Snowpocalypse Survival Challenge Day 1

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Day 1 of the $SBD Survival Challenge!

If you signed up in the comments on this post you are in the competition. I was unable to get everyones names down to post here, but rest assured if you signed up, you are in the game! I am compiling the names now, there was an internet outage here so I wanted to get Day 1 challenge out in time for you guys :)

UPDATE: See my comment below for list of participants. If you signed up in time and are not on the list please let me know in the comments. Thank you for your patience :)

I will have everyone's names listed on tomorrows post.



The storm of the century has hit. Record amounts of snow and freezing temperatures cause havoc across the nation. You will be in this storm trying to survive.

Each day for 6 days I will present a survival scenario. You will have three choices. Comment with your choice. One of the choices is the best for survival in the current scenario. The next day you will see if your choice was the correct one and be presented with the next days scenario.

Even if you die in the game you may still participate and learn valuable survival skills as well as receive a portion of the winnings.



Day 1

The temperature was dropping faster than you could turn up the knob on the furnace. “Damn, how’d it get cold so fast?” You ask your dog, who is sitting loyally by your side with inquisitive eyes. The monotonous drone of a money show babbles like a brook in the background- the kind you forget is there until you focus.

The weather channel had forewarned of the impending snow storm, and had said the temperatures were going to drop, but you hadn’t expected this much. It was only 3 in the afternoon and nearing low teens rapidly. Very strange for this time of year.

Your roommate isn’t expected to be home for three more hours and it’s your night to cook. But after a few moments of watching the snow flurries that were already ankle high, you decide to cook now. Better safe than sorry in case of a power outage.

You decide on a couple of thick steaks, baked potatoes and sautéed vegetables, a good, hearty meal to help stay warm.

You mentally note the emergency supplies while you cook- candles, matches, flashlights, can opener. You hurry and throw the laundry in the dryer. “Cool! More heat!” You exclaim to ever present Dog.

The Emergency Broadcast alarm blares from the living room. SEVERE WINTER STORM. TAKE SHELTER IN HOME.

Oh this is bad. You’ve never heard the Emergency Alert with a real warning, only the tests. You text your roommate, wondering why you haven’t received a reply in several hours.

You cover your roomie's plate and store it in the microwave then sit down to enjoy yours while it’s hot.

The lights flicker as you take your first bite.

The power blinks off during your third.

You finish your meal to the sound of the wind assaulting your house.

You have done the smart thing and huddled down at home. The storm is bad. It is becoming colder inside with each passing hour.

What do you do?


1 Move the food in your fridge and freezer outside in the snow before it spoils

2 Seal off and stay in one room to conserve heat

3 Use your outdoor grill to cook food inside for warmth and before it spoils


I will put the three choices in the comments. Place your choice in the corresponding comment. There is one choice that is best for survival.

In 24 hours I will post the challenge for Day 2 as well as the answer to the correct choice.

Everyone who participates is a winner! The Grand Prize winner will receive 70% of the prize pool. And all other participants will receive an equal share of 30% of the liquid SBD Prize Pool.

How to Win

Participate in each days scenario by leaving a comment with your choice. All participants who play every day will get their share of the prize pool.

Grand Prize winner will be chosen by random generator from the participants who played each day and made the correct survival decisions at every stage.

Prize pool is my donation of $30 plus the liquid SBD from the introductory post plus any generous donations :) https://steemit.com/contest/@arbitrarykitten/usd30-sbd-giveaway

Good Luck!

Sort:  
Loading...

If you choose 2 -Seal off and stay in one room to conserve heat, comment here.

I choose this one as your body can survive without food for several days but hypothermia poses a real risk so keeping the body warm is a plus... number 3 is dangerous as the fumes and carbon monoxide from a grill can be deadly not to mention if the dog bumps it over your house is now on fire too...

This is the choice for me, although it will most likely result in broken water pipes if there are any running through the floors or walls in those sealed off rooms (but I've already got an ample suply of containers, including the bathtubs filled with water, so it will just be an expensive fix when the snow melts), @arbitrarykitten! This is a super-fun contest!
Cheers!
@mitneb

The scenario didn't say the water lost pressure, so you could leave a faucet on a steady trickle to minimize risks involving frozen pipes.

Good point, @jacobtothe! I live in an area with a limited water supply, so when our power goes out in winter (which it does often) it would be a terrible thing to do to all the neighbors who share our cistern to do that, so it didn't even cross my mind. Good catch!
Cheers!
@mitneb

I also live in a rural area. Last winter the water line to my house was frozen solid for several weeks.

That's a bummer, @jacobtothe! We had our pipes freeze and break one year while we were gone for Christmas break, and then they thawed out, and flooded our basement before the house sitter discovered it. Thankfully, her dad was the town fixit man, and he took care of it before we even made it home.
Lesson of the day : fix your broken windows before winter because they really do help keep the cold out better than a cardboard box shoved in the space.
Cheers!
@mitneb

This is my choice.

I'll choose 2,I'll go inside a room and conserve heat. I don't want to go outside in a severe winter storm,it's very dangerous. To use outside grill to cook inside will kill me.

the correct choice is dependent on factors that arent mentioned. how much fuel do we have for the grill? how well does the house hold heat? is there any wood burning fire in the house? completing only one of these choices would be ignorant.

