You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fiction Comp - Entrants submissions for judging - #1 Week 2

I'm not disheartened by what you said about my story @kyrios - I'm simply confused. As in I could't make heads or tails of it. That, if anything, makes me feel a tad weird about taking part in this contest. Maybe in the future you should take better care with phrasing your issues with submissions, for clarity's sake? Or maybe just leave the critiques in the hands of judges. Either way - your commentary frankly felt like a disservice to the writers here. My own personal opinion, of course, for what it's worth.

Sort:  

My apologies to you, I was just trying to be critical about it and maybe got too carried away. I have removed my commentary. In no way was I trying to disservice the writers...my only goal was to try and make them see their weaknesses in the stories but I guess it was too much. For that I am sorry. @authorofthings

Oh, for god's sake @kyrios. I have zero problem with having "my weaknesses" pointed out, but I generally expect such commentary from people who have a much better grasp on the language than I do. At least enough of a grasp on it to where their commentary itself isn't non-sensical. Ex: calling someone's story or writing "ambidextrous" makes no bloody sense - and that was just in your opening line about my story.

There was zero need for your apology here, nor did I ask you to remove your comments. I simply voiced my opinion on your crits. No need to now that the commentary itself is missing to make this seem like I couldn't take your criticisms of my work. The latter would require that said criticism was cogent.

Have a fantastic day.

I also was not offended by the critique of my entry. I would like to dispute the idea that my story ends without closure. A god has vowed never again to meddle in human affairs, until a WWII soldier insists that he can, and he must, keep doing damage control. Making a decision to go from inaction and withdrawal to trying, once again, to help -- that is the decisive act, the finale. But others are free to disagree. (@sammosk, thanks for your kind words!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43