Fiction Comp - Entrants submissions for judging - #1 Week 2

in #competition7 years ago (edited)


(Image source: Pixabay.com)


Hello, all fiction writers!

Welcome to the 1st fiction writing competition week 2.

Some really good writers we have that joined this competition and even though there was one who didn't meet the minimum requirement of the word count for now I will allow it because they put in so much effort but this will be the only time. :)

Our current pot is at 2.825 SBD for the winner :)

What is Fiction Competition?

I will keep this section short as there is no point in being redundant about it. Everyone who would like to learn more can simply visit the introduction post here


Submissions and opinions

Six writers took part in this competition and to be honest it was quite a task to actually critique their work. Each and everyone did a good job on their posts. I have given each and every one of them my upgoat for their efforts and I would like to wish them the best of luck.

  1. @authorofthings: The short mortal life of an Immortal

  2. @carolkean: Unheard Melodies

  3. @krizia: That winter, the wind blows

  4. @aedroberts: Cruelty of Destiny

  5. @lordmok: Kindred Spirits On Chappal Waddi

  6. @henry-gant: Arthur I had to make the name for this :P


To the other readers please visit the above competitors and read their stories. Give them an upgoat because there can never be enough upgoats to go around :)

The judging is now open and everyone is also welcome to help vote for their favorite submission. I will see you all in a week with word from the secret judges on who our winner is with the total of the votes from the people and the judges. :)

To @authorofthings, @krizia, @lordmok, @carolkean, @aedroberts, and @henry-gant...my apologies..I in no way meant to do any of you any disservice or make you feel bad. I think I got carried away with trying to run the competition in a more critical style and will try not to do that again.

Goodluck and cheers folks. Keep up the good work :)

Sort:  
Loading...

For @carolkean submission please vote with the word "vote" in reply to this comment.

@kyrios I am glad that I got to read your assessments before you removed them all. I stand guilty of my intent to have to lead the reader down a path and to deliver him/her naked to the world that is different from what he/she may think to know.

I did my job to bring one on a journey. The destination is up to the reader to decide as the same rules of his/her world do not wholly apply. To this end, I did not betray the reader. I seduced him/her with imagination. Clothes then become optional.

@aedroberts, thanks for your input. I understand that and to be honest my apologies in case my comment did you any disservice. I had no such intentions.

@kyrios Please trust me as you did me ZERO disservices. I was chuckling as your critique made me go, "That was what I wanted to do." It would be the same if you or someone else called me a dreamer. Yeah (Snick! Snick!) tell me something that I do not already know.

I would never receive five or six category 10/10s simply because I am off center. People on YouTube give thumbs down to Pink Floyd songs. What's a mother to do? She can dress the kids and send them off to school, but they will still come home with the skinned knees.

I'm not disheartened by what you said about my story @kyrios - I'm simply confused. As in I could't make heads or tails of it. That, if anything, makes me feel a tad weird about taking part in this contest. Maybe in the future you should take better care with phrasing your issues with submissions, for clarity's sake? Or maybe just leave the critiques in the hands of judges. Either way - your commentary frankly felt like a disservice to the writers here. My own personal opinion, of course, for what it's worth.

My apologies to you, I was just trying to be critical about it and maybe got too carried away. I have removed my commentary. In no way was I trying to disservice the writers...my only goal was to try and make them see their weaknesses in the stories but I guess it was too much. For that I am sorry. @authorofthings

Oh, for god's sake @kyrios. I have zero problem with having "my weaknesses" pointed out, but I generally expect such commentary from people who have a much better grasp on the language than I do. At least enough of a grasp on it to where their commentary itself isn't non-sensical. Ex: calling someone's story or writing "ambidextrous" makes no bloody sense - and that was just in your opening line about my story.

There was zero need for your apology here, nor did I ask you to remove your comments. I simply voiced my opinion on your crits. No need to now that the commentary itself is missing to make this seem like I couldn't take your criticisms of my work. The latter would require that said criticism was cogent.

Have a fantastic day.

I also was not offended by the critique of my entry. I would like to dispute the idea that my story ends without closure. A god has vowed never again to meddle in human affairs, until a WWII soldier insists that he can, and he must, keep doing damage control. Making a decision to go from inaction and withdrawal to trying, once again, to help -- that is the decisive act, the finale. But others are free to disagree. (@sammosk, thanks for your kind words!)

I love what you are doing here. Supporting the community is what I love to see.

Good luck to everyone!

Write like you’re a goddamn death row inmate and the governor is out of the country and there’s no chance for a pardon. Write like you’re clinging to the edge of a cliff, white knuckles, on your last breath, and you’ve got just one last thing to say, like you’re a bird flying over us and you can see everything, and please, for God’s sake, tell us something that will save us from ourselves. Take a deep breath and tell us your deepest, darkest secret, so we can wipe our brow and know that we’re not alone. Write like you have a message from the king. Or don’t. Who knows, maybe you’re one of the lucky ones who doesn’t have to. - Alan Watts, Philosopher

Great stories here!
One question: Should we, as reader/voters, reserve our vote for only one story or should we vote for all that we deem outstanding?

Vote for one story.

Incredibly hard decision.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jybrael from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

For @lordmok submission please vote with the word "vote" in reply to this comment.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

For @authorofthings submission please vote with the word "vote" in reply to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43