Snowpocalypse Survival Challenge Day 2

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Some of you made an unnecessary choice in Day 1, and a few of you made a life threatening choice.



The storm of the century has hit. Record amounts of snow and freezing temperatures cause havoc across the nation. You will be in this storm trying to survive.

Each day for 6 days I will present a survival scenario. You will have three choices. Comment with your choice. One of the choices is the best for survival in the current scenario. The next day you will see if your choice was the correct one and be presented with the next days scenario.

Even if you die in the game you may still participate and learn valuable survival skills as well as receive a portion of the winnings.

If you signed up during the 2 day signup period, your name is in the long list in the comments of THIS POST Please make sure your name is there! Let me know if it's not and should be, thank you :)



  • If you chose Option 1 to move your food out to the snow before it spoils, this was unnecessary. Food in the refrigerator and freezer stays cold is safe for several days. Plus, if you place food outside for storage you run the risk of attracting unwanted critters.

  • If you chose Option 3 to bring your outside grill in and start cooking and warming up, you became very sleepy and could not keep your eyes open after a bit. You closed your eyes as waves of nausea began to hit you, and lost consciousness. You passed away peacefully in your sleep. Outdoor grills are not made for use in enclosed areas and you should never use them inside. They emit dangerous gasses such as carbon monoxide- an odorless gas that first makes you sleepy and disoriented then kills you while you sleep. Even small amounts can kill you. RIP @sireh & @paradigmprospect- great story by the way!

If you chose Option 3 and perished, you do not qualify for the Grand prize winning, but if you participate every day in this challenge you will still get the participation rewards.

The safe option would be to cook outside no matter what. You can place large non-river rocks in the fire (river rocks contain tiny pockets of water that can burst when heated, causing severe injury.) to warm them, then carefully bring them inside and use their warmth inside blankets.

  • If you chose Option 2 to seal off a room to hunker down in, this was the best survival choice. Finding an interior walled room and closing the door, using rolled towels at the bottom crack, will keep your heat confined in one area of the house. If your room does not have a door, tack plastic tarp or blankets in the doorway and windows. Try to stay confined in this room as you can so heat does not escape.


Day 2

You and dog are somewhat comfortable in your sealed room. You grabbed some books and playing cards and lots of blankets, several gallons of water, some high energy snacks like peanut butter and granola bars, and your sleeping bag and extra blankets.

Time passes slowly when the power is out. You keep rotating books and activities with gentle stretches and easy exercises- knowing that sweating can be dangerous in this situation.

At least the wind stopped howling and the snowflakes are intermittent and few.

Your phone beeps. It's your roommate!

Hey, where are you?

I'm home! Where are you, are you ok?

Not really, I've been stuck in the car on route 12, I'm snowed in, I have been trying to reach you. I'm out of gas and freezing

Your heart wrenches. Your roommate is not just your roommate, your roommate is the love of your life.

And not very survival inclined. Not like you.

You've been worried sick. Your roomie has been stuck in the car since three hours before the power went out, having been let out early from work.

You try calling police, power, a tow truck. The lines either blink out or all circuits are busy. It's pure luck your roommate got through to you.

You make a decision.

I'm coming to get you. Stay put

You know the best move is to stay home, but if the car hasn't been found and rescued by now... You have to do it, you have no choice.

You begin gathering necessary supplies and wait for a reply that never comes.

You pack three gallons of water, high energy snacks, snow shoes, blankets, warm clothes and boots for your roommate, flashlights and batteries, snowshovel, backpack, rope, knife, and a first aid kit and place everything in your heavy duty truck.

You feed Dog and unwrap several large deer bones and place several bowls of water around the room, then dress in your warmest wool layers- never cotton death cloth.

You write where your roommate is on route 12 and the roads you are taking and the time and date on cardboard with sharpie, cover it with plastic wrap, and secure it well with red duct tape to your mailbox. Just in case.

You know your roommates route home from work on route 12. Luckily the tank is full and your truck is outfitted with snow tires. You put your chains on as a snow plow has not been seen yet. The entire town is paralyzed and unprepared.

