The Deadpost Initiative - Week 7 - Share your most undervalued work (SBD prize) + week 6 winners

in #community6 years ago

What is the Deadpost Intitiative?

The Deadpost Initiative is an attempt to give love to some posts that were overlookeed during their short 7 day life span, a chance to bring your old posts back to life and maybe make some friends in the process. The goal is not only to share some love with SBD but also by engagement to generate discussion.

Last week

We got off to a late start this past week with only two entries for the first four days. Luckily though things picked up over the next two days and we had one of our greatest collection of deadposts yet. It is not easy to judge a winner so I am trying to take a cue from the amount of upvote she recieved in the comment section as well as the overall feeling from the comments made to the submission and try to use my own judgement as little as possible for at least 2/3 of our winners,

We had two donations from MINNOWS this week which shall help me from losing money this week, both from the Be Awesome community, @macchiata donated a few SBD and @guyfawkes4-20 donated the SBD from the feature I wrote about him to this weeks contest. I love these guys, go follow them.

Some of the prizes this week will have to be in Steem because I'm almost out of SBD.

Last weeks winners

@ecoinstant $3 SBD prize

@ecoinstant is one of the great contributors that I discovered from #ecotrain . In this post he shares with us a funny old proverb and his experience killing an ugly toad A.K.A cleaning up a mess of a banana tree. I forgave the fact that there weren't very long comment on his post because I imagine it's a topic many of us pampered city folk don't have much to say about but I thought it was a quality post and others seemed to agree.

Cleaning the giant banana plant and eating the ugly frog first

@isteemithard $3 SBD prize

The conversations brought up by @isteemithard were pretty deep, with his post on whether or not money should be our main motivation for posting on steem. If it was the only motivation, I say go find another way cause it's not the fastest nor the easiest way to make money, but we agree that the community here is pretty great.

Money Talks but should Money be the Motivation? #Discussion

@carlosdaniel $3 STEEM prize

@carlosdaniel informs us of how the decriminalization of drugs has had the opposite effect from what many might guess, helping more people than it hurts. The post is reminiscent of last weeks winner, @pathforger . It seems we are slowly making some progress as a species, despite all the negativity we may tend to focus on.

How decriminalization of all drugs saved lives

Honorable mentions $1 SBD each

We had two other great posts about steemit, one by @por500bolos and another by @happyme. @por500bolos has a fun writing style and @happyme raises some great points. There were another three or four posts that I think would have done much better if they had been posted a little earlier! Some of them I really loved.

The way I'm starting to see Steemit in the greatest community's "buzz" sense of a true Social Network.

A Possible Cure For Steem?


Week 6

IMG_1519.JPG
image link

Share your best Deadpost in the comments!
The best posts will be rewarded with half of the payout from this post (or a minimum of $10 SBD, split between winners) and will be featured in a future post.

Rules

  • Please only submit 1 post.
  • Posts must have a payout of less than $5.
  • Posts must be at least one month old.
  • I recommend you don't enter the same post twice in the same month if you didn't win the first time.
  • Vote for 1-3 post by others. Please share WHY you liked their posts. If you don't vote for someone else's post by commenting you will not be eligible to win.
  • Winners will be chosen based on how original, creative, informative and well written their posts are, as well as how well received they are in the comments. I will use the quality of comments as the main factor in judging who wins.
  • There will be a slight bias towards smaller accounts but large accounts are welcome to join and compete or join just for fun and to share their old work.
  • There may also be prizes for stellar comments and engagement.
  • There will be 2 or more winners depending on how big the payout for this post is and depending on how many quality posts are entered into the contest.
    -Please upvote generously on your favorite post in the comments below, we'd like to generate a sense much support as possible for all participants and the prize pool is still growing.

Upvote and resteem to help us raise our reward pool! And remember to comment and upvote on comments in this post please to show support for deadposts! :-)

The prize pool will be half of the post payout or at least $10 SBD
I'm still looking for SP delegation to offer some payout on all submissions. If you can help, please let me know :-)

This is not merely a contest, this is an opportunity to have your material read and an opportunity for us to really discuss each other's posts.-

IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit", practice languages or make friends.

Be Awesome discord channel

thetree - Confessions of the Damaged (my fiction) @ patreon

Sort:  

ok i will give this a shot. this was one of my very first posts, before i knew much about formatting or markup. it's an excerpt or short story.

london calling

In all my years of consuming books, you have used descriptions and words in ways I have never seen before. You immediately pulled me in and left me wanting more.

wow i just came back to this! thank you so much for your comment, an author always wants to know that their work is unique :)

That was awesome, you definitely pulled me in and reminded me of younger days!

I must admit that I really enjoyed this fictional work. In truth I quite expected it to be based upon a true story - and in a round-about way it might well be. However your writing style is terrific and shines through in its own right- the quality of the language used speaking for itself.

