A Peek Inside veckinon's Sketchbook Vol. 2

in #art6 years ago

peekyboo1.jpg



This weeks sketchbook:

The Black Strathmore



IMG_3996.JPG



About this book


Here is another small collection of original sketches and other works that I have done. All of these sketches are much older pieces. They are from a sketchbook that I received as a gift from my mother in the earlier part of this century. It was an oversized black hardcover, permanently bound book. It was much nicer that the cheap spiral bound books that I was used to. I consider this particular sketchbook very important in my development as an artist. I had taken a few art classes in high school and struggled quite a bit with them. I would try and fail to replicate the quality of work of better artists around me and, like many artists, was often discouraged. This pieces in this sketchbook I feel were some of the first works where I gained a little bit of confidence and courage and actually began to develop what was a unique and recognizable style. I stopped caring about things looking ‘right’ and it really opened the world up to me creatively.

This collection of sketches consists of one piece in an analogous color scheme and the rest of them are in black and white. There are a variety of mediums used. All the sketches are on 60 pound sketch paper. Some of the sketches are in watercolor pencil and the water caused wrinkling on the lightweight paper. The sketches I chose were among a few of my favorites from this particular sketchbook.

Sketches


three s.jpg
3, Charcoal



untitled.jpg
Untitled, Pastel



untitled alone.jpg
Untitled, Watercolor pencil



fool.jpg
FOOL, Charcoal



untitled nude.jpg
Untitled, Watercolor pencil



No feeding the animals.jpg
No feeding the animals, Charcoal pencil



me.jpg
"This is me, I am confused." Watercolor pencil



If you would like to see some more of my sketches, check out this link:

Volume one



Thanks for looking, I hope you enjoyed. Feel free to click on my name below if you want to see more!

Best wishes,
@veckinon

Sort:  

Hey Vekinon, how are you?
Your Art reminds me the art of a really close friend of mine, he's not on steemit yet, but I think you should know him. he is Alvaro Lecumberri and has a web that you can find it looking in google like: sangre y hormonas.
Hope to see more
see you soon

Thanks, I'll be sure to check them out.

I am having some trouble finding your friends work on google. You are welcome to share a link to it in this comment thread if you like.

Wow I really like these ones! I think my favorites here are "3," and "This is me, I am confused." There's some kind of transcending feeling I get from "3," like being the master of your own thoughts etc. I really like how contemplative your character looks for my other favorite. His body looks almost like an abstract mountain or cliff. Very cool!

Thanks. "This is me..." is actually one of my all-time favorite sketches. I have considered trying to reproduce it as a larger acrylic painting, but have yet to do so. It is actually pretty wrinkled from the watercolor as well but with really aggressive lighting, you don't notice too much in the photo.

This is SO awesome. I love that it starts with the picture of the battered sketch book and then goes through all the different highlights within! Beautiful post.

Thank you! I decided to show the actual sketchbook last minute. Since it was late at night I didn't have good lighting and could only get kinda crappy pictures of it. I think it still added to the post though. I may feature this sketchbook again in the future. With different sketches ofcourse. Thanks for looking!

Wonderful post

amazing art i really like your work please don't forget to follow back and upvote my posts....

Amazing art! It's very unique and you can express your feelings here.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by veckinon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 10.12% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Invest your Steem Power and help minnow at the same time to support our daily curation initiative. Delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one of the following links: 1000 SP, 5000 SP or more. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64646.41
ETH 3230.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63