You maneuver without too much difficulty through town and wind the hills upward then turn onto route 12. You continue onward.

The going is slow but you make progress. The storm has returned and is dropping lots of snow again. But you can't turn back. You still haven't received a text reply.

Then you get stuck.

You try freeing the truck. You try calling emergency services. You try everything.

You are really stuck.

What do you do?

Option 1- Stay put, running the engine continuously for warmth, and wait for rescue.

Option 2- Strap on your snowshoes, pack your backpack with the survival gear and continue down route 12 to find your partner.

Option 3- Turn off the engine, crack the windows and wait for rescue.


I will put the three choices in the comments. Place your choice in the corresponding comment. There is one choice that is best for survival.

In 24 hours I will post the challenge for Day 3 as well as the answer to the correct choice.

Everyone who participates is a winner! The Grand Prize winner will receive 70% of the prize pool. And all other participants will receive an equal share of 30% of the liquid SBD Prize Pool.

Good Luck!

Sort:  

Not knowing how far you have traveled or how far is left to go I’m going to say it’s only a couple of Km.
I would leave the vast majority of the water in the car and trek to my friend.

If it was more than a couple of KM I’d leave the car on and stay put.

If you choose Option 2- Strap on your snowshoes, pack your backpack with the survival gear and continue down route 12 to find your partner, comment here.

This one. They're out of gas and you have suppl

I'll choose option 2. I packed the necessary gears for this situation and I really want to help my roommate. Im already in route 12.

I would choose this because, waiting in the truck means I too would get snowed in and also lose valuable time. If i walk up the rest of the distance, i could at least have the hope of rescuing my roommate

I will choose the OPTION - 2
()

I choose option 2.its best I go look of for my roommate than sit in the car.

Option 2 is correct. If I wait in the car, my roommate might not make it.

Option 2 is the right one

I will chose option 2 because you did prepare for this event by taking snow shoes and other gear. They say the #1 rule is to STAY with your vehicle unless you are in the middle of nowhere and unlikely to be found. We don't really know where route 12 is except that it is out of town.

I choose option 2.Since we were not able to reach the police, the possibility of a rescue is really slim.

I choose this option because if you keep the truck running and it is snowing heavy again, snow will clog up the exhaust and you will die of carbon monoxide

I choose this option because the town is not prepared and rescue might not be coming forever. Option 1 will definitely kill you, Option 3 is usually the recommended option - but there is your partner in peril and rescue might not come for a long time.

Choosing option 2, since we want to die a hero, lol

i choose this option 2. it is the better chance of survival since there is a chance that you might locate your roommate and also a chance you can find help along the way for both of you or yourself for safety.

I choose this option.

I choose option 2

I'm going with option 2, but 24 lbs of water weight is a lot to pack, along with all that other stuff. I sure hope I threw my long plastic kiddie sled in the trunk ; you know, the toboggan kind with sides and a long pull rope that easily fits 3 small children sitting inside. That would be a great thing to throw all my gear in, and pull behind as I snowshoe my way down Highway 12.
Cheers!
@mitneb

I didn't say you have to take all the water ;) That is just what you threw in the truck :)

i'm goin with option 2 - i noticed my name isn't on the list :( - can you fixes please ?

Did you sign up on the first signup sheet or the second? I need to know where to find you because there are a lot of names!

i think i missed sign-ups, i just started playing on day one (thought that was the sign-up)

There were two days of sign-ups, Tuesday and Wednesday. But #allsurvivorsmatter ;) I will consider Day one of the Challenge as your sign up.

Good luck!

This was my choice. Unfortunately, I got stuck in some issues and couldn't reply to this on time and now its day 4. Can I still continue with it? or am I out?

Not being sure when help would arrive and being prepared for this (also it's your life partner) , I'm going with option 2.

I choose option 2

Option 2 is correct

I choose this option because I can't wait to help my partner out of her trouble. Delaying might make things get worse for her. If I get stuck in the truck, I will strap on my snow shoes and move.

I choose option 2

I am well prepared and will be hiking.

