is what this contest is all about! I can totally understand why your post was the most chosen by the panel of judges I called on for help (more on them later!).

Then I went over to his blog and, whoa!! This guy doesn't just rap, he is a musician and singer as well! He just released a cover he did of Italian/Venezuelan singer Yordano, and his guitar and singing skills are right up there with his rapping abilities! This was a pleasant surprise to find such a diverse skillset among the first winner of my first cypher contest. Who knows, maybe we get to hear some singing and guitar playing on his next entry! I know I'm excited for the next contest!!! I wanted to share this post I just spoke on where @hostioso performs his lovely cover Here. Please go check this mans blog out, follow him, and upvote his awesome posts!



Runner Ups/Honorable Mentions



I can't stress enough how thankful I am to everyone who participated in this. Seriously! Words cannot express my gratitude. I really loved each and every submission, and because of this, I want to highlight your hard work and I will also share some other work you have done on Steemit because without community, this means nothing. The people on this blockchain are what make this place so great, and for that, I thank you.


Without Further ado, here are the wonderful entries!


@juxtamusic- Save my Soul From Rock n' Roll

This entry could be one of my absolute favorites, as @juxtamusic gave my original beat such a different and unexpected feel! The original beat had some definite trap tendencies, what with all the heavy 808 kicks and triplet/odd timed hi hats. What was done by this Steemian was something quite astonishing. I never knew that a trap and breakbeat styled percussion sound so great together! Your vocals and lyrics were so on point as well! They give it this new age rock n roll type feel, and the title you chose further enhances that feeling.

I think you're onto something here mate, and I was so inspired creatively by this entry. I definitely want to get more of my music in front of you and work on some other collaborations because what happened here was just priceless. Similarly to @hostioso, @juxtamusic is also a guitarist who can sing and play simultaneously. As a guitar player myself who cannot sing worth a damn, I admire artists who can do both so well! You definitely need to go check out his Cover a Steemian contest he just made an entry for too! We need more Steemians like him who are engaging and participating in all these different community efforts!!!!


@elimence - Kill the Mockingbird

This guy went the whole 9 yards! Not only did he throw his own boom bap hip hop twist on this bangin trap beat, he also laid down some serious lyrical bars! The way he chopped my beat up and threw his own twist on it was impressive as I'll get out. The bass was mega phat, the way he handles the mic is beyond exceptional, and the vibes on this were killer. Once this Steemian starts posting more (which I have a feeling he will), you really need to keep this man on your radar and peep what else he has in store for us all! Full disclosure, @elimence is a friend of mine personally, is a great dude, and part of the reason I did not allow myself to judge. He did score highly with the judges though and there's reason why. This dude is BOSS. Keep it up, homie.


@veckinon - Blues Guitar Entry


Another judge favorite! Talk about the most tasteful, sexy guitar playing evaaaaaaar!!!!! This dude knows how to hit the right notes, and only the right notes. Holy smokes. This was my first official entry, and oh boy what a doozy it was! The smiles it brought me, and the repeated plays it got. It somehow gave the original beat so much more cool to it. Like man, I need me a Blues Brothers getup and a cigarette when listening to this one. Smoooooov. On top of being an amazing producer himself who has contributed a lot of excellent music to @dsound, he is also a phenomenal visual artist! I want to shed light on his other wonderful artwork, too, by sharing a post he made about his personal sketchbook. He has such a unique artistic style, and his characters are so charming and human, without actually being humans themselves. I'm getting a trend here. These Steemians are exceptional at so much! Go show this man some love, and check out his amazing sketches Here


@wolfnworbeikood - Dookie Brown Flow Entry



"False Idols, rest in peace to my lost rivals."



This made me smile, and I think this will be a phrase I'm going to have to steal from you! This dude may catch you by surprise with such a humorous name like that but he has some extremely serious BARS (if you can't tell by the video). Dookie is a true lyricist, and a beat cypher is not complete without tongue twisting flows like these! I had to listen to this one quite a few times because he says so much, so fast, but his annunciation and cadence are so good you don't mind giving this one a few listens to pick out those gems. You should also go check out his other work, because he has been uploading some heaters to the Dsound. Here is his entry for the amazing @blockmountain initiative. Great things happening over the blockchain! Get hip to it.


@peterkrackpotkin - Entry from the Cyborg



Last but certainly not least by any stretch of the imagination! This entry is filled with knowledge and some very socially conscious lyrics. This guy certainly sounds like a cyborg from the future, coming back to tell humanity of their wrongs. It almost sounds like he is leaving us a voice message with that effect on his vocals. Who knows! Maybe he is! I would certainly enjoy sitting down and having a conversation with the cyborg himself, because it seems like he has a lot more to say. We could all learn more from our friendly neighborhood cybernetic beings! I mean, if we want to prepare or avoid a mess like that whole Terminator movie series was on about. Go check this Steemian out and see what else he has to offer



By this point your face must be melting with all the amazing content and collaborations you just witnessed!

But

That's not all folks!



This contest wouldn't have been the same if it wasn't for an amazing panel of judges!