Your grill as you have it now :)

I did not mention a fireplace or wood stove so there is none :)

I choose 2.

Your food isn't going to spoil that fast. I choose this choice!

The other factors are not important, yet...

I'm staying in one room, conserving heat. Praying my roommate is okay, whilst snuggling with Dog.🐶

( I actually do this where I live... Like today. LOL!

Watch out, y'all. I resemble this scenario... 😎 )

I choose the second. Seal off and stay in one room to conserve heat. Why?

You can survive without food for 7 days. And you have plenty in your fridge that isn't gonna go bad that quickly in these temperatures. Operating outside grill inside will set off smoke alarm, also the smoke will cause more damage than the blizzard will (considering you have sealed the house).

2 looks more smarter choice than other 2

I will chose option 2

This was my idea, I feel like the food is gonna be fine for a few days and may not be the best idea to use the outdoor grill inside. May as well just hunker down and stay warm.

Immediate survival first.

my choice - seal off and stay warm

I choose this option. I'll stay in the room with the fewest out-facing walls. I'll bring in a few extra blankets, and hunker down. Oh, and I'll take along a bottle of whiskey and a glass. No need for ice cubes, I'm sure.

I choose this.

I choose this

This is my choice

I prefer keeping toasty, thank you!

I'll go with this one, as I'm sure one would kill me and the other just make me lose food faster. Hoping to live through the day!

This is my choice

This is the correct option

I choose this

Definitely!

This is my choice

2 sounds like the smartest choice!

ok, 2 it is. -
Obviously the room would be the one with internet connection, so I can then browse for any cheap sunny destinations vacations,- with a free snowmobile collection service, to the airport ...

But the power is out ;)

and i have no smart phone - cos i'm stoopid! aghhhhh!

Without food I can handle. The grill sounds like a risky plan. Better to wrap up and wait for the storm to end, number 2 is my choice.

I choose this one.

I am going with #2 Kitten....................

Option 2. If it's cold, food is fine for a long time in a sealed fridge or freezer, and I am reducing the strain on their insulation if I am not trying to keep those rooms warm anyway. I am conserving calories by not making extra work, and I have a dog to help keep me warm in your scenario. CO is bad juju, so 3 is right out.

I choose this...

I don't need to put the food in fridge, don't think it would spoil in this cold... If I grilled the food inside I might accidentally cause fire. Conserving heat is the best choice... I think.

I choose this option. It is better to conserve heat and holdthe dog close. The power could return quickly and there is time left to think about food before it spoils. It is not wise to bring the grill inside anyway.

My sister was in a situation like this around Montreal when an ice storm occurred years ago. She surely didn't seal herself in any room but still, this answer makes the most sense to me.

I choose this one. I don´think food is going to spoil, it´s freezing! Besides, keeping warm is the priority. Thanks for the opportunity!

seal it and stay calm

I am in on this , seal off and conserve heat.

I will definitely choose 2 because the rest option to my opinion arent it. I cant go out to cook since i know is snowing the last option will lead to death. I go with 2 @arbitrarykitten

Yeah I think I would opt for this option too- seems like a wise choice for me.

Hi there, this is my choice. As the emergency alert has already been announced. The safest is to stay in the house, snuggles with the dog. This will also ensure you and your pet friend is safe and sound in the house.

"The Emergency Broadcast alarm blares from the living room. SEVERE WINTER STORM. TAKE SHELTER IN HOME."

Have also resteemed and upvoted this post. Have fun all!

I was late to the party due to unforeseen circumstances but I choose this. The food in the fridge is far from spoiling yet. The other is a big no no. - If I am disqualified for the late post, I understand since you have to take my word that I didn't look ahead. Either way I will still participate

If you Choose 1 -Move the food in your fridge and freezer outside in the snow before it spoils, comment here.

With the power out, I need to keep my food fresh because I don’t know how long it will be until I can get to the store with this storm

This is tough, I was between 1 & 3. I hope I choose right!

Even if the outdoor grill was easily accessible, using that indoors doesn't sound like a smart idea, the fumes have nowhere to go and it's a fire hazard.
I have a furnace and —though not mentioned in the story— that's hopefully (and likely, given where I live) a fuel combustion furnace which doesn't require electricity to operate. So I have a source of heat.
Sealing off a room would provide some extra insulation but I don't see how that can be very effective to conserve heat.
So, still under the assumption that my furnace is operational, I would move the food from the fridge and freezer outdoors in the snow.

I choose this one.

I'll choose this one. I'm not sure why you wouldn't do this step, then go and continue with #1. You can always place the food outside in an area able to be reached from the room in which you are staying in.

If you choose 3 -Use your outdoor grill to cook food inside for warmth and before it spoils, comment here.

Yup... im going for a risk to take my grill outside and bringing it inside. Continue cooking for food and heat... i need both to survive...

Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Make one room the hotspot. Hurry up and get what you need. Every time you open the door the heat escapes!

Looks like fun - although I missed the sign up - looking at the list I have already chosen my champions! GO GO GO my friends!

Oh number 2 for sure. I am late, but I am gunna play anyways for fun

My guess is number 2, as temperatures will drop, we want to economise heat and whatever power we can find.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54140.93
ETH 2422.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12