Learn to Draw with Friends Contest Entries! I entered all 3 categories because it was 2am!

in #contest7 years ago (edited)


Intermediate Entry: The Delek


It was amazing how I still won the last time I joined even if the contest was almost ending.

There will actually be 6 runner up places this week. @fole, @omega-not, @giraffeonskates, @djynn, @primal-buddhist and @deveerei all received 6 votes and will all receive 1SBD. Congratulations to all of you also! :)

I got an SBD which isn't really bad for a drawing done for less than a minute!

Click here to view post


Another contest was put up by @tonyr with a new theme for this week, after reading about it I hurriedly pulled out my Sketchbook and started drawing all 3 entries! It was 2am and I was high in caffeine that time so I was very enthusiastic and possibly high (from caffeine and sugar, that canned coffee drink was really sweet and strong), not even a bit sleepy from the tiring day.

The theme was "Doctor Who"!

Here were my entries:

Beginner: Tardis

I made it in ink. It was intended to be bigger but it's easier to draw it at this size and it's cute. Ink pen on Monologue Sketchbook, next picture for size references:

Intermediate: The Delek

The Dalek was pretty hard to draw cause it's full of geometrical shapes. Making an accurate drawing will be quite hard. I decided to use a pen for this. Supposedly, the shading was going to be in pencil but I made a small drawing so it's harder to shade it properly or I just got lazy. I tried making the shadows as accurate as possible.

Advanced: The Doctor

Used grid lines to help me draw. Added lines to the original photo via software and lined the sketchbook with a ruler. Used a graphite pencil #2 on a Monologue Sketchbook. Added in a grey backdrop on software and edited the brightness and contrast, no further edits. Close up with flash:

You can support my entries if you like them by upvoting my comments here:

CLICK LINK


Thanks for viewing my work and posts guys! Cheers!

You can also join my own Drawing Steemgig here: Spidey Life




Sort:  

Hello. You have been nominated by @pinqo :)
Please wait a bit more for the results, here is the summary of the artists and nominators of the very first @artcurator project.

Nominee.jpg

Cool. Is this new? First time I heard about this. Thanks @artcurator @pinqo

A wonderful post @deveerei and all three entries are absolutely fantastic! I'm so glad you had so much fun taking part last week and this week and would be very pleased if you would continue joining us in future. You have an amazong talent and sjill that I'm sure we could all learn from! :{)

Good luck o you my friend and have an excellent day!

Thank you. I will join for sure. I guess the part where you post the process helps other learn from your drawing a bit more. I will include that next time and I will try posting things like that on my own.

You do the same!

I have a few ideas for evolving the contest which I will be talking about in the next post hopefully today and hopefully that will mean that I might be able to take part in future also. :0

The process posts are a really good way for people to pick up tips and also see how a drawing comes together in stages which hopefully will allow them to follow along themselves and learn from your experience. They are also a good way of esrning some rewards for yourself should you not end up winning a prize in the contest so it's a win/win situation for everyone hopefully. :)

It is definitely a win-win for everyone. Even if a post earns a little, it's not bad (for me).

I'm hoping to get a hashtag going in future to help people search all of the entries for the contest so hopefully that will help with getting exposure as well! :)

I see. That's useful, maybe the acronym for the contest will do. "LTDWF" or "Learntodrawwithfriends", i think there's a limit to the tag (25 characters?).

Yes I was thinking of using the acronym, I think it will be quite recognizable. :)

I think it is recognizable.

I am surprised this type of contest does not have more entries. I have run into many artist here on Steemit and you would think they be contributing their gift in drawing to things like that.

I really like the detail you put into the delek. How long did something like that take to draw?

This one has a week to get more entries. The previous one I think got 40 entries?

I'm not sure. I think 3hrs for all 3 entries. Wasn't keeping track of the time.

Actually, I think I started at 1am for these drawings, not 2am. Haha.

These are so amazing! I love how you realistic your sketches are with the use of shades. Something I could never do! (Must learn from you, senpai~ Haha) Also I love uni-pens. :D Good luck in the contest!

Thank you so much. Senpai haha. Guess I must call you Sensei!

Oh, gosh! No way. I don't deserve that title at all! XD

Nah, your art is great, you can be my Sensei.

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 3.57 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @deveerei. Vote for Aggroed!

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @deveerei.


This post got a 3.45 % upvote thanks to @deveerei - Hail Eris !

Cool. I really like the gif.

Excellent work @deveerei!

Thanks Miss Abi!

Nice job!
Soy tut io

Thanks!

(Googled that up - it said "I am your uncle". Got me confused haha, then I saw your name again @tioluis, in Filipino we use the term 'Tiyo' for Uncle - prolly cause it's Spanish in origin.)

ahhaha now ay tiyo is super close to tio. I know there is a lot of common words in Filipino like pantalones and some numbers <3
ahhaha we can even speak spanish filipino :P
Soy tu tio

There are a lot. We were occupied by Spain for 300 years, that's why we got tons of words incorporated in our language, not just words, culture as well.

Wow that is so small, your hands are steady! Nice drawings

Not really. Pasmado po hehe. Thanks!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65160.59
ETH 3545.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43