You managed to transport me into an environment that I would not generally consider myself acclimated to. You also make me want to read more. Well done.

Oh. This takes my third vote for this week. :c)

thank you so much!! appreciate the praise and the feedback :)

Here is my post for this week: Fast Attack Submarine Life During The Cold War

U.S. Navy Stock Photo - Public Domain

I would highly recommend that people read through this dead post.

It well-details a big chapter in this individual's life. The highs and the lows and the challenges and the thrills... while also laying on more than enough grit within his account such as not to sugarcoat the role that he played.

I also really appreciated his philosophical outlook - his nosalgia and his consideration for those left behind.

This definitely gets my vote - and this in spite of my views on (typically US) military interventions far afield. This dead post deserved far more than the zero that it got. Bravo.

(I'll distribute my 2nd vote tomorrow - I have my eyes on a couple already - and am expecting it to be a tough choice!)

Thank you @pathforger, I'm so glad that you enjoyed it. 🙂

this is an incredible post!!! there is so much superb detail about life on a submarine, something i knew little about, but you talk with such authority that I cannot doubt you are speaking from experience. The period specific photos only add to the story, providing a crisp feel to the outline. well done!

Wow, thank you for that review! 👍

This is so interesting! Being on a submarine is a completely foreign world to me, and you gave me insights about many things I never knew...alrhough my OCD could not have dealt with the disorganised food stores! I love that you added the perspectives of the family members left behind. Great post!

@melinda010100 They have upgraded the way that they load supplies onto the modern Submarines, you'll be happy to know that it is all pre-sorted in a modular unit that is loaded so that everything is stored in it's order of need and it is accessible when needed. I'm not sure but I believe that a menu comes with these units so that the cooks must select the days menu that corresponds to the next items in that storage unit.

Whew! My need to have things organized has been satisfied! Not sure if that makes the quality of food any better, though! I can't imagine going without fresh produce for that long. 🤣

😄 Trust me, it's so much fun! 🙄

Thank you @whatamidoing for continuing to host this great contest. I personally think that you should talk to the guys at @qurator with helping you to make this a more sustainable endeavor. :c)

Kudos to @macchiata & @guyfawkes4-20 for their generosity.

And now for my entry for this week. ^_^


A Center That Humanity Should Not Occupy



This is more of a philosophical post - addressing what I perceive to be a big problem with our claimed relationship with the World and each other. While it classifies as a dead post, back then it performed pretty OK by my reckoning (ah - the joys of starting out) - generating a little discussion also. ^_^

And sometimes inspiring people to think about what they might take for granted turns out to be the most important thing. :c)

@pathforger - I would like to reply to your blog but it will take another blog to do so. I'm probably not going to get one written tonight and may not tomorrow, but when I do I'll try to post you a link or mention you or something.

Too many have been the times that I submitted post-length comments only to kick myself afterwards.Had I modestly reworded, added a few images and a footer, they would have made decent enough posts with little further input. :cP

As such I well-understand your meaning - and I am eager to see what kind of a response you come up with. ^_^ Take all the time you need and thank you for taking the time to consider the source text. :c)

The explanations in this post are not that easy to wrap ones head around, but the post does bring up a good topic for thought and discussion. I do enjoy philosophy and this is definitely philosophical.

Thank you kindly for taking the time to read through this @happyme. :c)

In a sense, were a thought inherently easy to comprehend, it likely wouldn't need individuals to write about it. Our understanding of the World around us is ever expanding - and a part of that learning involves turning our sights inward - kind of like what you did in your deadpost this week - which I voted on but forgot to comment (silly me - I'll rectify that now). ^_~

Thanks again.

Good point about not needing to write about topics that are easy to digest and comprehend.
Thanks for the vote. I'm heading off to bed now, so your comment will need to wait until tomorrow for me to see it, but thanks just the same.

nice topic I personally dont like being in the center and prefer the outskirts

It sounds like you have the gist of the topic. :c) Yes - just as the HyperModern approach to chess involves 'control' of the center from the side-lines (as differing from occupying the center - as the clasical approach would covet), so too should a center be influenced but not occupied.

Thanks for your vote and comment!

Here is my entry for this weeks undervalued post
https://steemit.com/religion/@isteemithard/religion-from-an-agnostic

I am goofing around but a feedback from me would be you need to define what is love to you other than just

To respect and cherish all life, to be kind, understanding, and compassionate to all.

First of all, morality is an abstract concept, what's good to me doesn't mean it's good to you. Being agnostic means the world is gray, there is no black and white nor strong views or opposition. You have the advantage being agnostic because you can put your perspective in any position that favors you. Religion as a teaching does contain respect and cherish all life and to be kind, understandin g,compassionate but also it contains violence matters. If you only look religion as organization which is heavily attached to authority, I am certain you're going to hate it.