Option 2 is the best. The more I wait, the more like my roommate is to freeze.

With a complete survival kit, I'm going to walk. Opt 1 is a little tempting but I might run out of gas and we'll never know when the rescue would come. I think this one's the best option.

I think 2 is correct. Because of the storm, the probability of getting help is really slim.

This would be my choice. This is what you prepared for.

This is my choice.

The freezing friend may not make it without help, I am prepared and knowing where he is on RT12 is key, so with that knowledge I'm going to find him and then we head back to my truck to warm up with the heater if the truck will start when we get back.

This is me. If I had to stay put and wait for rescue, I’d have stayed home in the first place. Turning the engine off would freeze me, keeping it on would deplete it.
Besides, it’s also what makes more sense, story-wise 😜

I Choose this option as waiting for rescue might not come quick and fuel might get finished while cracking the window of the car will create more problem. So option 2 is the best

Option 2. It says I'm great at survival so I expect my skills will come along nicely. I expected to have to work hard so I wore my wool clothing! I'm coming for you roomate!

I will choose option 2, the reason I risk my life going out is to save the love of my life, so I am not gonna giveup easily. All survival gear ready, I already know where is route 12, as I am on the move perhaps I might catch anyone that can help me. Also if I wait in the car, the snow can pile up and cover the car and create more problems for me.

Option 2 if not gone bacome in the same sitation like my friend.

I choose this option since it's the best chance for the survival of your partner. Also, there are ways to use the snow as an insulator if the two of you are stuck on the way back from your partner's car. [Also, going out in the snowstorm worked for Balto, and cartoons rarely fail me. 😂)

For me, it's Option 2. Since the wind is dying down and it's pretty much stopped snowing, the storm is obviously over. I don't wanna gas myself (Option 1) and I don't wanna sit here and wait for rescuers who may never come (Option 3).

And my roommate is waiting for me. I know where my friend is, and I've come fully prepared. So, I set off.

I would keep moving. The psychological shock of abandoning the love of my life wouldn't really help me survive. Hopefully, they're not so far away and I can take them back with me to the truck and wait for rescue together, at least. We'll see how this plays out!

I choose Option 2- I'm going to find my lover, duh. It's totally gonna suck. I can feeeeeeel it. I'd probably sit in the truck a minute enjoying the warmth and dryness. Pop in a jolly rancher for morale, bundle up and head out.

It's gonna be a long walk....

I'm imagining this from my actual house, since I live in this scenario. Only difference? It's Hwy 17 here 😎

I choose this one. I don't know if the rescue is coming or if it will be any. I don't know eirher if my roomate is safe or how much she can survive. So i would walk.

I'll choose this option, I already have all what I need to get him on foot... there's only the problem of how bad the wind/snow is, but I think it's better than waiting the rescue.

While opt1 can keep me safe it won't last and I wouldn't reach my roomate in time anyway... and If there was a rescue coming soon I wouldn't have gone to rescue my roomate myself... would I?

go for it !

I chose this one too.

Just re-explaining that I was late to the party, I survived the first encounter and I didn't look ahead but it's cool if I am disqualified. I will still participate. I choose this option. Specifically because I am prepared to get through heavy snow on foot (snowshoes) and I need to get to my roomie. My roomie could be close. Worst case scenario I feel I'd be able to go back to my truck.

walking around keeps you warm, so this one yes.

I know I’m late, I’m attempting to catch up don’t mind me. Let’s go save our hubby!

2 can't wait around all day!

If you choose Option 1- Stay put, running the engine continuously for warmth, and wait for rescue, comment here.

I am gonna choose option 1. Keep the engine on for warmth and wait for the rescue.

I mean the story was cute and all but the challenge is self survival...
my tank is full so i can keep turning the heater on and off for a very very long time...

Ill choose this but with reservations. ( crack the window in 3 =open?- it means that in the real english language).
What kind of survival expert would take 3 (heavy) gallons of water with them - in a water filled environment, btw? lol )

just sayin' - don't scratch...

