Steem Basic Income Giveaway: What do you treat yourself to?

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

A surprising amount of non-ninjas in last week's question!... well, I guess the world also needs strong and direct people as well! After all, someone has to walk into all the furniture and step on all the LEGO!

This week, I was thinking about the sorts of things that we treat ourselves to... sometimes, there is a little sort of thing that we get ourselves to give us that little boost... maybe it is a small thing... or maybe it is the mid-life crissi sort of thing! Or maybe there is one area of life where we just spend that little bit extra, for that little bit of extra something that it does for us! Of course, one person's personal luxury is another person's extravagant waste... however, in the end, how we spend our money and time is really up to us (as long as it doesn't impact too heavily on other people...).

My Question

  1. What do you spend that little bit extra (either in terms of money or time or anything else...) for yourself on?

My sample answer

Unsplash

Haha... this is an easy one for me! If there is one area of life where I really like to get the best possible thing that I can afford... then it is with gadgets and technology! I love computers and all that sort of silicon based goodness... So, when I shop around for something new.... I really want the best that I can afford... generally, this means the best bang for the buck, rather than the ABSOLUTE best (although... sometimes, I am sorely tempted... but I can't be that selfish!).

So, phones... computers... gaming stuff... speakers... mice and other peripherals... I like the best that is possible in my price range and I'm not particular keen to settle on something that I'm not really sure about. This does have some nice knock on effects for my wife and family... as they often benefit from the similar purchase idea (the purcahsing of these thigns is left completely up to me!). Although, I often have to remember that their use and love of technology isn't quite the same as mine.. and that sometimes, I have to weight their priorities accordingly!

Rules

  1. Upvote if you want, it increases the payout and then I can hopefully sponsor more people.
  2. Resteem is NOT neccessary, but the more people see this, the more the people will be likely to be sponsored.
  3. In the comments, answer as best as you can the questions that are posed in the "My Questions"!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!).
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a author starting out on your fresh new Steemit account, Steemit can be a daunting and lonely place to be. OFten, it can feel like you are posting into an abyss with no one listening and with no ability to grow out of the situation. A share of Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but over time cumulative support to your account to help grow you out of your initial wilderness!

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people). OF course, this is not simply an altruistic move, as the sponsor of a Steem Basic Income share also gets a share, so it is a great way to help others whilst helping yourself!

Last week's winners

The last post paid out 0 SBD and 1.813 STEEM in liquid earnings. So, that would make 2 shares.

The winners by random draw are:

@chekohler

@proto26


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Sort:  

@bengy has set 1.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

i try to spend my extra time learning new things (mostly techie stuff)

i cant wait for one of these coins to moonl so i can spend less time working and stressed out

it's gonna take me at least 3 months of down time to relax

i'm gonna need a big empty warehouse for all the projects i got in the back of my head ;)

I also love learning new stuff (also tech stuff...)... however, I keep getting distracted by new things and idea that I want to try. I really have to try and stick to a few things so I can actually get things finished!

The winners of this SBI giveaway and the new Question (Favourite Idiom?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-favourite-idiom

Journals, paper, pens, markers, pencils, pens... lots and lots of pens.

I have to curb it a bit now because my kids want them too, but when it is time to go "back to school" shopping we looooooove it.

The kids love getting paper gear and I can't figure out if its because they truly love it, because they are just copying mama, or if its because I won't say no.

"Mom, I want this $25 pencil box for school."

Me: "Yes!"

I also get giddy when I go to events that have booths and such and they are giving away stuff like pens, that have highlighters attached, and maybe even some post it notes right in there... Silly, but the stuff gets me to the booths.

Wow... I know that my girls are crazy about new markers and pens and everything! If they had a chance, they would definitely take everything in the store! Great that you can pretend that you are treating your kids, and pick up some nice goodies for yourself!

The winners of this SBI giveaway and the new Question (Favourite Idiom?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-favourite-idiom

Typically I don’t do a lot for myself so I’d have to say about thrice weekly I grab a twelve-pack of beer & once a week I indulge in a large delicious meal (i.e. Steak & Potatoes, Cheeseburgers) Other than that it’s rare I spend a lot on me.

7FBC37FE72ED469595EF975C67D7B58D.png

Oh... a nice large meal that you enjoy is definitely one of the better ways to treat yourself!

The winners of this SBI giveaway and the new Question (Favourite Idiom?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-favourite-idiom

I have -0- extra money, and -0- extra time since I am trying to get enough money to keep my head above water.

I listen to educational podcasts to go to sleep. So if I listen to something that is not really helpful to my goals, but just interesting, this is a treat :)

Learning and discovering new things is a great way to treat yourself! I wish I had more time to discover more and more things.. but there are just so many things that catch my attention!

The winners of this SBI giveaway and the new Question (Favourite Idiom?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-favourite-idiom

Right now I spend my extra time on gods unchained, and I don't think this will change soon^^ This game is just so much fun

Ha... well, if you enjoy it.. it is a nice treat for yourself!

The winners of this SBI giveaway and the new Question (Favourite Idiom?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-favourite-idiom

It's often the little things that inspire you, with me it's the coffee.
I go an extra way or pay a little more for a good espresso, cortado or cappuccino.
At home, I treat myself to a wide variety of preparations such as traditional espresso machine with filter holder, french press or cordless mocha machine.

Ah... that is a good one. There is nothing better than a great coffee... and conversely, nothing worse than a terrible one. I really hate it when it is too hot, or the milk is scalded.

The winners of this SBI giveaway and the new Question (Favourite Idiom?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-favourite-idiom

Think I'm same as you. I got only one shoe left, but I have 2 phones. I love gadgets so that's what I spend my money on.

Ha... well, I still have both my shoes! So, I think you are way ahead of me on that!

Lol, got to buy a shoe soon

Haha... you could just wear your phones!

😂😂😂😊interesting

The winners of this SBI giveaway and the new Question (Favourite Idiom?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-favourite-idiom

If I have that little extra of my time when I'm far from my hometown because of work. I'm going to spend that little money and little time to go homw. I want to see my family and want to feel that feeling having with them. I love to be in home so that I can visit the beautiful sea and the beautiful people in my place.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a great thing to do with your extra time... being at home is a great feeling to have, the sense that you are surrounded by familiar people and surround!

The winners of this SBI giveaway and the new Question (Favourite Idiom?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-favourite-idiom

When I got extra time ,try to Create different content in steemit for income .

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha... always thinking STEEM!?

The winners of this SBI giveaway and the new Question (Favourite Idiom?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-favourite-idiom

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43