@djlethalskillz

If you make music, are on Steemit, and DON'T know who this is, you're doing something wrong! This is practically THE music ambassador to Steemit. I really don't know where to start with this man. It's probably a shorter list to describe what he doesn't do. If it's Steemit, music and crypto related, he probably had something to do with it. From the @smacommunity, to musicoin, to his impressive @blockmountain competition with @scuzzy, this guy has his hand in nearly all community efforts for musicians on Steemit! I cannot tell you how much of a privilege it was to get a piece of this man's time to judge for this competition. I'm geeking out a little! Lethalskillz judged my mafuckin cypher!!!!!! Awwwww yeah. You need to go check this man's music out too! He has some rad stuff in 432HZ <3


@playitforward

A personal recommendation from the great @djlethalskillz himself, and for good reason! He is an extremely skilled composer and songwriter from Los Angeles, CA. Not only is he engaged in projects that support the musical arts, but he is also involved in initiatives that promote the visual arts. He likes to show the creative process behind his own music, and sometimes streams his creations from scratch over @dlive! His most recent DLive stream also has the song he created streamed over @dsound right now, and you should go check that out Here


@poeticsnake

My precious Snek! From being an esteemed artist, co-host of radio shows over MSPWaves, and one of the most prolific and amazing curators on the Steem blockchain, she is a huge force on this blockchain! Snek is also working on another new project I haven't heard about yet, but best believe I am excited to find out! I have served as a music curator for her blog "You Got Snekked," and it has been an amazing feeling being apart of the curation initiatives on Steemit. She spreads the gift of giving, and makes me want to give back to the community even more! Being so heavily focused on curating and radio, @poeticsnake might not be as known for her amazing artwork, and because of that, I want to share a recent piece she did of a Phoenix. She's really good about showing the process behind her work, so for those that enjoy that and aspire to create great art themselves, go check it out!


@heaterville

A producer after my own heart! Heaterville makes some slappin beats. With someone as knowledgeable and skilled in the world of hip hop production, he was a no brainer to ask to judge. He consistently releases amazing music through @dsound, and you should become more familiar with his work, too. Go check out his most recent instrumental he released today Here.



Phew!!!! Curating sure takes it out of you!!!

I cannot thank the participants, judges, and everyone who has supported this contest and my efforts enough! I am beside myself right now, truly. I was worried at first this may not get any interest, and was even questioning if I should be doing this. The support from the community has been so fantastic, and I will also be playing some of these entries over my radio show "Voices from the Mountains," on MSPWaves Radio! Our next show is Saturday 3-5am UTC (Friday night for those near the US timezones). I will absolutely be continuing this contest, look forward to more participants, and can't wait to see what people come up with next time! Lastly I want to thank the real MVP here, @dsound. If it wasn't for their support via upvote for my contest, I would have nothing to offer as winnings, and this contest wouldn't exist. I am forever grateful to @prc and @dsound for what they are doing for the community. Thank you. THANK you. THANK YOU.


That's all, folks! Help support our lovely community by checking the exceptional works out by the entrants, and if you like what I've done here, I certainly don't mind getting some love for this beast of a blog post myself!!!! Much love Steemit fam. I'll catch you on the flip side.


falseyedolsbannerblogsteemit.jpg

Falseyedolshiresgreen.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Dope contest @falseyedols Thank u for the opportunity on being one of the judges and for introducing me to more talented community artists and more great community music!

Kudos to all who submitted and congratulation for the winner, judging this one was tough! I tell u... Looking forward to the next 1
Salute

You are so awesome, brother. I thank you for helping out with this and am always excited by what I see in this community. I am excite bike XD

I'm very honored by your words @falseyedols was an excellent week in this challenge, I listened all entries and are amazing, I would like collaborate with all of you to launch a musical bomb haha, I'm very grateful to you for appreciating my music, thanks to the entire panel of judges it's a job I did with few resources have at my disposal. thanks for a glimpse to the rest of my music . I can't wait the second round! let's keep killing, a big hug bros!!

You are tha man!!! I was so happy to get your post, my dude. I can't thank you enough, and I look forward to what you'll cook up next! It was great to see what else you do too! You are very talented brother. I'd love to do collabs with you all for sure :)

Great contest @falseyedols. I must admit, @hostioso's entry was my personal favorite as well (other than mine of course, haha). Congrats to him and good job to all the entrants.

oh my bro, thanks!!!

I honestly had no idea you could play guitar like that man. I was pleasantly surprised by your entry! It's too cool how many different directions people took this. This is something very new for me personally. I really want to make these into some type of greater compilation. I'm just not sure on the format yet.

Big up! Dope contest! Thanks for the kind words!

I appreciate you so much for coming in clutch like that! I'll be seeing you around my man

ilovethispost001.jpg

@falseyedols Love the work you do and the many samples feedback and edits is great dope track for sure and even doper challenge lots of quality artist getting it in

Thank you so much my dude! I appreciate your words so much. If you or anyone else you know would be participating in the next one, definitely keep an eye out!

I am on whaleshares today and have been there a few times EOS i need to get into as i enjoy the crypto life and also the idea behind EOS

Definitely an interesting world over here!

Right?! I couldn't be happier. I just posted the next episode up and I'm so pumped about what we'll get on the next one!!!!

Sweet. Checking that out next!

It is really a great competetion. Show casing talented people.

What a cool challenge! So many cool entries. Upvoted :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56758.93
ETH 3033.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30