I usually avoid all things that deal with religion,as I think that is personal and think each of us is entitled to our own beliefs. I can see where your post could have generated much more discussion than it did.

I don't think we should avoid religion as a topic. But I am aware, many of them are often tries to justify they are the righteous :) as you said @melinda010100 we are entitled to our belief. I personally love to study religion and connecting dots between the reality and the scriptures. I am somewhat shifting myself in between the atheist and agnostic side ( so it's pretty interesting journey because by default there are so many questions in mind that even the scriptures can't answer it). To me, religion is a part of history and a culture that shapes the way our society works todays. As an example : religious celebration does generate more money for businessman, the rules that religion has, certainly favors people with certain intentions. It's really a powerful tool to control the mass that has zero curiosity. I think that @isteemithard can generate endless discussion until one of us stop responding.

I think you are exactly right! Well put!

I remember that blog! 🙂

Love is a beautiful non-religion. I'm probably agnostic too, although I keep digging to try to understand what underlies this reality. If pressed, I'd probably go with what the Dalai Lama said and reply, "My religion is kindness." So I think you and I are in about the same place. :-)

This one made just over $1:
https://steemit.com/life/@happyme/who-do-you-think-you-are
Its mostly scientific, but for me really makes me question my autonomy. Life just isn't the same for me any more.

you have a pretty darn good memory. the gut is very much like a second brain, and is responsible for a great many processes that keep the body going. this would be a great subject revisited and fleshed out with detail, maybe even a series.

My memory is only good for ideas. I don't remember names and numbers very well at all. I need to understand the concept so that I can think through a process and remember it that way. Straight memorization for me just doesn't work.

One think that I should say immediately off the bat is that I've long concured with your observation that humans (and any large complex organism) is in fact made of many, many much smaller organisms.

Of course some are intrinsic while others are extrinsic - and your focus is upon the extrinsic. Organisms that live in rather than are an actual part of us.

I liked your segway into talking about how intestinal organisms can influence the 'brain in our gut'. It seems mysterious to me and here you were delving into it - from memory no less (and I can relate to your claim to being better able to recall ideas and concepts (that you understand) than the specifics of information passed by you (dates, names, etc.)).

Thank you for sharing. This is my vote.

It is reassuring to know that others also think like me. hopefully greater understanding will bring peace on Earth.

Thanks for the input!

Howdy! my steemed Deadposters :)
Hmm, plenty of new posts this week to sink my teeth in. ¿eh? ¡Yummy & Juicy! Hehehe

Just give me a few hours to jog along all of them. And later on I'll come back here to drop my votes & comments. :)

In the meantime, here's my nominated Deadpost for all of you this week. I must confess in advance that it's a TL|DR one. But actually the most amusing, entertaining and mysterious one that you've never had the opportunity to read in a long-ass format post before. Haha

This one was originally written eight months ago. But curiously, touching a very tangled topic, a riddle locked in a mystery within an enigma which still flutters in my head without solution. And that has been the source of inspiration and the reason for the creation and publication of my most recent post yesterday also. Enjoy!! :)

https://steemit.com/life/@por500bolos/feedback-sincere-valuable-and-true-feedback-the-royal-holy-grail-quest-and-ultimate-pursuit-of-memorable-unerring-rewards-thru

Ha ha, I had some fun with that one. 😎

Haha-ish, Lol-ish & OhMyGosh-ish is actually what I love the most to get on my posts. :)

Thank you very much for being such a daredevil reader @deaconlee.

😎 You got it mate, along with a lot of respect!

I like this idea a lot, glad I came across it!
Here is my post: https://steemit.com/art/@allstarrunner/kate-bock-pencil-portrait-original-art-graphite

pic

Oh my @allstarrunner, That is a very beautiful and stunning portrait in pencil and I really like your work! Thank you for posting it here because I would not have wanted to miss it. I'll subscribe and try to catch some more of your work in the future. 🙂

thank you, I appreciate it! it is partially pencil and partially oil paint using the "dry brush" method of painting, which, for all intents and purposes really is more like drawing than painting. Thank you for your support!

I'm probably entering too late again, but I love this initiative and hate seeing only two dead posts here.

This is a poem I wrote years ago, but put on Steemit to see how poetry would fare here. Not so well, I guess! :-)

https://steemit.com/poetry/@rebelmeow/carrying-a-stick-a-poem

I think to be one of my most favorite post that should have received more attention :)

https://steemit.com/fiction/@mydivathings/the-house-part-1

That was some very good work!

Thank you again

What a sweet story. The illustrations are simply delightful. I'm off to look at your more recent posts!

Thank you very much.
I am deeply honored. :)

how cute of a story and great idea. I thought maybe the fire should melt the water to create steam or in this case steem haha

Yeah.. I would love to have those Steem for my account XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97