I am going with this Option 1 but I still Love you Kitten I will do everything I can once I am rescued to make sure they find you...........

Thank you keeping me in your thoughts :)

@arbitrarykitten See I am not Selfish......

DEAD - but educated
At the risk of poisoning my theoretical self as I have already done with my actual self, I would stay put letting the car run to keep warm and hope for some other car to pass on the same road, paying attention that the exhaust would always have some breathing room to not get clogged.

I am going somewhere, why wouldn't anyone else be on a similar mission? Not to mention the slim chance of a snow plow coming by on the road I'm on or some other vehicle I could draw attention from.

Walking might help me reach my partner quicker but would not help in getting her back to our home at all. She is already freezing, her car way more covered with snow than mine already is, how would she make it back on foot with me in her condition? I would either have to carry her all the way back - which is unlikely - or hope for another car where she is, on the same road.

ALL I could do for her at arrival would be wrapping her in blankets and giving her some snacks and my own fading body heat. Plus spiritual boost in terms of hope, which should not be underestimated I guess.

Since I'm already dead, might as well take the risk of staying put to at least be able to reach her and eventually back home AT ALL. Although I would feel really really bad if three hours later I would still be sitting there with less gas and more worry.

@minnowpond has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

If you choose Option 3- Turn off the engine, crack the windows and wait for rescue, comment here.

If I can save on gas at this point for later when it is critically needed I will save it. Going after my room mate is an option that should be put on hold until the storm has subsided.

The test taker in me says this is the safest.

But... in a real life situation I’d attempt to dig my vehicle out. I have chains. If I can move enough snow I can get out. If you sit you risk being covered with snow. If I couldn’t dig out I’d run the engine for a short time for warmth cut it off for a while then run it again and do this until I got rescued or morning came.

If I went to get my room mate, she’s been stuck for a while, our chance of survival would be slim because you wouldn’t be able to move that vehicle. We’d both be out in the snow storm. My vehicle would be buried by the time we reached it.

this option gives you the best option for survival in a cold snow storm / blizzard. I live in Canada and it seems like every year you hear of a death or two because someone got their vehicle stuck in a snow storm. To leave the car is death because in a snow storm you have no orientation, and lose body heat and a lot of energy fast trying to go somewhere in the storm and in the snow. Maybe they will find your body in a ditch somewhere next spring after the snow has melted

Best to bundle up, stay warm and dry and wait in the vehicle with the windows rolled down a crack until the snow stops falling and the storm passes. You can start and idle the car for a few minutes each hour to conserve gas for later. Having the windows open a crack helps to avoid carbon monoxide poisoning, lets in some fresh air and lets out some of the warm moist air escape from the car. Thee is a good reason why Eskimo's had vent holes in their igloos.

To stay in the car with the engine running and the windows rolled up risks running out of gas if the storm lasts and to risk death by carbon monoxide poisoning if the exhaust pipe plugs as the snow accumulates around the car, or if there is a leak in the exhaust pipe or muffler, or if you backed into snow trying to rock the car back and forth to get it unstuck.

Stay in the car, stay warm and dry, be sure to have a supply of fresh air, wait out the storm and pray that your friend is okay.

Three bad options here IMHO. Running the car means CO is a threat again. If the weather is turning bad, going out into a snowstorm is not smart, and while this is early in the emergency, there is always the chance of people using violence against anyone who looks better prepared.

Least bad is probably staying put for now. I have warm clothing, food, and water. I can always start the truck intermittently rather than wasting fuel by keeping it running. I can open the window that lets in the least snow for ventilation. It'll be uncomfortable, but I'll be fine.

Question, though: Why don't I even have a folding shovel, much less a full-size shovel, in the pickup?

You did bring a shovel, but you tried digging out. You tried everything. There was an unprecedented level of snow dropped the first day, and it is storming again. You are absolutely stuck.

Again I choose option 2, I don't want to get snowed in.

Btw, I am not looking ahead as I catch up, but if answering late disqualifies me, I undersand. I am still participating, to see if I know how to survive a storm and am giving this contest my honest shot.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I choose option 2.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15